Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

lingard

But you'll still attack those with whom you agree less with when they fight back, and then fade into the background when it's demonstrated that the blokes you're attacking are less shitful than the ones you're defending

No. I'll attack those that are the most vitriolic. I agree with a lot of the things you say. Agreeing or disagreeing has nothing to do with it.

Well then off you go, there's people bringing other halves into it who need attacking...or is that not vitriolic enough for you because they didn't use quite enough swears?

Lol.

lingard

Well then off you go, there's people bringing other halves into it who need attacking...or is that not vitriolic enough for you because they didn't use quite enough swears?

Lol.

Maybe you should read my post again. I said the most vitriolic, which I believe is you. You don't agree, so that's where it stands. No point discussing any further.

OK, no, you're clear now.

Calling people idiots is worse than insulting their partner/family.

Glad to know you're that kind of guy, I'll keep it mind

Obscene Assassin

But the things that have been said this year were also pertinent last year. Take away Radradra and a very lucky draw and some very close wins that could have gone either way, and all this years criticisms were applicable last year. Maybe these 'whingers' really know their football, and could see the wood through the trees. I think that's more than possible.

"If we didn't win games then we would've lost those games" great logic.

Swans lost, Eels lost, Panthers lost,
Reverse of last week.

And one thing in common, I didnt get any:frowning2:
Goodnight folkes.

Me too. It's just that Gronk's an idiot who wouldn't even know what planet he's on.

Shots fired !

giphy.gif

lingard

"If we didn't win games then we would've lost those games" great logic.

For f**k sake. The point is we only just scraped through in a few games. Even though we were top four last year, we weren't really flying as high as we appeared to be. And some people were identifying that last year.

Yes as I and many said. There where a lot of games we won by one score or arm wrestles went our way. We still got flogged by the knights.
Both games agains tigers where a coin toss as was the dogs game. They where along with knights worse teams in comp. We battled to beat Souths the 2nd time rnd and even though the score flattered the Tirans game was also ugly.

Our saving grace was our first final against Storm. Let's forget the cowboyws game. Never looked in it.

Throw in playing the Storm without origin players and Cowboys before they adjusted without Thurston...Gifted 4 points just there.
But that is footy. BA didn't bother adressing goal kicking which imo was his biggest error. 4 games this year we have lost scoring same amount of tries.
Hooker wasnt much available but props was another area he could of done better with. Plenty went around.

Noise

I doubt we could have done much better than Kane Evans for 400k. After all, he was playing NSW Cup the back half of last year, has averaged almost 6 runs a game for us in first grade at the beginning of the year and is currently learning to play middle forward in reserve grade

The Warriors gave their pack a facelift in the offseason.

Mannah has been awesome since going to the bench.

Matagi showed he is just a back up prop.

Alvaro works hard but his running game will always be garbage. It is hard cause he tries so dam hard. We need to get an offload into his game and a pass before line.
BA ffs help the kid.

Mannah has been awesome since going to the bench.

Matagi showed he is just a back up prop.

Alvaro works hard but his running game will always be garbage. It is hard cause he tries so dam hard. We need to get an offload into his game and a pass before line.
BA ffs help the kid.

I simply cannot disagree with 100% of this

Also, David Gower is most certainly no star - he is just safe and no frills ... but he has looked better and more effective than all the so called hard running merkins the last 2 games

I simply cannot disagree with 100% of this

Also, David Gower is most certainly no star - he is just safe and no frills ... but he has looked better and more effective than all the so called hard running merkins the last 2 games

Gower is no worse then our best. I love his style. If he had just a little more athletic ability he would of been a top shelf forward.

Jnr will help but we now need to find ourself a grub or a hitman. Look at what young JFH is doing. Mark my words this kid will be a KIWI international and one of the bruts of the game.

We need to find our grub. To many clean skins. We need a guy who will put elbows in face, ankle twist, rub his hands in players face etc....
The Sharks when won comp where ferocious wild boys. The type I wouldnt want to upset.

I said it before when I saw Kaysa KO by a stray elbow none of our forwards did anything. Anyone see when DWZ took Coote out, the cowboys all wanted to flog him. Call me old school but that is the type of animals we need. I dont see Mannah,Alvaro,Tepai,Terepo,Matagi,Evans,Manu having that make up. KE and Brown are perhaps only two wild boys. Can anyone imagine Alvaro or Timmy racing across field and putting one on someones chin?

Fair dinkum

Obscene Assassin

So you're diminishing our wins to fit someone's (negative) narrative? Sounds a bit death-riderish to me

C'mon Manly where a rabbles. We are a top 8 side. Imo we can go into every game and win it. Sides good enough to compete. But when luck doesnt go our way we arent good enough to overcome it.

Not a lot is going our way at moment. Titans ,Dogs and Manly are 3 teams id say who arent a top 8 side. The rest can all make a case.

There is not a lot in the nrl between the 4th best team and the 4th worse team. If eels whomare last played Saint I highly doubt the odds be longer then 3-1

Yes as I and many said. There where a lot of games we won by one score or arm wrestles went our way. We still got flogged by the knights.
Both games agains tigers where a coin toss as was the dogs game. They where along with knights worse teams in comp. We battled to beat Souths the 2nd time rnd and even though the score flattered the Tirans game was also ugly.

Our saving grace was our first final against Storm. Let's forget the cowboyws game. Never looked in it.

Throw in playing the Storm without origin players and Cowboys before they adjusted without Thurston...Gifted 4 points just there.
But that is footy. BA didn't bother adressing goal kicking which imo was his biggest error. 4 games this year we have lost scoring same amount of tries.
Hooker wasnt much available but props was another area he could of done better with. Plenty went around.

I'll ask the question again, because the last time I asked it, it got ignored (and I suspect it's because either it doesn't fit in with this narrative of "we didn't sign enough players", or people simply don't have the answer):

Where is the proof that we didn't make an effort to bolster our side by signing some more props, or another hooked?

Where is the proof that players didn't simply knock us back?

It's so easy to cry and say, "BA has no idea - he was too easygoing in the recruitment department," but nobody knows what went down.

I'll ask the question again, because the last time I asked it, it got ignored (and I suspect it's because either it doesn't fit in with this narrative of "we didn't sign enough players", or people simply don't have the answer):

Where is the proof that we didn't make an effort to bolster our side by signing some more props, or another hooked?

Where is the proof that players didn't simply knock us back?

It's so easy to cry and say, "BA has no idea - he was too easygoing in the recruitment department," but nobody knows what went down.

Im happy to run with hooker was left due too know options.
I have no proof but money talks. BA has been here for now 5yrs. Are you suggesting he was unable to recruit a prop in that time of any quality? I can only count N.Brown. So 1/14 has NOT worked. BA has disrespected forwards and tried to buy old has beens hoping theyd give a good cheap option or some project player who is not first grade quality. If anyone wants to add to the list -

Vave,Matagi,Gower,Evans,Scott,Watmough,Frank,T rex, Brown,Hasson,Wicks,Rory,Faasso,Cody Nelson

And we let our best PROP go in JNR.

Has BA no idea? Im unsure tbh but those are our 14 forward recruits along with the extensions of current players.