Because there’s such a thing as a salary cap, and the suitable players need to be available at the right price. We could’ve signed anyone we wanted if we threw enough money at them. But I’m glad we didn’t.
Right, but after two wooden spoons Arthur needed to focus on short term solutions. In fact, given the state of our fanbase after an ordinary half season it looks like we still need to be focused on short term solutions.
We have shelled out some big money, including on two halfbacks. Every signing is a risk.
If only Arthur had the benefit of hindsight like you. He must’ve thought none of our new signings could get injured, the f**ken idiot. Sack him.
Yeah a current Origin outside back isn’t good enough for our side.
Can you take your tongue out of Gus's arse for at least two minutes?
You make some great point here, mate.Gutherson is the long term #1. IMO, Hayne's heart is as a parra player, he'll play no decent footy anywhere else so I'd keep him for the fact that when fit and focused he could provide something above and beyond a player coming from elsewhere who might be in it just for a paycheck. French's future at this club has serious question marks. @I'm a loser baby... and I and maybe some others have mentioned a move to the halves for Bevan might be his long term future, a la a kind of Albert Kelly transition.
Norman should be dropped and shopped right now so that we can get him off our books before June 30 IMO. He has been gash pretty much since Moses came to the club and I'm guessing Moses' future is more guaranteed than Norman's these days so let's move forward ASAP, and throw Salmon in there for the rest of this season and see what happens.
Gutherson is the long term #1. IMO, Hayne's heart is as a parra player, he'll play no decent footy anywhere else so I'd keep him for the fact that when fit and focused he could provide something above and beyond a player coming from elsewhere who might be in it just for a paycheck. French's future at this club has serious question marks. @I'm a loser baby... and I and maybe some others have mentioned a move to the halves for Bevan might be his long term future, a la a kind of Albert Kelly transition.
Norman should be dropped and shopped right now so that we can get him off our books before June 30 IMO. He has been gash pretty much since Moses came to the club and I'm guessing Moses' future is more guaranteed than Norman's these days so let's move forward ASAP, and throw Salmon in there for the rest of this season and see what happens.
f**k off, Peatsy!! We'll be fine anyway, as long as nothing bad happens to De Gois.Unbelievable, we now lose our hooker:
http://mobile.abc.net.au/news/2016-05-11/nathan-peats-signs-gold-titans-contract/7406440
That's right, including Gutherson, Brown and Moses. Merkins just f**ken whinge. And then when we have some bad luck they say I told you so.Mate, many people have questioned BA’s signings.
It all worked last year. You can say last year doesn't matter but the fact is it proved he knows what he's doing. We won plenty in 2016 as well. Give the merkin the benefit of the doubt. The only reason we could justify chopping Arthur is if he's lost the entire dressing room, rather than a subset of the players who likely need to get the arse anyway.It’s not hindsight. There seems to be more band aid solutions than anything else. His stop gap players don’t seem to be cutting it. His tactics don’t seem to be cutting it. Maybe time to blood a few juniors because nothing seems to be working ATM.
DeGois is solid, I'd be surprised if he's not still our starting hooker during our title defence in 2019....f**k off, Peatsy!! We'll be fine anyway, as long as nothing bad happens to De Gois.
there is some good signing news thoughTo add to our woes, Papali has reneged on his contract with us and re-signed with the Raiders.
https://www.theaustralian.com.au/sp...144da6fe6?sv=2c91045d89284e38951ac02435e81f5b
Would you be happy to be playing Norman something like 300-400k next year to be playing elsewhere? .... I reckon he is a bit on the nose and i dont see any other team keen to pay him full freightGutherson is the long term #1. IMO, Hayne's heart is as a parra player, he'll play no decent footy anywhere else so I'd keep him for the fact that when fit and focused he could provide something above and beyond a player coming from elsewhere who might be in it just for a paycheck. French's future at this club has serious question marks. @I'm a loser baby... and I and maybe some others have mentioned a move to the halves for Bevan might be his long term future, a la a kind of Albert Kelly transition.
Would you be happy to be playing Norman something like 300-400k next year to be playing elsewhere? .... I reckon he is a bit on the nose and i dont see any other team keen to pay him full freight
I reckon Sticky would take Norman at just about full freight for 2019. He has no confidence in the bloke's he has in the halves there now and has oodles of cap space for 2019 if the rumour is true and he's lost Paulo in addition to Boyd leaving. Let's not forget it was Stuart who signed Norman from Brisbane originally....Would you be happy to be playing Norman something like 300-400k next year to be playing elsewhere? .... I reckon he is a bit on the nose and i dont see any other team keen to pay him full freight
every team will try and get him as cheap as they can ..... true though, he might be silly enough to make us only pay 200-250k .... he is supposedly on 833k - doubt any team wants to pay him over 600kI reckon Sticky would take Norman at just about full freight for 2019. He has no confidence in the bloke's he has in the halves there now and has oodles of cap space for 2019 if the rumour is true and he's lost Paulo in addition to Boyd leaving. Let's not forget it was Stuart who signed Norman from Brisbane originally....
every team will try and get him as cheap as they can ..... true though, he might be silly enough to make us only pay 200-250k .... he is supposedly on 833k - doubt any team wants to pay him over 600k
No I think Norman is a negative influence in the group. I’m just not sure we should try to move him on before his contract expires.@Poupou Escobar you stated earlier that ‘we have personalities we need to get rid of’ other than Edwards yet you don’t seem keen to get rid of Norman. Who do you suggest we need to move along?
It’s going to be unpopular but I’d bone Norman and then probably re-sign Hayne for what he’s on now (500) and play him at 6 as he has a better passing and kicking game than Gutho. That would also be a saving of possibly 200k from punting Norman. Salmon as back up half.
I’d also release French and keep Gutho at fullback freeing up more money.
This could go towards a decent winger or hooker
However if Holmes became available that changes things.