Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Obscene Assassin

Mate that's where your wrong.! They do need to complement each other. Why do you think over the years every team who carries 2 hookers have 2 different styles.?
Those styles were never the same,
Thus being why they complemented each other.
Most teams started with a structured more conservative hooker, Then when tiering forwards are identified and clubs used there rotation hooker it was normally someone who runs alot. Played off the cusp & more what was in front of them.
You dont want the same hookers replacing each other you need a point of difference.

Brailey / Seggy
Drew / PJ. Marsh
Griffin / Levi

Even last year with Tonsie & Mahoney prime example.
Tonsie conservative got through the sets. Mahoney came on and was destructive cause he ran alot & played what was in front of him. Sometimes to his own detriment.!

But they don't need to compliment each other, just because one thing has worked in the past doesn't mean another structure won't work now or in the future. In fact the system you're pointing out is contrasting styles. Either way I do think that Mahoney and Pritchard have contrasting styles and you can use them to change the way you play. I see Mahoney can play that more structured style, bring on Kaysa to focus on his running which is what we'd be bringing in Segeyaro for. Kaysa imo is just as quick around the ruck and he's better in defence, cause he's not scared to put on a shot.

Whatever it's worth I thought our 20's last year looked much better when Mahoney played the full 80 later on in the year because we weren't changing our starting dummy half once a game, every game. Hopefully we can do that in first grade soon with either Mahoney or Schneider, will take time though.

Obscene Assassin

So its most of the things a good coach can fix with decent recruitment and tactics. So BA somehow missed the boat this year but Bellamy, missing one of his big 3, just continues on as if nothings changed.

Bellamy had it so rough this year. One of the best ever fullbacks to play the game, anecdotally the best ever dummy half to play the game along with a fair few rep players in the forwards and in the backs. Poor Craigie.

emjaycee

If we win they can party til the cows come home for all i care
funny_birthday_party_til_the_cows_come_home_card-r55e3ed4d696542e48b40781658647745_xvuat_8byvr_540.jpg

Only because we buy duds like one of your favourites, Evans.
He wouldn't have cost much. Like Arthur said, he's here to improve our depth. The last big money forward we signed was current Origin player Watmough. And that was when we were flush with illegal TPAs.

Noise

He wouldn't have cost much. Like Arthur said, he's here to improve our depth.

Absolutely a top 17 player, and we would've had to pay overs to lure him away from the Chooks. He was top 17 for them right up until he took the big money from us, and it probably backfired for them in the finals when they left him out of the week three team.

Was he cheap? Or is he on overs? Did he take the big money from us?

400K for Segs??? Yeah nah. Lurker making up shit again.

He said almost 400k.

So realistically it's like it's about 300k and he's stretching it as far as he possibly can.

Good deal at that IMO. We need a quality attacking hooker more than any other position.

He was unwanted at his club, most other clubs have a quality dummy alf option why would we pay the bloke 400k???

Super league isn't an option for him either he already tried that.
I'd say $400k is a typical media exaggeration but for $300k plenty of clubs would find room for him. So our offer (if there is one) would lie somewhere in between. IMO.

He said almost 400k.

So realistically it's like it's about 300k and he's stretching it as far as he possibly can.

Good deal at that IMO. We need a quality attacking hooker more than any other position.
Agree mate, 300k seems more likely. And a good a buy for us as well.

He wouldn't have cost much. Like Arthur said, he's here to improve our depth. The last big money forward we signed was current Origin player Watmough. And that was when we were flush with illegal TPAs.

What do you call not much?

Hed be on around 350k