Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

He'd be a busy boy if that happened.

Utility: Salmon (21), Smith (28)
Fullback: -
W/C: Ferguson, G. Jennings (27), Sivo (27)
Half: D.Brown (20)
Hooker: Mahoney (22)
Edge forward: Lane (26)
Tight forward: N.Brown, Evans (28), Paulo, Terepo (29)
Neither Arthur nor Potter will be recruiting for 2020. We have staff for that now.

IFR33K

He had a bad year and was getting late ball on top of that. I reckon he'll have a great 2019. A merkin like that who was in tears after a shocker year, then to be told to look elsewhere - he's too good to have another rusty season.

Late ball? Merkin was bombing tries over the damn tryline.

Theoretically then a coach won't need a few years to assemble his own squad like in the past. He should just hit the ground running ?
That’s what I’ve always said. It worked for Robinson and Green. And Hagan and Sticky when he started at the Chooks.

The players determine the outcome of a season far more than the coach. The coaching staff is just another factor. Recruiters and TPA ‘organisers’ play the biggest role. The more you have in TPAs the fewer recruitment risks you need to take.

TheRam

How likely is it you think he’ll do any substantial coaching over doing a Sterlo? He’d probably earn more as a coach but time/effort definitely in media’s favour

As great as Sterlo was, he was never the hardest of workers or thinkers of the game. If you remember back then, Sterlo was well known for loving his sleep.

Cronk on the other hand is a tireless worker and is considered the smartest brain in the game. Does that guarantee coaching success? Of course not, but it gives you one hell of a good shot at it.

84 Baby

As great as Sterlo was, he was never the hardest of workers or thinkers of the game. If you remember back then, Sterlo was well known for loving his sleep.

Cronk on the other hand is a tireless worker and is considered the smartest brain in the game. Does that guarantee coaching success? Of course not, but it gives you one hell of a good shot at it.
I honestly think, even if you had unlimited funds to throw at him, he'd look at the current coaching environment and laugh in your face

TheRam

I doubt Cooper Cronk will travel further west than Pyrmont or possibly Forest Lodge for any reason at any point for the rest of his life once he retires from playing. He would be Zero chance of accepting a coaching gig with Parra.

What a ridiculous statement. If our club made a serious approach and offer and he actually did want to try his hand at coaching, then we would be in with an equal shot as most other clubs. The only other clubs in Sydney, if all else was roughly equal, that may trump us would be the Roosters, Souths, and maybe the Dogs if they got their shit together.

But if we were to improve on the field and drew massive crowds in our sparkling new stadium, then maybe only Easts would be a more attractive option. This club is potentially the best club in our State. We are just perennial losers and the gloss has come off, but if we rebounded slightly, then everything can turn around very quickly including the all important sponsors and high profile players that we are currently struggling to attract.

TheRam

I honestly think, even if you had unlimited funds to throw at him, he'd look at the current coaching environment and laugh in your face

Are you referring to Parra's coaching environment? If so he can always change that right? Just like ALL the other 15 NRL coaches do. So how is that even a factor?

TheRam

We wouldn't need him.

Improving on the field doesn't necessarily mean semi finals or GF's mate. You do remember we came stone motherless last right, again? By improvement It can mean middle of the road, but due to the new Stadium, crowds would still be big.

So yes, we would still need a better coach and there aren't that many that I can see(none) that could attract the interest and imagination that a Cronk would have.

Is he a risk? Sure, but I have a feeling 85% chance of being a great success.