Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

T-Boon

Ponga is the only other option who would fit that bill and whilst he’s currently on unders, he will no doubt be getting an upgrade sooner rather than later that gets him close to that 1 mill mark.

For $750k you get a Darius Boyd/Josh Dugan caliber of fullback and I’d take Gutho every day of the week and twice on Sunday over both of those muppets.

We should be one of the clubs about to make a big bid for Kaylan Ponga. There has to be doubt he will stay in Newcastle sadly.
We should be in with Brisbane, Roosters and Melbourne as clubs that land these kinds of guys.

Gazzamatta

I know he'd be second tier but ive been impressed with The Burger Man each time I've seen him in the twos. Maybe maybe not but there is talent to be found. Clock Stead came from nowhere and hes been as good as Gutho this year. Canberra have also had lots of success scouting the English Super League. If you build it they will come.

We should be one of the clubs about to make a big bid for Kaylan Ponga. There has to be doubt he will stay in Newcastle sadly.
We should be in with Brisbane, Roosters and Melbourne as clubs that land these kinds of guys.
Top post!!!

Agree 100%

Joshuatheeel

Sorry mate, don’t agree. Sure, he plays in a stronger storm system but they’re certainly not the team they once were. His stats this year across 7 games are:
2 tries
3 try assists
3 line breaks
171.7 avg run metres
28 tackle breaks

Heres a comparison to Teddy who is the best fullback in the comp:

5 tries
1 try assist
7 line breaks
166.7 avg run metres
43 tackle breaks

I rate him.

If someone like Hughes was available I’d feel much better about the club playing hard ball with Gutho.

Interestingly Hughes, who has had a fairly average NRL career until this year (17 games in 5 years since debuting in 2013 and 3 clubs) is 25 this year, 2 years older then French - goes to show players need time to develop and there may be hope for French.

Obscene Assassin

Whatever happens with Gutherson, I'm happy we have a professianl Head Of Football in Mark O'Neill.

I like that he has been professional, consistent, and putting the club's needs first.

It feels good to have a profession back office, even if Clint does leave.

I'm glad he's staying out of the media about this too. Anyone that's been around the game for 5 minutes can see that all this dribble is the player manager pushing their agenda through certain media outlets. The ones he isn't pushing his agenda through are calling out the practice and praising Parra for sticking to their system.

Sorry mate, don’t agree. Sure, he plays in a stronger storm system but they’re certainly not the team they once were. His stats this year across 7 games are:
2 tries
3 try assists
3 line breaks
171.7 avg run metres
28 tackle breaks

Heres a comparison to Teddy who is the best fullback in the comp:

5 tries
1 try assist
7 line breaks
166.7 avg run metres
43 tackle breaks

I rate him.

If someone like Hughes was available I’d feel much better about the club playing hard ball with Gutho.
In his first seven games at fullback in 2017, French put up these numbers:

3 tries
4 linebreaks
3 linebreak assists
2 try assists
21 tackle breaks
89.9 average run metres

Obviously poor run metres, but everything else was good. And with our giant wingers policy, metres aren’t a big requirement from our fullback anyway. Hughes and Tedesco are both compensating for an undersized winger. Plenty of Gutherson’s metres are against a retreating defence when he should be passing to someone more dangerous anyway. Gutherson in seven games this year:

2 tries
3 linebreaks
9 linebreak assists
7 try assists
13 tackle breaks
177 average run metres

The high numbers of metres and assists with low tackle breaks just shows he is getting the ball when something is ‘on’. He is essentially hogging all the good ball. And here’s his numbers after his first seven games at fullback last year, for comparison:

3 tries
1 linebreaks
2 linebreak assists
2 try assists
8 tackle breaks
131.9 average metres

Obscene Assassin

The longer this goes on the less I think Gutho is worth anyway....

$550k per year max.

He isn't an Origin level player, would be a shame to tie up Origin level money in him. Pay for his utility, save the 750k+ contracts to poach genuine Origin talent

I think if you were to sign either Tedseco or Ponga ( I assume he's the Qld fullback) you'd be paying in excess of a million. Is Gutherson 3/4 the player that they are? I think so.

Delboy

Tedesco is on $750K on the cap.
And the amazing fact is that the NRL believe that the Roosters only use $200k in TPAs, that obviously doesn't cover golf winnings etc. One of their wingers that looked at signing for us , stayed at that club for the TPA part of their deal.

Happy MEel

In his first seven games at fullback in 2017, French put up these numbers:

3 tries
4 linebreaks
3 linebreak assists
2 try assists
21 tackle breaks
89.9 average run metres

Obviously poor run metres, but everything else was good. And with our giant wingers policy, metres aren’t a big requirement from our fullback anyway. Hughes and Tedesco are both compensating for an undersized winger. Plenty of Gutherson’s metres are against a retreating defence when he should be passing to someone more dangerous anyway. Gutherson in seven games this year:

2 tries
3 linebreaks
9 linebreak assists
7 try assists
13 tackle breaks
177 average run metres

The high numbers of metres and assists with low tackle breaks just shows he is getting the ball when something is ‘on’. He is essentially hogging all the good ball. And here’s his numbers after his first seven games at fullback last year, for comparison:

3 tries
1 linebreaks
2 linebreak assists
2 try assists
8 tackle breaks
131.9 average metres
I reckon the high number of assists with low tackle breaks shows he is compensating for our lack of playmaking on one side of the field, rather than “hogging the quality ball”.

If you are ever in Sydney I would like a golf lesson and I'll shout the round.
Cool mate. Sounds good

I only ever seem to do day trips to Sydney for work. Need to spend some more time down there.

I am a reciprocal member at some nice clubs. You won’t be able to wear your Parra footy shorts.

Eelogical

The club should put a definitive date for Gutho to make a decision. This has become way too protracted for one player's contract status. Take it or leave it. There are a bunch of other Eels players out there just sweating on the outcome of this when it comes to their future contract negotiations.

84 Baby

The club should put a definitive date for Gutho to make a decision. This has become way too protracted for one player's contract status. Take it or leave it. There are a bunch of other Eels players out there just sweating on the outcome of this when it comes to their future contract negotiations.
Like Mau? Isn’t he meant to have resigned? I doubt Gunco has too much bearing on other negotiations (of other current players) outside of the not quite minimum value squad rounder outerers.
The cap budgeting should take into account contingency for having to increase a player’s offer. It may affect if and how much we resign someone like French, but we wouldn’t be filling in too many of those level squad spots until later in year

Eelogical

Like Mau? Isn’t he meant to have resigned? I doubt Gunco has too much bearing on other negotiations (of other current players) outside of the not quite minimum value squad rounder outerers.
The cap budgeting should take into account contingency for having to increase a player’s offer. It may affect if and how much we resign someone like French, but we wouldn’t be filling in too many of those level squad spots until later in year
I'm referring to the way it's being handled. If Gutho ends up getting what he wants rather than what club thinks he's worth then other off-contract players could play the same game. The club should put an end to it by showing him their final offer, and a date to accept it, or it's on ya bike.....

If you are ever in Sydney I would like a golf lesson and I'll shout the round.

Mate I am happy to go for a game with you . I bought a set of pings for $350 off Micks brother. And I am useless so atleast you will look good.
Next weeks quiet if your free?