Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

eel01s

The fact that Ayoub wants the club to sign him now means that he doesn't care who is coach next year.

I too think that the club is sensible in sticking to its guns. As someone posted earlier, other clubs have had 6 months to submit an offer, yet none have done so.

We clearly have our own timetable. At the end of the day, what if there are no other offers? Market value then is whatever we offer him. Is Gutho willing to go to England?

eel01s

So you think that if Tedesco was off-contract currently and we offered money that he'd only sign to us for $750k? please. We're not the roosters, nor will we ever be.
Agreed, but Teddy will say he went there for a premiership (and indeed got one in his first season with the chooks).

We can't offer that yet.

Mate I am happy to go for a game with you . I bought a set of pings for $350 off Micks brother. And I am useless so atleast you will look good.
Next weeks quiet if your free?

He prolly sold you set of those square groove illegal pings.

So you think that if Tedesco was off-contract currently and we offered money that he'd only sign to us for $750k? please. We're not the roosters, nor will we ever be.
I didn't say that. I'm trying to demonstrate what other clubs can achieve. Our TPA's are non existent and it's killing us.

Delboy

I didn't say that. I'm trying to demonstrate what other clubs can achieve. Our TPA's are non existent and it's killing us.
But, but - the Roosters only have $200k in registered TPAs, so we aren't that far behind.

The NRL is a joke under Teflon Todd if they accept that, but then again they did and will because certain people at certain clubs have enormous influence and deep pockets.

I reckon the high number of assists with low tackle breaks shows he is compensating for our lack of playmaking on one side of the field, rather than “hogging the quality ball”.
The high number of metres with low tackle breaks also supports my theory. If you use your eyes you’ll also see it. When we have teams on the back foot he’ll make 18+ runs. Against the Knights he made 7.

The club should put a definitive date for Gutho to make a decision. This has become way too protracted for one player's contract status. Take it or leave it. There are a bunch of other Eels players out there just sweating on the outcome of this when it comes to their future contract negotiations.
I’m sure we have.

Peter Badel just said Nikorima will be on a four year contract at the Warriors for around $1M total. I know he's not exactly in the top echelon of halves but huh? $250K a year is ridiculously low.

TheRam

Sorry mate, don’t agree. Sure, he plays in a stronger storm system but they’re certainly not the team they once were. His stats this year across 7 games are:
2 tries
3 try assists
3 line breaks
171.7 avg run metres
28 tackle breaks

Heres a comparison to Teddy who is the best fullback in the comp:

5 tries
1 try assist
7 line breaks
166.7 avg run metres
43 tackle breaks

I rate him.

If someone like Hughes was available I’d feel much better about the club playing hard ball with Gutho.

Yeah I know the stats. But sorry I still think he is average. Put Gutho in that team and I think he would have better stats then that. But just my opinion. I think he is average, where I see Gutho above average.

TheRam

I know he'd be second tier but ive been impressed with The Burger Man each time I've seen him in the twos. Maybe maybe not but there is talent to be found. Clock Stead came from nowhere and hes been as good as Gutho this year. Canberra have also had lots of success scouting the English Super League. If you build it they will come.

I would prefer Clock Stead to Hughes any day.