Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Has an official announcement been made in regards to Reed? If not, is there still a chance he isn't going and negotiations might be on going?
While I very much doubt anything will change, I do find it odd that there hasn’t been any official word from either club since the reports on Thursday. After the news about Marata/Papa there were statements put out hours later yet so far it’s been radio silence for Rheedy.

emjaycee

But how can you tell which player is motivated only by money ?
Let me guess . . . the ones that leave your club are only motivated by $$$, and the ones that join your club are motivated by some higher cause ?
I reckon there are 3 or 4 key factors when a player decides to change clubs. The same 4 things most of would consider changing employers for.
1) Money
2) Opportunity (for top 17 role or improved premiership chances)
3) Team mates and/or Coach
4) Location/lifestyle

I think we got Moses and Matto from Tigers because of 1 & 2 (obviously not for a top 17 role)
I think we got Papali'i from Warriors because of 2 & 4.
I think we lost Papali'i to Tigers because of 1
I think we lost Mahoney because of 1.
We got Cartwright because of 1, 2 & 4.

But really, who knows??

King-Gutho94

While I very much doubt anything will change, I do find it odd that there hasn’t been any official word from either club since the reports on Thursday. After the news about Marata/Papa there were statements put out hours later yet so far it’s been radio silence for Rheedy.

Our board are probably in the foetal position trying to come up with what corporate spin they are going to use in the statement about how great things are going atm.

Of course everyone is motivated by money. As a WT fan, I know only too well the stupid money paid to get garden variety players to your club.
I was directly responding to Pou when he said " if a player is motivated only by money they will end up at shit clubs. You see it all the time"
From IP, to Gutho, Moses and JAC. It's all about money, no matter what BS they tell you.
Pou seems to think that "market value" isn't a thing for Parra, but any player that leaves Parra for a better contract must be going to a shit club.
I wonder if that same principle applied when Gutho, RCG, Matterson, Moses or Fergo signed with you guys.
But from the little bit of time I've been here, Pou seems to think (and type) a hell of a lot.

I think every player will chase the coin.

No doubt Moses is earning more with us now, than he did while at Wests.

My only issue is that Papali'i, Mahoney, and Niukore are all contracted to us for 2022, but won't be with us in 2023 - I think this system needs to change.

If players leave to chase a deal too good to refuse, then good on them - but it shouldn't be coming more than a year away imo.

I think the way mahoney has played this he probably should just go now. At least the other 2 have left with more class and dignity.

To pretty much go to our arch rivals leagues club wine and dine there while still contracted to our club was pretty disrespectful. And leaves a bitter taste as any departure we have had in years.

I didn't have a problem him meeting them but there is some places you just dont go too and shove it in our faces. Meet them in a cafe or a restraunt not affiliated to there club.

DCE deserved his criticism years ago when he rocked up to sharks leagues club when he was shopping himself around and he admitted afterwards it was a mistake
I agree. I don’t want him here next year. He can go now and if we can take a hooker to replace him such as Robson or Api for season 2022 he can watch us take a tilt at the title whilst he in in the cellar at the Dogs.

This would not be tolerated in any other sport yet we are assured he will stay ‘professional’ and somehow our investment in him goes on pretend mode until he eventually leaves in 2023.

Just f**k off now.

The Rosco

I reckon there are 3 or 4 key factors when a player decides to change clubs. The same 4 things most of would consider changing employers for.
1) Money
2) Opportunity (for top 17 role or improved premiership chances)
3) Team mates and/or Coach
4) Location/lifestyle

I think we got Moses and Matto from Tigers because of 1 & 2 (obviously not for a top 17 role)
I think we got Papali'i from Warriors because of 2 & 4.
I think we lost Papali'i to Tigers because of 1
I think we lost Mahoney because of 1.
We got Cartwright because of 1, 2 & 4.

But really, who knows??
MJC, a fair call mate. A lot of it comes down to our interpretation of 2, 3, and 4.
Both our coaches are, as you guys say . . . bald.
Moses, at that time of the month, is hardly an inspiring team mate, etc.
Cambo or Pendo ?
But yes, who really knows ?

lingard

Melbourne in the last 8 months hav e lost JAC, Kafusi, Hynes and Finucane. And about to lose dick cheese as well apptarently. All genuine top 17 and 3 origin stars and current Kiwi hooker
Melbourne have a number of elite level players in important positions, which means that any loss of other players is not going to impact on them as much as it will with us.
Melbourne have a well established system of recruitment and retention, (along with a long history of winning, which can influence players to sign with them for slightly less, and/or be prepared to stay with them for slightly less). Then, of course there's the opportunity to be coached by Craig Bellamy. Parramatta doesn't have any of those things. We don't have any elite level players, so losing Niuikorai, Papalii, and Mahoney is a far more serious blow to us than Melbourne losing the players you mentioned. We might be on our way to becoming more like Melbourne, I don't know, but when Melbourne lose (and replace) players, it looks like a far more measured and thought-out process. With us it appears more random. Personally, I do think Mahoney is replaceable, but losing those two forwards will hurt us big time. I get the feeling we were blind-sided over Mahoney, and should have offered the other two more money. But that's just my opinion.

King-Gutho94

Well if that is the case then the longer they leave it, the weaker it makes the club look IMO
I think we already look weak and amateurish tbh.

Its a shame because the club has done a lot hard work since Max donnelly took over to change the image and overhauling of the goverence of the club.

Unfortunately all that hard work looks like being pissed away atm as we look like a baaketcase again being run by people who don't know what there doing

Soto

I agree. I don’t want him here next year. He can go now and if we can take a hooker to replace him such as Robson or Api for season 2022 he can watch us take a tilt at the title whilst he in in the cellar at the Dogs.

This would not be tolerated in any other sport yet we are assured he will stay ‘professional’ and somehow our investment in him goes on pretend mode until he eventually leaves in 2023.

Just f**k off now.
I like your calm response..😁
In all seriousness though you are right and the code and the administrators are to blame for the sh$t show that have allowed players to sign so far in advance.
Have the transfer windows in say May/June and October and be done with it. We all know player managers are talking to clubs well before a contract is up but the less i guess we know about it the better.
I'd be happy for Reece Robson to come here next year but only if that meant Mahoney played in the Knock on Effect NSW cup for Parra...
The club should not entertain releasing him early (not that ive seen it mentioned) under any circumstances..

Glenneel

If what i have read is correct the Bulldogs don't have enough salary cap space left to get their squad to 30 in 2023 without going over the cap. Allowing for minimum contacts etc.
I didn't think the NRL registered contracts if it put that side over the cap!
Only if Gus or Politis is at the helm. However they might be ok for '22 but the next year may be a problem. Usually you build a team around the spine, they are building a spine around the team. All they have is Mahoney and Burton who is a running half for me but no fullback or a organising half. They still have big problems for me so have to spend more money they don't have to improve their spine.

I think every player will chase the coin.

No doubt Moses is earning more with us now, than he did while at Wests.

My only issue is that Papali'i, Mahoney, and Niukore are all contracted to us for 2022, but won't be with us in 2023 - I think this system needs to change.

If players leave to chase a deal too good to refuse, then good on them - but it shouldn't be coming more than a year away imo.

Its good an bad. We can plan ahead is a positive. If we are going poorly we can focus on a younger guy part of future.
We can also just flog the arse end out of them. 80mins a game and give our other forwards a nice rest so fresh for 2023.

And nothing worse in June of that year having to read about player negotiations..
I personally think a 2 week transfer window however is the way to go in JUNE where players can sign contracts or move clubs. And then that's it u till Novemeber -end of March.

lingard

Yep, I don't get all these "Oh now Mahoney is crap lol" arguments. I think he's still top five hookers in the game. The point isn't that he's suddenly no good, but that every player has a price cap to a smart club. For dumber clubs the cap for a given player will be higher. It doesn't matter how good they are, if a player is motivated only by money they will end up at shit clubs. You see it all the time.
I understand your argument of course, but it's not a matter of smart clubs and dumb clubs; it's more a matter of stages of development within the salary cap cycle. If the Tigers decided to play hard ball right now, and never pay overs for anyone, they would be stuck in their current rut forever. There is a time when almost every club has to pay overs for some players - otherwise they will have a team full of average players (which doesn't win you finals games in this day and age). Obviously East's and Melbourne are a bit different, but there are other factors that make it easier for them to stay in the positive part of the cap cycle almost indefinitely.

Gus has acknowledged a few times that he only has $600K to $800K (depending on which article you read) to spend on about half of his squad and he has said they will be filled from his development squad so they really aint gonna have much depth.

Only if Gus or Politis is at the helm. However they might be ok for '22 but the next year may be a problem. Usually you build a team around the spine, they are building a spine around the team. All they have is Mahoney and Burton who is a running half for me but no fullback or a organising half. They still have big problems for me so have to spend more money they don't have to improve their spine.

They are having to plug the gaps in the grande marquee with kids who are significantly underdone.

It’s still a cocktail and no one knows whether it will result in anti-freeze.

But credit to the bulldogs for assembling what at least appears to be a competitive side.

They have managed to get some bloody good players interested.

I’d be looking to recruit their recruiters, outstanding job.