Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

lingard

How many flaws do you see in any of our forwards? Paulo plays long minutes but he spends a lot of those minutes bludging, including in defence. But nobody notices because we cover for him well. How good do you think Papali'i will look in a team that doesn't control the ball very well? My guess is similar to how he looked at the Warriors.
So he goes great in our team, but might not go great in another team - so we don't really need him, then? Okay.

lingard

N.Brown - Silly offloads, odd dropped ball, not huge power
LANE - Lacks power and line breaking ability
Marata - One dimensional
Matterson -Incosistent and lacks power
Kafusi - Bad hands and inconsistent
Cartwright - Plays soft
Lane's weakness is his sometimes loose passing. Marata is not one-dimensional, he's just used that way. Matterson has plenty of power (as does Lane). Cartwright plays way tougher than he used to.

Gazzamatta

Can drop a ball and give away penalties/6 agains. Also for his size I’d say he’s lacking power. Soft as well. To many weaknesses
Id certainly like to see him play only on the edge and not shuffled into the middle. I reckon he played his best footy when he was a regular edge forward.

TheRam

It was pretty good foresight to get Papalii for 4/5 of f**k all for 2 years wouldn't you think?

And yet they didn't have enough confidence in their own foresight to go on with it and lock him up early. What good is foresight if you don't believe in it enough to hold on to your successes?

lucablight

And if his manager said, ''Ice, don't sign anything until we see what you are worth on the open market in Nov,'' that would be more good foresight. Foresight all round!
Of course he would say that at the end of the season. He wasn’t one of the the dally m backrowers of the year in the middle of the season though. He was a bench player who had forced his way into the starting side on a minimal contract.
Why would you think we waited until the first of November to offer an extension? More to the point, why do you think the player wouldn't want to wait? You don't get top money without some competition between buyers. If I was a player manager I would never allow a player in good form to sign an extension until there were multiple offers on the table.
First you claimed it was in our best interests to wait till the end of the season to offer an extension because we’d know what he was truly worth and now you’re suggesting we didn’t wait till the end of the season to try and extend him but got shutdown by his manager and weren’t able to. Which is it?

Of course he would say that at the end of the season. He wasn’t one of the the dally m backrowers of the year in the middle of the season though. He was a bench player who had forced his way into the starting side on a minimal contract.

First you claimed it was in our best interests to wait till the end of the season to offer an extension because we’d know what he was truly worth and now you’re suggesting we didn’t wait till the end of the season to try and extend him but got shutdown by his manager and weren’t able to. Which is it?
Both sides of that street 🤓

And yet they didn't have enough confidence in their own foresight to go on with it and lock him up early. What good is foresight if you don't believe in it enough to hold on to your successes?
We already had an advantage by having him on unders. If we upgraded him we risked losing that advantage.

But anyway, once he was in good enough form to justify an upgrade no player manager worth his commission would've allowed Papali'i to be rushed into sighing an extension. The big money comes after November. Before that it's just the club trying to get the player on the cheap. There is little benefit to the player.

I'm saying we don't know, and that includes you. But either scenario explains why he didn't sign until November. The fact he signed so quickly after November first indicates the offer was in too-good-to-be-true territory.

There's still dozens of quality players unsigned for 2023. Interesting that three of ours were so quick to sign elsewhere, and with such weak clubs.

The re-signing of Paulo and Dunster and the other acquisitions for 2022 and 2023 has made me very happy. I was with a bunch of footy heads last night at a Xmas party and they all commented about how strong our side is and that we will be one of the teams again vying for the premiership in 2022.

I still think the acquisition of Rein will surprise many and show us just how much we have overrated our departing hooker. My tip is that Mahoney will have less time on the field in 2022 because he will be reined in by the 200 plus game veteran.

I’d also ban him from singing our team song for the entire season. I’ve also always hated cauliflower ears.

We were without Mahoney in the backend of the season too. I wonder if that's why we were better?
Mate he’s as lazy AF, how much better was our defence without him??? And I don’t think after an ACL he’ll be getting any quicker. Dunster showed plenty more after just a dozen or so games at least he looks interested. Sivo is asleep unless he is 10metres out.