Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Mate he’s as lazy AF, how much better was our defence without him??? And I don’t think after an ACL he’ll be getting any quicker. Dunster showed plenty more after just a dozen or so games at least he looks interested. Sivo is asleep unless he is 10metres out.

I think you are being way too quick to write him off. So what if he's most dangerous from 10m out. For years one of the biggest weaknesses in our attack was our inability to score when we got in the red zone.

You need to offer more than just being dangerous from 10metres out. His biggest problem is he’s lazy and for a big bloke he doesn’t really like doing the tough stuff. With Haze and Simonsson signed on 3 year deals it looks like the club is thinking the same.

If he was lazy we wouldn't have kept re-signing him. The reason he looks like being replaced is because the modern game makes it so much easier to create overlaps, and so faster wingers have become more valuable, while the value of power wingers has declined.

Lane's weakness is his sometimes loose passing. Marata is not one-dimensional, he's just used that way. Matterson has plenty of power (as does Lane). Cartwright plays way tougher than he used to.

Crighton,Kikau,Frizzel,Murray have line breaking power.
Matto seems to make good pcm once hits the line but doesn't skittle the defenders.

SneakyEel

Crighton,Kikau,Frizzel,Murray have line breaking power.
Matto seems to make good pcm once hits the line but doesn't skittle the defenders.
I saw not long ago that Matto and Cartwright have been working with sprinting coaches and doing extra training. I don't think Matto's problem was size or strength more so his acceleration towards defences. Reckon if his acceleration has improved he'll go very well next season.

lingard

The re-signing of Paulo and Dunster and the other acquisitions for 2022 and 2023 has made me very happy. I was with a bunch of footy heads last night at a Xmas party and they all commented about how strong our side is and that we will be one of the teams again vying for the premiership in 2022.

I still think the acquisition of Rein will surprise many and show us just how much we have overrated our departing hooker. My tip is that Mahoney will have less time on the field in 2022 because he will be reined in by the 200 plus game veteran.

I’d also ban him from singing our team song for the entire season. I’ve also always hated cauliflower ears.
I hate white headgear.

IFR33K

Our inability to score was from lack of creativity and at times ‘klunky’ attack.

I think he hit the line and stops dead like Martin Lang.
Still a great forward cause he has a lot of pluses. But imo that's his weakness.

Yes, he is on the lighter side, it's true. He doesn't punch through the line.

But he does offer energy, aggression, and a relentless approach.

And I think when he is 100% fit (which I don't think he has been for a season, now), that he makes more impact with the ball in hand.