Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

84 Baby

How does the Tax work? My accountant told me sports stars have a special tax as their careers are a short span so they don't get hammered. I think it may be a flat rate
They can average their income across 5 year periods. Same tax rates.
It isn’t because of career span, it’s because their income can vary massively one year to next, same as entertainment people and farmers. The problem for sports people like NRL players doing it, is their income is generally it is minimal, then shoots up, grows gradually before dropping off and then “retirement”. Some post career jobs would extend the career span, but if the income just goes low/high/low/zero then they get a big tax break when their career takes off (and they have money to pay tax) but then are paying catch up tax as and after their career ends (when heaps of sportspeople have pissed away their money).

TheRam

The problem will manifest itself as he gets rid of the 1 year cheapies like Vaughan and the expectations when new recruits managers see what was paid for Reed and Kikau and demand close to that. That tends to spiral a little bit out of control and Gould’s ego will be tested big time, he will also be contending with the Dolphins filling their roster and clubs like Parra, Riff and even Roosters/Storm looking for players.

That's a lot of theory that I think is way off the mark and not based on reality.

Reality is that he has turned every club he has been fulltime associated with into a premiership force. I think he will do it even easier then he did with the Panthers. At the Panthers he had to wear a million hats, including Resurrector and Savior. At the Dogs he doesn't need to do anything else other then apply his full attention and focus on the football department.

Also he has around 2/3rds of a top seventeen that can go all the way already. Like I said, all he really needs is a mature quality half and probably a fullback. Then it is a matter of a couple more frontrowers and they would be a legit premiership contender. You think he will struggle to get there? The hardest part of his job now is the playmaker. We don't know if Burton is the eventual man that can organise and lead the team around. I think he probably is, but it will take time. Around 3-5 years from now. Probably closer to 5.

Anyway, we are just guessing. All I know is don't bet against a champion that has proven time and time again that he knows more about football then almost anyone else in the freakin world even if he is a egotistical wanker. Most peoples judgments of him are tainted by this. But he always ends up delivering. Just because he flip flops and changes his tune to suit his current narrative is irrelevant to his ability and genius in regards to his work. I too would say and do whatever I thought would better the outcome I am working towards no matter what you or any other irrelevant non player person(NPP) thought or said in the world that I live in. You and every other critic is just irrelevant static.

Just remember this. It is his door that clubs beat down to sign for more then $1m a year not yours or any other critics. Enough said.

Oh P.S.

He has most player managers in his pocket mate, so signing players has never been a problem for him. He will always be able to convince enough quality players and their managers to sign for the club he represents. It should get easier from here on in to recruit players for the Dogs not harder since they will be seen as a quality roster and a team well managed and on the way up. And lets not forget he has a great benefactor in his pocket if the need should arise. ;)

Some of you people need to think before you start to type weakly thought out ideas and bias thoughts.

A lover while you where sewing your wild oates?
Johnoates GIF by Beth Hart