Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Do you think it’s plausible a half trains in the centres during the off season for a rookie half?
How else is he going to learn to play centre? It's a very important defensive position. And it's not like he was doing much in the halves before the off season.

King-Gutho94

Outside a few on this forum I haven't come across another parra fan yet that believes JA should be anywhere near the 17 yet alone playing on the evidence we have seen so far.

Personally don't think he would have played first grade if he wasnt the son of the first grade coach.

Good luck to him i hope he proves me wrong but seriously he would be better off going somewhere else to develop away from his father without the scruitny possibly come back once established if BA is still the coach and wants him its best for all parties.

Newcastle would be perfect for 2 or 3 seasons as his father close relationship with Adam O'Brien would mean he would certainly get looked after.

Incorrect

From an opposition coaches perspective, I wonder if they'd prefer to play against an Eels side where Drown moves to the centres and JA takes on some of Moses' kicking duties, or against an Eels side with halves, fullback and hooker intact and a makeshift/utility playing centre/wing.

I reckon I know the answer. And usually you try and avoid doing anything that plays in to your opponents hands....

84 Baby

Sorry mate I’ve had pou on the ignore for a while now, and never do I recall commenting on his suggestions that Dylan could be a fb or centre.

in fact I’ve actually said maybe Dylan and Gutho should swap. Gutho is just as dominant as Moses with the ball in his hand, and maybe we could take advantage of Dylan’s speed in a support role.
Sorry I made that assumption.

84 Baby

From an opposition coaches perspective, I wonder if they'd prefer to play against an Eels side where Drown moves to the centres and JA takes on some of Moses' kicking duties, or against an Eels side with halves, fullback and hooker intact and a makeshift/utility playing centre/wing.

I reckon I know the answer. And usually you try and avoid doing anything that plays in to your opponents hands....
Like Cartwright playing centre with Fifita bulldozing him?

Outside a few on this forum I haven't come across another parra fan yet that believes JA should be anywhere near the 17 yet alone playing
The smartest footy fans are likely to be where the opportunity for discussion is best, which is here. The ones not on LU probably don't give rugby league much thought. From my perspective, Jake Arthur should be near the 17, just not in it. Until I'd seen him play I didn't think so though. People make too much of his nonstandard body shape.

Coaches would f**king love to see a back rower defending inside the winger. And if you don't think Drown is a threat at centre you're off your head. Bellamy famously signed Brett f**king Finch to play in the halves so he could give Inglis more room to move at centre.

Incorrect

Coaches would f**king love to see a back rower defending inside the winger. And if you don't think Drown is a threat at centre you're off your head. Bellamy famously signed Brett f**king Finch to play in the halves so he could give Inglis more room to move at centre.
If it's as f**king good an idea as you make it out to be then our coach is tactically inept by not pulling the trigger now and making the change permanent to put JA in the side as a starting half permanently and moving Drown to the centres full-time.

Let's get on with it then....

If it's as f**king good an idea as you make it out to be then our coach is tactically inept by not pulling the trigger now and making the change permanent to put JA in the side as a starting half permanently and moving Drown to the centres full-time.

Let's get on with it then....
Arthur's not even in the 17 you f**king dope. He might've had a huge preseason but it's now April and he's played 45 minutes all year. He needs to get some footy under his belt.

But I am keen to see where Perham plays when Penisini tears a pec on Monday.