Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Gazzamatta

On Mahoney I have been thinking of posting this since the game on the weekend but I didn't want to deal with all the usual apologists, but since I touched on Mahoney in my previous post what the hell.

I think his lack of a running game allowed the Titans back into the game last week. I mean by nearly every pertinent and measurable statistic we absolutely blew the Titans off the park in the first 40 minutes, but Mahoney still couldn't find a running game. If he had our players would have jumped on the back of that and I dare say with that kind of an avalanche in possession and domination I think it would have been one of those sorts of games that teams rattle up 30-40 points in the first half and if so the Titans would have been demoralized and we could have put 50-60+ on them by fulltime even with all our bad luck and injuries, due to all the momentum we were creating with the ball in hand and even great defense at times.

When your dummy half runs rough shod and a team follows through with him with plenty of bodies in motion and support it runs the opposition ragged and they get totally gassed. By the end of that first half they would have been ready to throw in the towel. They would have been dreading coming back out for the second half. But instead we ended up having a bit of a scare with an emboldened Titans coming at us with a chance of an upset and we finally endured winning by only 26-20.

He needs to do much better. Obviously he is slightly out of form, but that game on the weekend was a shocker from him, not for what he did but for what he didn't do. I think the players were down on themselves because they knew they should have put 50-60+ on the Titans and instead somehow they didn't and they knew it had very little to do with the injuries or refereeing. The first half was where they blew their overwhelming advantage and they understood that. Sure the coach was pleased, but that is a whole other story.
Fingers crossed Rein gets a decent opportunity this Monday and not only in D.

lingard

On Mahoney I have been thinking of posting this since the game on the weekend but I didn't want to deal with all the usual apologists, but since I touched on Mahoney in my previous post what the hell.

I think his lack of a running game allowed the Titans back into the game last week. I mean by nearly every pertinent and measurable statistic we absolutely blew the Titans off the park in the first 40 minutes, but Mahoney still couldn't find a running game. If he had our players would have jumped on the back of that and I dare say with that kind of an avalanche in possession and domination I think it would have been one of those sorts of games that teams rattle up 30-40 points in the first half and if so the Titans would have been demoralized and we could have put 50-60+ on them by fulltime even with all our bad luck and injuries, due to all the momentum we were creating with the ball in hand and even great defense at times.

When your dummy half runs rough shod and a team follows through with him with plenty of bodies in motion and support it runs the opposition ragged and they get totally gassed. By the end of that first half they would have been ready to throw in the towel. They would have been dreading coming back out for the second half. But instead we ended up having a bit of a scare with an emboldened Titans coming at us with a chance of an upset and we finally endured winning by only 26-20.

He needs to do much better. Obviously he is slightly out of form, but that game on the weekend was a shocker from him, not for what he did but for what he didn't do. I think the players were down on themselves because they knew they should have put 50-60+ on the Titans and instead somehow they didn't and they knew it had very little to do with the injuries or refereeing. The first half was where they blew their overwhelming advantage and they understood that. Sure the coach was pleased, but that is a whole other story.
Mahoney hardly ever runs. Moses, despite his excellence in other areas, seldom attacks the line. And Drown has only just recently managed any resemblance to an attacking game. It makes for a very non-threatening spine in terms of unsettling an opposition defence. With a Moses-style half-back, we really need our hooker and/or five-eight to be running as often as possible.
I'm kind of glad Mahoney is leaving; and I'm hoping Brown continues his attacking form.

Mahoney hardly ever runs. Moses, despite his excellence in other areas, seldom attacks the line. And Drown has only just recently managed any resemblance to an attacking game. It makes for a very non-threatening spine in terms of unsettling an opposition defence. With a Moses-style half-back, we really need our hooker and/or five-eight to be running as often as possible.
I'm kind of glad Mahoney is leaving; and I'm hoping Brown continues his attacking form.
We split our three spine players (who aren't playing dummy half) left/right/middle. Over the past few years we have been experimenting with Drown and Moses in the middle, with Gutherson playing various roles to accommodate. At the moment Moses is back in the middle and Drown is on the left, where the opportunities traditionally are.

eels_fan

So on the Mahoney situation, I’ve seen a lot of chat on social media about he (and Kikau’s) contracts actually not having been registered with the NRL as yet. If true, is the contract legally binding? Or does it only become binding once registered?

I believe he’s gone, but the dogs have never officially acknowledged his signing, no press release etc, and whilst he and various players/officials at Parra have acknowledged he’s going, we also haven’t put out a statement saying he’s going elsewhere - which we did so with Papa, Niukore and Kaufusi I believe.

Angry_eel

So on the Mahoney situation, I’ve seen a lot of chat on social media about he (and Kikau’s) contracts actually not having been registered with the NRL as yet. If true, is the contract legally binding? Or does it only become binding once registered?

I believe he’s gone, but the dogs have never officially acknowledged his signing, no press release etc, and whilst he and various players/officials at Parra have acknowledged he’s going, we also haven’t put out a statement saying he’s going elsewhere - which we did so with Papa, Niukore and Kaufusi I believe.
Wouldn't it be awesome when we win the Premiership and Gutho says "Reedy I hope you the time of your life at the Dogs!" and then Mahoney says "Yeah nah, the deal fell through. I ain't going nowhere".

TheRam

We are going wide after a quick play-the-ball much more often this year whereas last year we loved following up a big middle run with another run up the guts.

The space was around the ruck and middle 3rd on the weekend. We needed to take the more direct route to get the most out of our dominance and we didn't. Mahoney needs to do much better in analysing the landscape and making the most of what is on offer. Styles and game plans need to be adaptable and are the sign of a spine that uses common sense to make the right adjustments where necessary.

You sound as predictable and one dimensional as our coach. Being quick on ones feet and in between the ears makes for a better team performance. Being rigid and hard set makes for disappointment when other teams workout ways to exploit your predictability.

84 Baby

I believe the contracts are written so they aren’t binding until given the ok by NRL, however that’s not to say a player or club couldn’t seek some sort of compensation on a NRL vetoed contract.
I reckon part of their Dog contracts though have an extended period to allow the Dogs to get ok from NRL. Basically until they can boot enough other overs contracts

IFR33K

Bret Kenny, Brad Fitler and Laurie Daley all say hi. Sure he isn't in their class but great defensive 5/8ths can and do make great centres.

He probably would too, but now that he is coming along nicely and finally playing some high quality offensive football(which started at the backend of last season) there is no way I would interfere with that and shift him into the centres. We need to find a better solution then JA as our 14. Like I said a few months ago, Will Smith should never have been let go in the first place. Sure he wasn't a star player, but he was a proper backup utility that could cover dummy half, halves and fullback. That is some great versatility right there and all we had to worry about was centre but even that was sorted with Niukore showing he could do a stellar job there when needed.

Now we find ourselves having to do silly reshuffles that allow the coaches son a berth in the top 17 and the coaches Praetorian Guard and apologists on this site defending it as a smart and wise decision, instead of seeing it for what it is actually is, a weakening of our greatest strength after the power game that our forwards provide, which is our halves defensive and offensive game. With Mahoney basically having a non running game again and Gutho not being a pure lethal running fullback, our halves are even more vital and should not be tampered with. Period!

So from where I sit I think we need to go back and hopefully find a new young utility that can cover a multitude of positions for next season because it will be even more necessary next year once Niukore leaves us. Also what I and most others on here also know is that JA isn't that by a long stretch.

i never said it wasn’t possible for Dylan to do. Nor did I say it’s never been done before. I was saying it wasn’t right, asking him to play two positions, as he’s still got so much work to do at 5/8. But I do agree with what you’ve said.

Soren Lorenson

I believe the contracts are written so they aren’t binding until given the ok by NRL, however that’s not to say a player or club couldn’t seek some sort of compensation on a NRL vetoed contract.
I reckon part of their Dog contracts though have an extended period to allow the Dogs to get ok from NRL. Basically until they can boot enough other overs contracts
I don't listen to it but Gus discusses Milf's contract on his podcast today, specifically how the Rabbits didn't register it when they should have and now the Milf is rooted.