Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Stevie

Anyone wondering still at the lack of Dolphins recruitment?

I keep laughing thinking back to when you played footy as a kid and they didn’t have enough players on the other team occasionally so someone in your team would have to play for them.

You’d stand there looking at your boots when the coach said who volunteers…

Then all of a sudden you best player and toughest kid volunteers and you’re f**kin spewing!

Could make for interesting game days 😜

Noise

I keep laughing thinking back to when you played footy as a kid and they didn’t have enough players on the other team occasionally so someone in your team would have to play for them.

Then all of a sudden you best player and toughest kid volunteers and you’re f**kin spewing!

I reckon they will get Munster, Reece Walsh, Milford and maybe Verrills.

I don't listen to it but Gus discusses Milf's contract on his podcast today, specifically how the Rabbits didn't register it when they should have and now the Milf is rooted.

Well, I would assume that the initial agreement would require the Rabbitohs to make their best efforts to have the contract registered in a timely manner. If they could be shown to have deliberately delayed submission of the draft agreement to the NRL for private benefit, a player may have a case against the club.....but the cost of doing so and the time involved would probably make it not worth it.

Case in point is Eels v Hoppa Jnr. Settled in the end for some cash from us IIRC

lucablight

Phil Gould said on 100% footy (or the 6 tackles podcast can’t remember exactly) last week that they have signed plenty of players but haven’t announced them yet.

Eelogical

There's this to ponder.

The space was around the ruck and middle 3rd on the weekend. We needed to take the more direct route to get the most out of our dominance and we didn't. Mahoney needs to do much better in analysing the landscape and making the most of what is on offer. Styles and game plans need to be adaptable and are the sign of a spine that uses common sense to make the right adjustments where necessary.

You sound as predictable and one dimensional as our coach. Being quick on ones feet and in between the ears makes for a better team performance. Being rigid and hard set makes for disappointment when other teams workout ways to exploit your predictability.
I've been saying for ages that our playmakers are poor at decision making. They might be quick (Moses and Drown), technically skilled and hard working, but only Gutherson is fast between the ears. Two out of three ain't bad, but having a game plan that relies on our playmakers to read the play doesn't suit their strengths. That's why we play the grinding style instead.

Brilliant club. They not only can develop them but keep the best ones. Heck how many are origin players?
Actually their strength is their willingness to let go of their expensive players to create space for others. Blake, RCG, Maloney, Mansour and Tamou were on huge money. Our fans would've spat blood if we'd let that calibre of player go without winning a premiership. Luckily Penrith have no fans to generate any media pressure.

Noise

I've been saying for ages that our playmakers are poor at decision making. They might be quick (Moses and Drown), technically skilled and hard working, but only Gutherson is fast between the ears. Two out of three ain't bad, but having a game plan that relies on our playmakers to read the play doesn't suit their strengths. That's why we play the grinding style instead.
I reckon in the past year Moses has improved a lot in that regard and is as sharp as Gutho.

lucablight

I think Gutho is a bit uncoordinated so his execution isn’t always the best.

lucablight

Actually their strength is their willingness to let go of their expensive players to create space for others. Blake, RCG, Maloney, Mansour and Tamou were on huge money. Our fans would've spat blood if we'd let that calibre of player go without winning a premiership. Luckily Penrith have no fans to generate any media pressure.
I’ve always wondered why they don’t have more fans. You would think that being in western Sydney rugby league heartland that they have would one of the biggest fanbases. I often go to Mt Druitt and I see more people wearing Eels jerseys than Panthers.

And 3 premierships since our last one