Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Cloeel

Reality is.....

We have no x factor

A solid fullback and hooker. Both with below average run games. I'd say both are two of the slowest in their positions. Sure they have other strengths but they kind of just takeaway from our halves as far as kick game and passing.

Our strength is our two start props and halves.

Backlines very average. BLAKE and Penisini are the only quality.And neither are considered for origin. Nearly all 16 sides have 2 quality player in their backline.
Other forwards Lane,Papali,Brown,Matterson,Marata are good players but none are origin level. Kafusi,Makatoa are very average and don't make most teams top 17.

Look at Storm and Panthers and you see x factor and explosiveness.Storms spine and Panthers are both far superior. I agree with Pou that we just don't have that great a squad. It's about no 6 when look at who have in our top 30.

I've said this 10 x you need a 2nd rower capable of busting the line. Last one we had was Manu and KE. Throw in Semi as our x factor. That was our best chance for a title. 2017.

Do I blame BA for poor coaching? No I blame him for putting together a squad with no real explosiveness. We will bash the weak sides and grind against the top ones. Come finals it will most likely be one and done. That's if we make the top 8 which I wouldn't say is a certainty. If we lost one of our props or halves for a long period we would be at beat 50/50

Why do you blame him for the squad he has put together?

You can only buy players who are available, fit within the squad balance and are willing to join the club. Im sure if better players were available and for the right price he would sign them.

We already spent years of overpaying players and look how that worked out.

BA can only coach what he has and focus on getting the best out of them week in week out.

The buck stops at Parramatta continuing on its trajectory of becoming a more attractive option for players to go to for success (unfortunately that doesn't happen over night). Then we can attract better youngsters, current players and even TPA's.

Incorrect

Sivo, probably not as he refused to defend late last year, lazy prick.

I think Russell is a much better attacking option than Opa, not as good a defender though but he will only get better.

His injury was pretty bad timing as he may have been developing nicely right now
Yeah agree Re Sivo... I couldn't have Opacic and Sivo on the same side of the field, they'd be slowest centre/wing combo in the comp by a long way. Need someone with a bit of zip playing outside Opacic.... And I can't see Sivo swapping over to right wing.... Bit of a 1 trick pony, he know left wing and that's about it I reckon....

Is Dave Hollis in our top 30?

Does anyone know whether he may be in BA's future plans?

He's turning 21 in a few days, and a prop standing 196cm, and weighing in at 105kg, with mobility, and agility (and possessing a big motor) is surely worth a run...

I get impression he is to far down pecking order. Even with injuries of Stone,Ogden,Marata he isn't making the NSW CUP side. Unless they want him to play long minutes in 20s

Why do you blame him for the squad he has put together?

You can only buy players who are available, fit within the squad balance and are willing to join the club. Im sure if better players were available and for the right price he would sign them.

We already spent years of overpaying players and look how that worked out.

BA can only coach what he has and focus on getting the best out of them week in week out.

The buck stops at Parramatta continuing on its trajectory of becoming a more attractive option for players to go to for success (unfortunately that doesn't happen over night). Then we can attract better youngsters, current players and even TPA's.

Coaches would have a huge say on who they want to keep and let go and also sign. You don't think Bellamy or Cleary do?
Remember BA was happy to ship Moses or Norman. Just happened to be Saints had interest in Norman so he got lucky. Hopefully a few superstars pop up in 20s as it seems NSW CUP has little

Yeah agree Re Sivo... I couldn't have Opacic and Sivo on the same side of the field, they'd be slowest centre/wing combo in the comp by a long way. Need someone with a bit of zip playing outside Opacic.... And I can't see Sivo swapping over to right wing.... Bit of a 1 trick pony, he know left wing and that's about it I reckon....

He is but also very safe under the high ball and has pretty good finishing and strong carries.
Russel and Simmonson are weak. Russel will potentially be very good but does he offer more then a fit Sivo this season?
Opacic is a slug but has great defense. I would consider Blake back to centre and Simmonson or Russel on the wing but if we want to build a power game Waqa and Sivo on the flanks is our best chance to just over power sides with brut force. Having a 1-2 combo of those hitting it up to start the sets would be massive. Penisini also can do a strong carry. Then let the props run hard

lingard

We have a power game ffs. It works well as long as your opposition don't measure up blow for blow and Moses boot masks over a hell of a lot of short comings with ball in hand. But as we have seen so often it isn't enough when the opposition are also playing tough and executing well. Then we tend to fold with a win being the exception.

Lets also not forget how poor we can be defensively too.
I reckon we need a different half-back. I reckon maybe we play a power game because we have to work around a half-back who seldom takes on the line, and never plays direct. He has a kicking game that compensates for a lot of that, but as we've seen, that's not enough to win us a premiership. It's not even enough for us to be consistent throughout the year. I'd much rather a Jackson Hastings or Nicho Hynes type of half-back. If we had either of those two our attack would be heaps better.

lingard

What the hell do you even do at work? You are on here all day
I think he's Sherlock Holmes' brother, Mycroft. He has a mysterious job somewhere in the upper echelons of government where he does f**k all, but every now and then saves the country from nefarious super villains. I think all of his posts contain cryptic messages pertaining to the balance of world power
and geopolitics in general. I've been trying to decode them for years, but have hardly scratched the surface.

lingard

What the hell do you even do at work? You are on here all day
I think he's Sherlock Holmes' brother, Mycroft. He has a mysterious job somewhere in the upper echelons of government where he does f**k all, but every now and then saves the country from nefarious super villains. I think all of his posts contain cryptic messages pertaining to the balance of world power
and geopolitics in general. I've been trying to decode them for years, but I've hardly scratched the surface.

King-Gutho94

I think he has fallen out favour mate.

BA has backed in older guys like Maka and ogden ahead of him this year.

Dave's development has been hindered by Covid and lack of footy in lower grades looks to be a victim of that unfortunately.

and geopolitics in general. I've been trying to decode them for years, but have hardly scratched the surface.

Or just a middle aged sapiosexual man who's brain doesn't get much stimulation in every day life. He turns to footy forum for a dopamine hit