Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

gaffer

Sure and or maybe, but that isn't an option now. So the best we could hope for is Hastings, but even that would be very doubtful considering that the Tigers would probably pay him $1m plus if they thought that they would lose him if he maintains his form and piss off Brooks and move Doueihi to 5/8th.

So unless we can't replace Moses with someone that can steer the team around well and consistently and with a decent kicking game, well Moses is our man. Besides I feel a lot of our problems this year besides our unsettled backline through injury and therefore stymied attack and wonky defense, actually stems from our dummy halves inability to take the line on and loss of form. The guy has absolutely no running game at the moment.

That is the position we need to focus on in our spine to improve once he is gone. Tom Starling is the guy I would be focusing on.
Why cant ennis show him how to take a couple of steps forward at least before passing

“There is an option in both favours so I have got two years, there is a player option and a club option in that one, so I am there for two years just to clear that one up,” Hodgson said on the Fox League podcast.

“I heard about the story, but there's an option in my favour and in the club’s favour which is obviously different in salaries, that’s why it is negotiated like that but there is an option in both favours so it will be a two-year deal.”
A mutual option? Seems like if he takes up the option he gets less than if we force it.

Seems strange... so he negotiates a higher salary for the second year if the club wants to take up its option, but has a lower salary value in there if he's forced to take up his player option as a fall back and to hang around?

Maybe the lower player option value isn't top 30 threshhold? And there's no way he wouldn't look around for a better deal in year two, if we decided we didn't want what he was selling.

emjaycee

Seems strange... so he negotiates a higher salary for the second year if the club wants to take up its option, but has a lower salary value in there if he's forced to take up his player option as a fall back and to hang around?

Maybe the lower player option value isn't top 30 threshhold? And there's no way he wouldn't look around for a better deal in year two, if we decided we didn't want what he was selling.
It's probably more like "here's $400k for year 1. If we decide we want to keep you, then you can have another $400k but if we don't need you and you cant find anywhere else to go, we will give you $300k and keep you for the second year, your choice then whether to stay for less or not."

If true (not the numbers but the scenario), I would say well done MO'N. It means we reduce our risk if he gets injured again by not having to spend as much to keep him around, and I reckon it also means we have someone internal or external we are targetting for 2024 and we really hope only to use Josh for 2023.

TheRam

It's probably more like "here's $400k for year 1. If we decide we want to keep you, then you can have another $400k but if we don't need you and you cant find anywhere else to go, we will give you $300k and keep you for the second year, your choice then whether to stay for less or not."

If true (not the numbers but the scenario), I would say well done MO'N. It means we reduce our risk if he gets injured again by not having to spend as much to keep him around, and I reckon it also means we have someone internal or external we are targetting for 2024 and we really hope only to use Josh for 2023.

Unless of course he is playing like an absolute busted and not even worth $150K by the second year, then we are paying him double what he is worth and depriving ourselves at least the difference in signing someone of class.

Gazzamatta

We may well pay him that $300k to walk away. A pretty costly exercise should that occur. The concerning thing is the clubs lack of confidence in him lasting 2 years. A bit of a rushed decision for mine. Fingers crossed it works out.

TheRam

Why cant ennis show him how to take a couple of steps forward at least before passing

I'm sure he has mate.

He is out of form mate and playing very basic and unthoughtful footy at the moment, which as a dummy half is not good at all. It is equally with the primary play maker the most important position a player needs to be switched on all the time.

Gazzamatta

Any thoughts on The Tigpies build up for 2023?
Their spine will be
Laurie, Douhi, Hastings and Korosau. Not bad at all. Also add Ice and a couple more and they may surprise next year. They do lose their current edge forwards though. They looked much improved last Monday. An early tip, they finish 2023 above our Eels.

King-Gutho94

Their spine will be
Laurie, Douhi, Hastings and Korosau. Not bad at all. Also add Ice and a couple more and they may surprise next year. They do lose their current edge forwards though. They looked much improved last Monday. An early tip, they finish 2023 above our Eels.
Who will be coaching them though.

Their spine will be

Stefano will be top 5 props in game next season imo. Gee he has impressed me

emjaycee

Their spine will be
Where will Brooks play?

Glenneel

They would have some veto power in who not to sign, and would offer suggestions on who they want. They might even give their opinion on what a player is worth. But ultimately it’s not his job to balance the cap. In fact when Seward was snitching on the club he blamed BA for demanding we find some TPAs to try and get/keep players.
*Seaweed

Stevie

Their spine will be
Who ff#$king cares!!