Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Look at the difference between our number 1 and captain and the Storm's Number 1.

If only we had such forward thinking and loyal leaders at our club to drive the re-signing and retention culture of our club for the players that are in their prime and most in demand.

Moses doesn't need to extract every last cent out of our club. He is well and truly on his way to being a multi millionaire already and I'm sure he will also have a media career after footy if he wants it to continue earning well after his retirement. So it is very disappointing that this time he has chosen to go to market where teams like the Dogs or Dolphins who are way desperate can offer him way more. Maybe seeing what Gutho did last time gave him the feeling that the 'every man for himself' attitude was ok at our club and he is silly by not doing the same.

Anyway our whole spine has or will be going to market this time around. Juxtapose that to the Storm who I think only Munster is(Mel are offering him significantly less) out of Paps, Hughes and Grant, has taken that option and all are more accomplished and Premiership winners compared to ours. A little loyalty goes a long way if quality sticks together and enough money will be there for all to be doing very well in the end. But the captain I feel has set the tone and it isn't a good one for the long term success of our club.

Melbourne have the advantage of location stability as well. If a player's wife and kids are happy in Melbourne there isn't eight clubs within driving distance driving his price up.

Exactly. Especially if kids are at school.
In saying that how many of them have their families in Melbourne? I reckon Nth Qld is probably the biggest advantage.
And you could say similar about Newcastle and Canberra

Obscene Assassin

We lost two dummy halves last year. That's what killed us. You'd have to assume Lussick would've gone better than Stone in that final game, but then our defence wouldn't have been as good and we might not have even been close enough that a couple of errors at dummy half would've made any difference.

3 dummy halves. Mahoney, Lussick, Roache

TheRam

Well this is why nobody takes you seriously. No excuses isn’t a solution in a competitive environment. This isn’t about a fat, ugly person trying to be the best version of themselves. Long term NRL premiership success is about being the hottest bitch in the room, and nice clothes and weight loss won’t cut it if your genes aren’t top shelf.

All your solutions are about clothes and makeup, when we need to improve our genetics. That starts with the board and CEO.

Oh please what a load of horse crap. My no excuses mantra is legitimate and the mantra that all the great and most successful clubs of the world, including the Storm, live and breathe by.

The difference is they work very hard as an organisation to make sure that the players they have and nurture through their systems don't have any wiggle room to find any excuses.

For example does anyone think that we have a coach that has drilled our players to an inch of their lives both in attack and defense like Bellamy spends thousands of hours on both making sure each player knows exactly how and when to fall into position and do his part in any given scenario? Do you think that BA spends the same amount of time coming up with different ways his team should play a particular opponent or player?

We have all heard from our own players and even the coach himself state that they work on their defense and they know that the attack will come off the back of that. Well that is not how the Storm do it. You should listen to Cronk explaining how Bellamy gets down to the minutia of every play and detail of every play both in attack and defense and then explains and shows the players exactly what happened, why and how to combat, exploit or defend it and then spend countless hours practicing it over and over and over, till it becomes robotic.

There is no such thing as an excuse in Bellamy's philosophy of coaching. Cooper Cronk mentioned the other week that the Storm's army boot camp at the start of every training off season is another example of how they weed out the soaks and whingers from the rest. The ones that will look for an easy way out or excuses for when there should never be an excuse. Gorden Tallis then questioned Cronk if that really told them anything and some players don't need to do boot camps to prove that they are quality and or stars. But Cronk responded that in all the time that the Storm have been doing it, there has only ever been one player that they got it wrong with, ever. So not bad is it?

Can we say the same thing with the way we prepare our players and vet them? It doesn't take a super coach to sit down and work out the best training procedures used by the most successful coaches and clubs does it? Hell BA was part of the Storm's setup ffs. What exactly has he walked away with from his tenure there? To chase the collision and to take the game to them? Is that it? Jeez even I know that identification and then repetition till you can't think or dream of anything else is how you go from good to great to exceptional.

NO FREAKIN EXCUSES!!!

Everything else is just noise.

Oh please what a load of horse crap. My no excuses mantra is legitimate and the mantra that all the great and most successful clubs of the world, including the Storm, live and breathe by.

The difference is they work very hard as an organisation to make sure that the players they have and nurture through their systems don't have any wiggle room to find any excuses.

For example does anyone think that we have a coach that has drilled our players to an inch of their lives both in attack and defense like Bellamy spends thousands of hours on both making sure each player knows exactly how and when to fall into position and do his part in any given scenario? Do you think that BA spends the same amount of time coming up with different ways his team should play a particular opponent or player?

We have all heard from our own players and even the coach himself state that they work on their defense and they know that the attack will come off the back of that. Well that is not how the Storm do it. You should listen to Cronk explaining how Bellamy gets down to the minutia of every play and detail of every play both in attack and defense and then explains and shows the players exactly what happened, why and how to combat, exploit or defend it and then spend countless hours practicing it over and over and over, till it becomes robotic.

There is no such thing as an excuse in Bellamy's philosophy of coaching. Cooper Cronk mentioned the other week that the Storm's army boot camp at the start of every training off season is another example of how they weed out the soaks and whingers from the rest. The ones that will look for an easy way out or excuses for when there should never be an excuse. Gorden Tallis then questioned Cronk if that really told them anything and some players don't need to do boot camps to prove that they are quality and or stars. But Cronk responded that in all the time that the Storm have been doing it, there has only ever been one player that they got it wrong with, ever. So not bad is it?

Can we say the same thing with the way we prepare our players and vet them? It doesn't take a super coach to sit down and work out the best training procedures used by the most successful coaches and clubs does it? Hell BA was part of the Storm's setup ffs. What exactly has he walked away with from his tenure there? To chase the collision and to take the game to them? Is that it? Jeez even I know that identification and then repetition till you can't think or dream of anything else is how you go from good to great to exceptional.

NO FREAKIN EXCUSES!!!

Brilliant

NO FREAKIN EXCUSES!!!

Bellamy is able to do all that because he has an army of support staff. There's only so many minutes in a day. If you need more man hours you need to employ more men. You'd be pretty familiar with paying men by the hour.

The Predictor

For those who want to bag Ricky he come at a hard time. You had guys above him interfering and a woefully roster.
Was it not Ricky who blooded Semi,Manu and KE? Do we credit him for those?

Easy to dish on Ricky but he unearthed some talent and culled a heap of dead wood. Cleared the path for BA
I think Stuart made calls that should have been long before he arrived, and I credit him to a degree of being where we are now, I don’t blame him , moving on because at the time we were being run by a bunch of selfish and corrupt knts, he was offered an opportunity to go home, some of these idiots on here don’t realise that he actually gave the club an opportunity of a new start!!

TheRam

Ive never been a fan of Kikau. I felt he was a good x factor with little else. That said his game last Friday night was amazing. I was very impressed with his D. Can he continue that at The Dogs? Will be interesting.

Mate he has been the best edge forward in the game for a while. He can do it all. Run super hard with good lines. Tackles well with repeat efforts. Passes accurate and fast if needed and or with soft hands and he can kick. He is the complete package as a back rower. There isn't anyone better or if there is I don't know who he is or what league he is playing in because he isn't playing in the NRL.

T-Boon

Mate he has been the best edge forward in the game for a while. He can do it all. Run super hard with good lines. Tackles well with repeat efforts. Passes accurate and fast if needed and or with soft hands and he can kick. He is the complete package as a back rower. There isn't anyone better or if there is I don't know who he is or what league he is playing in because he isn't playing in the NRL.
He is okay at the cat position but he is still a dope. Mistakes and what not.

T-Boon

I think Pou made a good point. If you have wingers who can hit it up at an elite level the forwards can do a lot more gang tackling.

TheRam

You could also say they have the disadvantage of location being that almost every player in their squad is originally from a different State and therefore most probably would love to go back home to where the majority of their family and friends are, right?

So obviously great coaching, being at a great club and loyalty is what is making the difference. Not mega bucks that all their elite players can get on the open market or the tyranny of distance. Home is where the heart is after all. So there strength doesn't come from their isolation, but they have overcome their isolation due to those other factors.

TheRam

Bellamy is able to do all that because he has an army of support staff. There's only so many minutes in a day. If you need more man hours you need to employ more men. You'd be pretty familiar with paying men by the hour.

Hahaha...That's funny.

But still you are wrong and we have more then enough support staff to help our coach with any systems and tactics he wants to implement. Our management came out and re-enforced that very thing a few seasons ago when we were actually a little light on support staff.

So sorry you are talking nonsense again pou. Have another shot at trying to tell us all why we can't.

I have a feeling that you would be first to go in Bellamy's preseason army boot camp. Probably as soon as you opened your mouth and said, 'Why army boot camps coach? We ain't professional soldiers so what you think you doing? We will never defeat them. Maybe if we are real lucky and everything goes our way and it's a full moon and the virgin Mary lays an egg that gives berth to a golden goose, then we may have a 10% chance and only if the soldiers all stepped on land mines too sir...maybe.'

I think Pou made a good point. If you have wingers who can hit it up at an elite level the forwards can do a lot more gang tackling.
It's certainly not a new thing, though it seems to be catching on. Here's the number of wingers in the top ten for runs per game, in recent years:

YearWingers in top ten (runs per game)

You could also say they have the disadvantage of location being that almost every player in their squad is originally from a different State and therefore most probably would love to go back home to where the majority of their family and friends are, right?
Not if they're recruited young and hook up with a local girl. And even if they're from Auckland or Brisbane or wherever, women f**king love Melbourne.