Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

In all fairness that doesn’t mean anything. Without saying anything about the coaching staff at Parramatta I would say you are assuming everyone is competent at their jobs. That’s a huge assumption.
Competent/incompetent is a stupid ‘rugby league media’ type threshold. All these people have decades in the game. They are all competent, which isn’t to say they are all equally competent. But assuming differing levels of competence exist, what do you think is required to get the most competent people into an organisation? How do employment markets work?

lucablight

Competent/incompetent is a stupid ‘rugby league media’ type threshold. All these people have decades in the game. They are all competent, which isn’t to say they are all equally competent. But assuming differing levels of competence exist, what do you think is required to get the most competent people into an organisation? How do employment markets work?
It’s not limited to just rugby league. It applies to all walks of life. I can tell you from personal experience that I deal with people at my workplace who have decades of experience and they can be outright incompetent. I deal with a lot of doctors as well who are supposed to be amongst the brightest of our society and some of them have no idea. There are alot of people employed out there who are just really good at getting by without getting exposed at how bad they are at their jobs.

I would say it doesn't apply to all fields and certainly not to rugby league. For the number of jobs available there is an oversupply of people eligible/qualified to coach in the NRL, especially when you consider that once in the job they are only competing with other rugby league coaches. How competent do they need to be ffs? The leadership and tactical side of things is something they have deep exposure to as players and the management side is increasingly done by specialist staff.

lucablight

I would say it doesn't apply to all fields and certainly not to rugby league. For the number of jobs available there is an oversupply of people eligible/qualified to coach in the NRL, especially when you consider that once in the job they are only competing with other rugby league coaches. How competent do they need to be ffs? The leadership and tactical side of things is something they have deep exposure to as players and the management side is increasingly done by specialist staff.
David Kidwell once forgot that he had Jason Taumalolo (who was considered the best forward in the game at the time) sitting on the bench when he was coaching the NZ team. Would a competent coach ever make such an error?

Wasn't that his first ever game as head coach? As long as he learned from it, yes he's competent. I reckon seeing a close halftime score blow out very quickly could easily overwhelm an inexperienced head coach in his first game. But failure is how we learn. Bellamy owns the record for greatest grand final loss. Sometimes things just go wrong. It's how you respond that determines competence.

lucablight

Wasn't that his first ever game as head coach? As long as he learned from it, yes he's competent. I reckon seeing a close halftime score blow out very quickly could easily overwhelm an inexperienced head coach in his first game. But failure is how we learn. Bellamy owns the record for greatest grand final loss. Sometimes things just go wrong. It's how you respond that determines competence.
Well he’s not NZ coach anymore after failing to make the 2017 World Cup semis. There’s probably a reason for that. You have way too much faith in people who get appointed to certain positions just because they satisfied the requirements to get there. They should be judged based on what they demonstrate not what their job description says they can do.

Well it sounds like he wasn’t in the right job but now is. Don’t forget coaching a national team isn’t coaching in the NRL. It is less work for less pay and less prestige.

I have a mate. He always goes after the bigger paying jobs and always gets them.
At one of his jobs the partners would bet on if he could complete a simple 2hr task within the day. Most likely he couldn't.
If attending a break down rather then start with the most common error he would chose a one in a million shot and work his way backwards.
Yet he was well presented and likeable. Always stays in work. Most companies ended up just putting him on do and charge jobs.

In trades however I would say experience does count. He slowly become better. Younger guys tend to think they know it all. While guys to smart never want to listen.
Perhaps the key is someone who understand they are always learning, has experience and prepared to listen to alternative views.

Cloeel

I have a mate. He always goes after the bigger paying jobs and always gets them.
At one of his jobs the partners would bet on if he could complete a simple 2hr task within the day. Most likely he couldn't.
If attending a break down rather then start with the most common error he would chose a one in a million shot and work his way backwards.
Yet he was well presented and likeable. Always stays in work. Most companies ended up just putting him on do and charge jobs.

In trades however I would say experience does count. He slowly become better. Younger guys tend to think they know it all. While guys to smart never want to listen.
Perhaps the key is someone who understand they are always learning, has experience and prepared to listen to alternative views.

More like guys who think they are smart choose not to listen.

Anyone who is actually "smart" understands you should listen more than you talk.

TheRam

f**k, and only you and Cronk knew about it? Just think what that knowledge could be worth to an NRL club! If only we had people at our club who had been involved in coaching at a place like the Melbourne Storm. Or even ones who had watched as much footy as yourself, TheRam. No excuses ffs!

No mate not only me and Cronk know about it, you smart arse. All I was referring to was that we don't play like a team that is doing what Cronk was talking about.

What Cronk was explaining was that it doesn't take tons of talent but massive repetition. Repetition makes players look like they have natural super skills. Look at the Gutho to Matterson's try the other day. Look at how Gutho takes all the right amount of space and gets to the edge of the hole that Cleary accidently creates and then the timing of Matto getting to Gutho at precisely the right time, then when he receives it the way he first steps out and then in and totally bamboozles Edwards who ends up falling over and Matto goes through and scores untouched.

Now look at all the skill for example that Matterson displayed getting there on Monday not Tuesday and then all that footwork that was on show to score un touched. Sure Cleary over ran and came out of the line that gave Gutho the opportunity to get around him and only need to commit Martin before Matterson arrived to take the pass, but all the skills were there on show from both those players. So why are we not seeing that playmaker to backrower way more and a success rate of around once a game. Instead they get it wrong so often and almost run into each other or or do run into each other or the backrower isn't there to receive the ball on time if at all or he arrives way to soon and goes through without the ball?

These are all signs of what Cronk was referring to and the guys that have trained tirelessly these different scenarios thousands of times together end up during games looking like very talented footballers. In that episode Cronk referenced his great combination with Hoffman. He said that at first it wasn't natural and clunky, but once they trained the sh*t out of it it became second nature to them. Now Hoffman was a very good player, but in my opinion Matterson is a more naturally talented player. So why doesn't Moses for example have a similar relationship with Matto?

I stand by what I have been saying. We don't train the way we should and our one dimensional power game is the proof in the pudding.

TheRam

The point is how competent is he compared to others that do the same job? Everyone know that friendships can get you a long way in life and if you think that RL is immune to that you live in your own dumb fu*k bubble.

84 Baby

No mate not only me and Cronk know about it, you smart arse. All I was referring to was that we don't play like a team that is doing what Cronk was talking about.

What Cronk was explaining was that it doesn't take tons of talent but massive repetition. Repetition makes players look like they have natural super skills. Look at the Gutho to Matterson's try the other day. Look at how Gutho takes all the right amount of space and gets to the edge of the hole that Cleary accidently creates and then the timing of Matto getting to Gutho at precisely the right time, then when he receives it the way he first steps out and then in and totally bamboozles Edwards who ends up falling over and Matto goes through and scores untouched.

Now look at all the skill for example that Matterson displayed getting there on Monday not Tuesday and then all that footwork that was on show to score un touched. Sure Cleary over ran and came out of the line that gave Gutho the opportunity to get around him and only need to commit Martin before Matterson arrived to take the pass, but all the skills were there on show from both those players. So why are we not seeing that playmaker to backrower way more and a success rate of around once a game. Instead they get it wrong so often and almost run into each other or or do run into each other or the backrower isn't there to receive the ball on time if at all or he arrives way to soon and goes through without the ball?

These are all signs of what Cronk was referring to and the guys that have trained tirelessly these different scenarios thousands of times together end up during games looking like very talented footballers. In that episode Cronk referenced his great combination with Hoffman. He said that at first it wasn't natural and clunky, but once they trained the sh*t out of it it became second nature to them. Now Hoffman was a very good player, but in my opinion Matterson is a more naturally talented player. So why doesn't Moses for example have a similar relationship with Matto?

I stand by what I have been saying. We don't train the way we should and our one dimensional power game is the proof in the pudding.
Now perhaps it’s my confirmation bias but I reckon the following article is an excellent analysis of that Matterson try that shows perhaps we do actually do what you accuse the team of not doing.

https://rugbyleaguewriters.com/nrl-2022/take-the-two-round-9-nrl-review/

The play unfolded the way it did because of repetition.
And honestly it’s made me view some of my frustrations at Penisini vs Holmes in a different light. Against the Cows, Penisini was being shown the door because of “lazy” defence only for it to be quickly closed and being forced over sideline. The old rope-a-dope, when you think you’ve got your opponent, he’s actually got you. But maybe the same could be said for attack.

The Footy Gods told Confucius to say ...

The Grass is Always Greener on the Other Side.

You can't make a silk purse out of a pig's ear.

Some merkins can't see the forest for the trees.

Are you and Cronk saying the coach deserves the credit for that?

Now perhaps it’s my confirmation bias but I reckon the following article is an excellent analysis of that Matterson try that shows perhaps we do actually do what you accuse the team of not doing.

https://rugbyleaguewriters.com/nrl-2022/take-the-two-round-9-nrl-review/

The play unfolded the way it did because of repetition.
And honestly it’s made be view some of my frustrations at Penisini vs Holmes in a different light. Against the Cows, Penisini was being shown the door because of “lazy” defence only for it to be quickly closed and being forced over sideline. The old rope-a-dope, when you think you’ve got your opponent, he’s actually got you. But maybe the same could be said for attack.
They definitely invited us to throw the game plan out the window. We should've stayed patient and built pressure but instead we took TheRam's (and Cronk's) advice and decided that repeatedly shovelling the ball out wide would get us some fat nasty tries. I bet it's not the type of repetition we do in training. #repetition

That's a great article showing how our strength - the power game - created conditions for our win. TheRam should give it a read. I reckon Cronk might've already read it.