Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Incorrect

So these guys get tested for recreational drugs in the off season? FFS, name another person who gets tested for that on their holidays for work?
If the NRL are fair dinkum about drugs, thean every employee from the NRL would also be part of the testing policy including the CEO. At all times, not just work hours.
Seriously what a joke.
On the flip side its a blessing in disguise for Cronulla re salary cap.

Yep agree with all of that...

Especially the last sentence. Losing Ennis and Barba from their premiership winning team, on the surface of it, might seem detrimental to their chances of going back to back... But I think all too often, GF winning teams just expect to do the same things the following season, following the same formula with the same personnel, expecting it to bring the same results. But as we've seen in recent times that just doesn't happen. Opposition teams work you out. The Sharks have a chance now rejuvenate a little, change things up a bit, and they will lose nothing with Holmes at fullback. If they can somehow bring in Segeyaro, then that might enable them to come up with enough variation on how things played out in 2016 to keep opposition teams guessing...

oldmancraigy

So these guys get tested for recreational drugs in the off season? FFS, name another person who gets tested for that on their holidays for work?

I imagine anyone who profits from a public profile and has such a clause written into their contract would be subject to testing on their holidays?

Imagine if Kochie had a drugs clause in his contract subjecting him to testing at any time. In no way would it be inappropriate if he was then tested while on holidays (and have said contract torn up if positive).

It is all about reputation of the brand. Don't see there being an issue on that front.
As to why the accounts geek isn't subject to the same tests: (a) probably has no such clause in contract and (b) I bet we don't know who he is anyway.

Yep agree with all of that...

Especially the last sentence. Losing Ennis and Barba from their premiership winning team, on the surface of it, might seem detrimental to their chances of going back to back... But I think all too often, GF winning teams just expect to do the same things the following season, following the same formula with the same personnel, expecting it to bring the same results. But as we've seen in recent times that just doesn't happen. Opposition teams work you out. The Sharks have a chance now rejuvenate a little, change things up a bit, and they will lose nothing with Holmes at fullback. If they can somehow bring in Segeyaro, then that might enable them to come up with enough variation on how things played out in 2016 to keep opposition teams guessing...
I think the main reason it's so hard to go back-to-back is because winning a premiership also requires a fair bit of luck (needing to win at least three finals matches against usually similar quality teams). You're unlikely to be so lucky two years in a row (i.e. you're less chance of winning six or more finals matches over two years than you are of winning three or four in one year). To quote a great man, one year of finals appearances is a much smaller sample than two.

If the NRL are fair dinkum about drugs, thean every employee from the NRL would also be part of the testing policy including the CEO. At all times, not just work hours.
Seriously what a joke.

Who said he was on leave from his job? He could just as well have been at a post-GF function / trip organised by the team.

Regardless, these blokes know what they are getting into when they sign a contract.

Seriously what a joke.
Yeah I always thought these merkins looked like they were off their faces

ed4b08d55f167e5424ede6abb14e33c1

Seriously what a joke.

the "think of the children" naysayers won't be happy until the NRL sets up 16 monasteries and locks the players up so they can do nothing but train, pray and sing hymns 24/7 until game time

Dibs

sometimes i think the "think of the children" naysayers won't be happy until the NRL sets up 16 monasteries and locks the players up so they can do nothing but train, pray and sing hymns 24/7 until game time
I've never agreed with the NRL testing for rec drugs. If individual clubs wanted to do it well that's different, plenty of employers have drug testing policies for employees. However it's illegal and the children that need to be thought of are the players taking the drugs. I don't think it's about catching naughty boys out but rather trying to control the image and wellbeing of the players. It would be easy not test them and then not ever have the issue of a player testing positive, but then you would have players abusing drugs more often and more chance of them ending up like a Ben Cousins. Then the NRL would be blamed for using the players to deliver a product for fans but not showing a duty of care to these players that fill there coffers.

One issue with our current front rowers -
None are capable of giving a MOM performance. All can chip in and play a role. When I look at the dogs I think Graheme and Klemmer can put in that effort that wins you a game. Or at the sharks fifita. We still will lack that.
Of our forwards only Manu or KE is able to turn in a performance to get a MOM. Otherwise its left up to our backs.
Is this a problem if they all chip in ? Perhaps not but it is nice to have a front rower who just punishes the opposition. Its one of my concerns this season.

Stevie

I've never agreed with the NRL testing for rec drugs. If individual clubs wanted to do it well that's different, plenty of employers have drug testing policies for employees. However it's illegal and the children that need to be thought of are the players taking the drugs. I don't think it's about catching naughty boys out but rather trying to control the image and wellbeing of the players. It would be easy not test them and then not ever have the issue of a player testing positive, but then you would have players abusing drugs more often and more chance of them ending up like a Ben Cousins. Then the NRL would be blamed for using the players to deliver a product for fans but not showing a duty of care to these players that fill there coffers.

I understand, but the positive test he returned has been said was 4 days after the grand final win. Geez! I reckon he's hard done by!

Stevie

On a side note I have a flu at the moment and I got some f those pseudoephedrine cold flu tablets. It says to take at a time which I did and I am dead set trippin balls at my desk! Feck me!

Same thing happened to me when I had travel sickness tablets in Italy. It said take on but I decided to have 4 just incase. Was quite a ride home.

Ratchy

Seriously what a joke.

Barba has noone else to blame but himself. The NRL made it quite clear publicy there was gonna ba a huge crack down on testing for recreational drugs.

Stevie

Nice f**ken excuse mate.

;)

hahaha - Mate, if people were taking these and in a high pressure meeting of something you'd be in trouble. The positive is I am typing so damned fast but the downside is its literally riddled with errors.

Sudafed can get you a 2 year ban in the AFL :) I'm serious.

Stevie

Really? Well this is the same stuff. It has pseudoephedrine in it which is basically speed. If you check Sudafed these days they don't actually contain it anymore.

I got the demazin today and had to show my licence which they record! Anyway, take the recommend amount and geez. I can probably see its banned.

I have actually heard stories about the lesser professional fighting circuits with fighters taking meth etc before a fight as apparently it increases their strength a stupid amount and lowered their pain threshold. To be honest it stopped my nose running straight away but rendered me useless today so I wont use it tomorrow

Really? Well this is the same stuff. It has pseudoephedrine in it which is basically speed. If you check Sudafed these days they don't actually contain it anymore.

I got the demazin today and had to show my licence which they record! Anyway, take the recommend amount and geez. I can probably see its banned.

I have actually heard stories about the lesser professional fighting circuits with fighters taking meth etc before a fight as apparently it increases their strength a stupid amount and lowered their pain threshold. To be honest it stopped my nose running straight away but rendered me useless today so I wont use it tomorrow

There's two 'types' of Sudafed (and similar brands). One has phenyleprhine in it, and basically doesn't work. You can get Sudafed with real pseudoephedrine in it, but the pharmacist is supposed to take you name / id and cross-reference with recent other purchases in case you are setting up a meth lab.

oldmancraigy

I had a flu right before a job interview one time, took a similar product, affected me in the same way it sounds like you are being!

Suffice to say the interview didn't go well. When they told me I didn't get the job I managed to persuade them I was high on flu medication and give me another shot. They did, and all went well for the next time around.

The moral of the story: if you fail a job interview, push for a re-interview on the basis of being high. Sort of ties back in to Ben Barba in some way?