Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

lucablight

Only people dumber are the people who ignorantly assume others back the coach, when in actual fact they are providing plausible arguments. These arguments show that giving the current coach the arse without a suitable, better and available replacement, may not guarantee anymore success than what we have now.

They are often rational and intelligent people who understand that the better use and improvement of resources have far more benefit than booting the bloke with the clipboard every other year.

We are 2 points out of the top 4 FFS and still have 6 games left. Where we are at as a team will be more accurate in round 25 then round 19. And even more accurate at the conclusion of the season - whenever that may be.
We aren’t 2 points outside of the top 4. If you added another 2 points to our current tally we’d still be 5th at best.

Cloeel

Thanks scoop. In case you haven't realised it's been 9 years. You have completely missed the point. Opposition supporters don't give 2 effs about other coaches but when they acknowledge and understand all is not well with the Jekyll and Hyde side we have it doesn't take much intelligence to realise clearly there is a problem.
I sincerely hope we do make top 4 because I'm am extremely passionate supporter. Supporter for 40+ years abd a season ticket holder for 23 years..I'm also a realist..so don't come at me with ur BS

I am struggling to understand how when an opposition teams fanbase acknowledge something, how it holds any more value than anyone else's opinion?

Am I missing something?

yy_cheng

The way we play as a whole is the problem, not just Moses's game.

We have gone through this in much detail over the last 3 seasons in particular. The coach is limited and I warned that the burnout was going to happen. No team can just keep playing the collision game season on season without major turnover in personnel to keep them fresh without negative ramifications.

The coach is a one trick pony and he can't even get the defense right in all the time his been here. This squad individually is more then capable of winning the title if they were coached the right way. To late now, we will need to start again.

It is at this point impossible to know which players have been burnt out to the point of not ever being able to reach a high quality effort for long periods of time consistently again. We will only know this when the new coach comes in and the rebuild starts. That is why we need to be smart and know that our goose is cooked and make a brazen and audacious play for Suaalii now and give Gutho the kick in the head he deserves if we can get him. It doesn't matter if we don't know who the new coach is. No coach will be upset that we speared Gutho for Suaalii. In fact the new coach whoever he is will think he won the lottery.

Whoever the new coach is I hope he is a disciple of defense, starting at the ruck and line speed and he can build his squad around that.

I'm sick to death of what we have been dishing up, well forever.
I agree it's most likely the gameplan

We need to offload more and improve the desperation in defense this year

The offload tires the opposition and usually gets us to the opposition 40 for an attacking kick.

So hence spend more time in the opposition territory and less defending our try line

Since matto has been off, our offloads has decreased

And paulo has shut up shop too.

TheRam

The offload tires the opposition and usually gets us to the opposition 40 for an attacking kick.

So hence spend more time in the opposition territory and less defending our try line

Mate the team is cooked under this coach. We will have moments, but overall we will be rubbish from here on in.

lucablight

We know why it exists. We see bigger clubs having all this success and we want the same. It’s just a sense of entitlement. I’m guilty of it myself.
When a lot of people (fans) are thinking a certain way they may very well be emotional idiots who have their judgment clouded or they might actually have a point. Also we are the bigger clubs.

King-Gutho94

Matto is a big watch for me.

The bloke did SFA for 2 years all of sudden he is playing for a contract and forces his way into the NSW team while playing for that contract.

Signs a 4 year contract and misses a month of footy straight away.

Will we get the same matto as what we saw earlier in the year I hope so.

Thanks scoop. In case you haven't realised it's been 9 years. You have completely missed the point. Opposition supporters don't give 2 effs about other coaches but when they acknowledge and understand all is not well with the Jekyll and Hyde side we have it doesn't take much intelligence to realise clearly there is a problem.
I sincerely hope we do make top 4 because I'm am extremely passionate supporter. Supporter for 40+ years and a season ticket holder for 23 years..I'm also a realist..so don't come at me with ur BS
Putting the emotion aside, BA took over the club when we stunk like the proverbial bucket of prawns in the sun. The 9 years thing is spin. He has re-built the club and got us to a point where we all dreamed and never thought possible.

Now we are back where we belong, we want to go to the next level. Is he the guy to take us there ? Well of late it looks like the answer is no. So let's slow down and do this professionally and in a way that protects our brand and sponsors. If Uncle Nick wanted a new coach, he would not sack now and hope for the best. He would head hunt a coach and have him lined up before he pulls the trigger.

Why are you guys so vehemently against this process ?

The offloads were back with a vengeance against Brisbane (16 offloads). Unfortunately so were the errors (16 errors), perhaps due to the weather but just as likely due to scoreboard pressure. Last time we made more than 7 offloads was when we belted the Chooks (20 offloads) but we managed it with only 5 errors.

Go Cannnnnnnnnn-Brrrrrrrrrrrra!!!! “Oh Noes my good buddy Dennis got the bullet time to jump ship”. As I said hypocrite. Came crawling back now you are telling us real supporters how we should think and feel??? Yeah nah!!

Harsh. Pete is a quiet nice bloke.

When a lot of people (fans) are thinking a certain way they may very well be emotional idiots who have their judgment clouded or they might actually have a point. Also we are the bigger clubs.
We're bigger than the Tigers and Knights. But you're mad if you think a big club could win three wooden spoons in seven years under three different coaches.

so almost every thread in here is about BA and/or JA ?

seriously guys, give it a rest
It's in the 'stuff' category. It's topical and very exciting because just like our second week Finals loss in 2021 felt different so does this current situation with BA. The feel I get is that his days are numbered and the speculation is very interesting. I don't know about the others but I keep coming here to hopefully finally read that he has been officially sacked.

Putting the emotion aside, BA took over the club when we stunk like the proverbial bucket of prawns in the sun. The 9 years thing is spin. He has re-built the club and got us to a point where we all dreamed and never thought possible.

Now we are back where we belong, we want to go to the next level. Is he the guy to take us there ? Well of late it looks like the answer is no. So let's slow down and do this professionally and in a way that protects our brand and sponsors. If Uncle Nick wanted a new coach, he would not sack now and hope for the best. He would head hunt a coach and have him lined up before he pulls the trigger.

Why are you guys so vehemently against this process ?
When BA recently was quoted as saying on the amount of weeks we have been in the 8 I knew then he was under pressure and was using stats to give him some breathing space.

It was like @Poupou Escobar was briefing him. ;)