Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

84 Baby

How we left it to the final hour to sign a player from a club that still has finals aspirations is beyond me. There are so many players that we could have looked at for a loan only situation from clubs that have no chance of making the 8 and made a deal with that club if need be. A kind of quid pro quo situation that you lend us your quality player now and in the future lend you one of our quality players if we are out of finals contention and you have a shot or even a Harry Grant/Tigers type of scenario.

I kind of hinted at it a few months back when I suggested we look at signing Semi for a cameo just before the Aug 1 deadline but Gronk swooped in on me like the rabies infected bat that he is and wrongly shut me down telling me that August 1 was a one off due to covid and won't be happening again. But as usual the bonehead had no idea.

It may sound crazy, but I hear that this August 1 late signing deadline is here to stay, so you watch how all the smart clubs are going to start work out ways going forward to get at least one or two top flight players into their roster and really bump up their chances.

We should have been way more pro active on this, I have been waiting and watching this space for a couple of months hoping we would somehow be smarter then they other clubs for once and announce a star signing right at the death of the deadline and stun our opponents. But all we have done is taken a half arsed shot at a sort of good signing in Tapau who is playing for a club that would be stupid to let him go considering their position.

If the Storm somehow swoop in under our noses and nab him then we are an absolute useless joke of a club. I mean these overtures should have been in the works for at least a month or two. We should have made a short list of our preferred targets and what we can afford, I'm presuming we have around up to $200K free to spend and therefore a player who is normally valued at around $700-800K in August 1 would be affordable and our $200K would be enough to secure him for the rest of the season.

I mean look at the endless options of forwards we could have made a play at -

Adin Fonua-Blake
Bunty Afoa
Tohu Harris
Jarrod Wallace
Tino Fa'asuamaleaui
Klema Tuilagi
Raymond Faitala-Mariner
Tavita Pangai Junior
Daniel Saifiti
Jacob Saifiti
David Klemmer
Mat Croker
Mitchell Barnett
Tyson Frizell

I went with mostly experienced players so as they are proven and would not be over oared in the big games and will relish having a chance to play finals again where it was only a dream prior to our offer. Also I am focussing on forwards because I think that we are getting out muscled to often when we aren't primed for a big game and keep losing the ruck to often. Obviously my wet dream preference out of that lot would be Tino, who is brilliant on or off the ball, but anyone of them would give us a massive injection of quality and bolster our bench significantly.

But instead of our clubs brains trust turning no stone unturned, what do they do? Have a shot at a player that his current club will want to keep for obvious reasons. We should have been working on possible loan style players and whispering sweet lovelies into their ears ages ago. One at least would have jumped at the idea of playing with a formidable pack and a genuine shot at a title opportunity out of the blue when all was lost for his regular club weeks ago.

Oh well what else can I say. The apologists will no doubt make the typical and predictable excuses as to why we didn't or that no club would be willing to release a quality player on loan to us, but that is just nonsense. There is an upside to both parties(salary cap relief for them) and then if the player becomes upset with his current club for denying him the opportunity, especially if he misses out and sees another player get that same opportunity and wins a GF, it may cause major discontent and disharmony for those two parties down the tract. It would actually be in the targeted players current club's best interest to loan the player out and we could exploit this situation if we were smart enough, but obviously we are not.

As for who I would have in for Moses injury? 1 Russell, 6 Gutho and 7 Brown as I have mentioned in more detail in my previous post.

Just my thoughts.
Didn’t bother reading but I’m guessing “something something smart operators something bag club”.
Even if the NRL lightened rules, there’s so many moving parts that work against players moving clubs even if they want to

Gazzamatta

Actually, there has been changes. Agreed, not to the results at the end of the year as yet but changes nonetheless.

For example, would we have gotten within a dodgy penalty call of the premiers in the second week of the semis in 2019 or earlier like we did last year? That was improvement and change. Were we being talked about as a serious contentender and being in our 'premiership window' before 2020, nope - we were labelled flat-track bullies. There has been change and there has been improvement but sometimes it takes a while for that change to show itself as consistent performances and a lot less f**ken yo-yoing. And I get that 9 years is long enough, especially after we have waited for over 35 years.

Our club and our squad are a shit load better than we were 4 years ago. In fact, this is evident by the frustration that comes from all fans these days because I know that in previous years, I for one wouldnt have walked into CommBank on Friday night with any hope that we would be competitive against the premiers who have won 58 of their last 64 regular season games, let alone dreaming that we could beat them... but I did. So our expectations have increased (and our frustrations when we lose or dont perform well) and that is on the back of improvement.

No one accepts mediocrity, some of us just realise that we are still not the best run, the best financed, the best coached, the best sponsored team in the comp. And we accept that because of that, we have limitations. And it sux.
A bit like when you get back from your honeymoon with the most gorgeous woman you have ever met, to find out that your best mate just got hitched to Jennifer Hawkins.

I am lucky enough to know some people within the club and trust me, the 'club' isnt accepting mediocrity. They are constantly making changes in an attempt to find the missing ingredient. We just dont always see these changes in the public and on the field.
Just off footy for a moment. I was highly critical of our "Pre game Entertainment " last week.
Fat mans race etc, etc.
This week there was none of that. Some girls performing and on the spectators side NOT just for the suits. Crowd gifts were distributed evenly around the crowd. Even that annoying male ground announcer with his "Make Some Noise" toned it down.
Not perfect but better.
Well done to those responsible.

Chipmunk

It's an interesting time the next month or so.

The value of Moses next deal with the club is likely to be impacted without him having any input on the field. If we don't win a game, or only win one, his value to the club suddenly skyrockets to stratospheric levels to well above $1m a season. If we can manage to win a couple of games then his expected deal of around the $1m is also probably justified. If we can make the Top 4 from here without him, his value to the club diminishes somewhat.

On the other side, the value of Dylan Brown's next deal will be based on the opposite of that of Moses. Brown really needs to step up, and if we don't win a game, then Dylan's value to the club would almost be at a level of considerations of retaining Moses for whatever he wants, and telling Dylan your value to the club isn't that great any more mate and you can expect about the same sort of money if you want to stay. Whereas, if we make the Top 4, Dylan Brown could be the one commanding the big dollars and Moses told you want over $1m you should look elsewhere.

In many respects this could be a good thing for the team. It should make them turn up ready to play for each game at least. Maybe this is what we need to get this mob motivated. Jake Arthur can play a fairly simple game based around kicking and making your tackles, it's some other players that need to stand up and deliver.

Gutho, Dylbags, Matterson, Mahoney, Paulo can cover for some of what Moses provides, but I'd feel a lot more confidence of success without Moses if the coaching staff had a modicum of tactical nous. Everything we do relies on the individual brilliance of the players, rather than team work. That is going to be our biggest issue during this period for mine.

Realistically, we're at full strength except for one player. The very young Broncos team have won games without Reynolds, and Origin players. The Panthers can win games without Cleary, many sides win games without Origin players.

The next month says everything about these players and the coaching staff. They just have to make it happen, there is no other choice for mine. They have been set a challenge. Stand up and deliver or just f**k off somewhere else.

King-Gutho94

Just off footy for a moment. I was highly critical of our "Pre game Entertainment " last week.
Fat mans race etc, etc.
This week there was none of that. Some girls performing and on the spectators side NOT just for the suits. Crowd gifts were distributed evenly around the crowd. Even that annoying male ground announcer with his "Make Some Noise" toned it down.
Not perfect but better.
The ground annoucer didn't have too yell out and get the crowd to make some noise.

The players pumped the crowd up themselves with there actions in the 1st half and cleary getting sent off added to that.

TheRam

f**ken hell Ram, you whinged about Melbourne possibly signing Marty, then complained later about us going after a player whose club doesn't want to let him go. Which one merkin? Settle down and proof read your posts.

Really? Do I need to be that freaking basic and explain it in such obvious detail?

He would NOT have been my preferred option to sign for the reasons I have already explained, but since we have decided that he is, to then see a rival club swoop in at the 11th hour and sign him is embarrassing. He is OK a signing but not who I would have picked especially considering the late timing that gives us so little time to haggle and get it done.

King-Gutho94

It's an interesting time the next month or so.

The value of Moses next deal with the club is likely to be impacted without him having any input on the field. If we don't win a game, or only win one, his value to the club suddenly skyrockets to stratospheric levels to well above $1m a season. If we can manage to win a couple of games then his expected deal of around the $1m is also probably justified. If we can make the Top 4 from here without him, his value to the club diminishes somewhat.

On the other side, the value of Dylan Brown's next deal will be based on the opposite of that of Moses. Brown really needs to step up, and if we don't win a game, then Dylan's value to the club would almost be at a level of considerations of retaining Moses for whatever he wants, and telling Dylan your value to the club isn't that great any more mate and you can expect about the same sort of money if you want to stay. Whereas, if we make the Top 4, Dylan Brown could be the one commanding the big dollars and Moses told you want over $1m you should look elsewhere.

In many respects this could be a good thing for the team. It should make them turn up ready to play for each game at least. Maybe this is what we need to get this mob motivated. Jake Arthur can play a fairly simple game based around kicking and making your tackles, it's some other players that need to stand up and deliver.

Gutho, Dylbags, Matterson, Mahoney, Paulo can cover for some of what Moses provides, but I'd feel a lot more confidence of success without Moses if the coaching staff had a modicum of tactical nous. Everything we do relies on the individual brilliance of the players, rather than team work. That is going to be our biggest issue during this period for mine.

Realistically, we're at full strength except for one player. The very young Broncos team have won games without Reynolds, and Origin players. The Panthers can win games without Cleary, many sides win games without Origin players.

The next month says everything about these players and the coaching staff. They just have to make it happen, there is no other choice for mine. They have been set a challenge. Stand up and deliver or just f**k off somewhere else.
Forwards need to win the yardage battle will make it a whole lot easier for everyone else.

Our halves and backs will do nothing on the back foot.

I reckon this manly game will now be the toughest of our remaining games.

Manly cant afford a loss. Their home record is one of the best in the NRL. Missing Moses hurts us considerably .... I cant see us winning unfortunately

Chipmunk

I reckon this manly game will now be the toughest of our remaining games.

Manly cant afford a loss. Their home record is one of the best in the NRL. Missing Moses hurts us considerably .... I cant see us winning unfortunately
The real point is, that we are also in a position where we can't afford to lose. Missing Tommy Trbo hurts them considerably more. We have a better squad than them. The fact that a lot of people, including myself, probably can't see us winning is the real issue here. We just have to win though. We're just making excuses if we get beaten. It's time everyone in the joint stood up and delivered.

emjaycee

Fat mans race etc, etc.
Not perfect but better.
It probably didnt make a difference, but I sent a screenshot of your post after the Brisbane game to the club.... sshhh.

gaffer

All those idiots booing him should be ashamed. Hopefully he does well. I don’t think he’s up to it at this stage of his career but we have nobody else really.
well if he's any good he'd come out and just smash it till moses is back but if he chokes it he can just f**k the F* *cKity off

The Predictor

I am a Caseworker in the disability field, and this morning I attended a match of one of my clients at memorial Ave, where our team trains, a couple of my clients spoke to Reed Mahoney and asked if they could possibly sign a couple of autographs and even watch them play for a couple of minutes, Mahoney promised both, the to my disappointment no one bothered to do either, and to make thing worse as soon as the Wenty game was over (try time competition) I noticed the Parra boys scurrying back inside….these boys idiolise this mob and attend most of their matches, I was actually quite disappointed they didn’t have 5 minutes, one of the parents made a complaint to Joey Grima, pretty low brow shit if u ask me, says plenty about our coach and leadership

I am a Caseworker in the disability field, and this morning I attended a match of one of my clients at memorial Ave, where our team trains, a couple of my clients spoke to Reed Mahoney and asked if they could possibly sign a couple of autographs and even watch them play for a couple of minutes, Mahoney promised both, the to my disappointment no one bothered to do either, and to make thing worse as soon as the Wenty game was over (try time competition) I noticed the Parra boys scurrying back inside….these boys idiolise this mob and attend most of their matches, I was actually quite disgusted they didn’t have 5 minutes, one of the parents made a complaint to Joey Grima, pretty low brow shit if u ask me, says plenty about our coach and leadership

sad if true. You should write to the club.

I am a Caseworker in the disability field, and this morning I attended a match of one of my clients at memorial Ave, where our team trains, a couple of my clients spoke to Reed Mahoney and asked if they could possibly sign a couple of autographs and even watch them play for a couple of minutes, Mahoney promised both, the to my disappointment no one bothered to do either, and to make thing worse as soon as the Wenty game was over (try time competition) I noticed the Parra boys scurrying back inside….these boys idiolise this mob and attend most of their matches, I was actually quite disgusted they didn’t have 5 minutes, one of the parents made a complaint to Joey Grima, pretty low brow shit if u ask me, says plenty about our coach and leadership

Yes but we don't know if Mahoney forgot to mention it yet so let's not be to hard on them yet.
I know Dylan Brown always has posts on his insta helping disabled kids. I don't feel we should tarnish and rubbish the playing group. We don't know the full story here.

What?

Jake Arthur can't tackle. To be clear, that is the biggest problem he has in first grade, tackling and he has a few.
You say that, except he has made 61 tackles this year, with an efficiency rate of 88%. That's pretty good. But even last year's 87% was good. You hate his father and want them to fail, so confirmation bias means you only notice the few missed tackles. That's why we need stats, because they expose our biases.

Jake Arthur has flaws (he is inexperienced and slow), but strength and defensive technique aren't among them.