Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

IFR33K

Mahoney has needed a spell and a breather for a while now. We should have had someone there like Will Smith or recruited someone in the window period. We did nothing. So what does Arthur do? Put his son there. It’s a f**king disgrace that he is anywhere in the 17 let alone coming on as a dummy half.

yep. The obsession isn’t with JA. The point is that we aren’t putting our strongest 17 out each week to try and win this f^*king comp. Now it’s sudden death and not much has changed.

Incorrect

But with the exception of one, we do little to develop players into the NRL. Our plan appears to be lets flog our best 13/14/15 and unless one of them breaks we then rinse and repeat. I figured after the hooker situation last year and the impending loss of so many forwards at seasons end, that a big effort would happen to develop replacements. What we got was nothing. I believe its a huge failing at our club. How can this develop a one club mentality. The situation re not having a suitable back up half is diabolical. Why wasnt Perham even tried as a 5/8 in the 2s? He looked to be a natural for the position with his skills. I reckon players loose heart when they realise effort results in being ignored. This is a massive reason why I reckon change is needed and not in the form of failed and sacked assistants from elsewhere if BA is to stay. Why not a Siebold, or a Josh Hannay, or a John Morris or a Peter Wallace as assistants? Rant over. 😁
Very true. The squad now seems top heavy, the high earners are seemingly expected to do it all, so much so that were often using 2 less players than the opposition or if we do use the 16th or 17th man it's out of desperation or tokenism for a 5-7 minute cameo (interestingly, the same amount of time it takes BA to get home from work...).

Eelectrica

Just goes to show the duality of loyalty, I suppose - fans expect players to be loyal, but many fans would happily criticise a player of their own club...

I recall some of the comments made about Dylan last year - fast forward 12 months, and he is a must-sign, and no price is too big.

I'd probably offer him a million dollars, because at 22 years of age, it's scary how much improvement he still has left in his game.
To me loyalty as much anything would mean giving us a chance to at least match Melbourne's offer.

It would be real disappointing if he signed with Melbourne for less than whatever we'd be offering.

emjaycee

But with the exception of one, we do little to develop players into the NRL. Our plan appears to be lets flog our best 13/14/15 and unless one of them breaks we then rinse and repeat. I figured after the hooker situation last year and the impending loss of so many forwards at seasons end, that a big effort would happen to develop replacements. What we got was nothing. I believe its a huge failing at our club. How can this develop a one club mentality. The situation re not having a suitable back up half is diabolical. Why wasnt Perham even tried as a 5/8 in the 2s? He looked to be a natural for the position with his skills. I reckon players loose heart when they realise effort results in being ignored. This is a massive reason why I reckon change is needed and not in the form of failed and sacked assistants from elsewhere if BA is to stay. Why not a Siebold, or a Josh Hannay, or a John Morris or a Peter Wallace as assistants? Rant over. 😁
You mean like a Barrett?

emjaycee

yep. The obsession isn’t with JA. The point is that we aren’t putting our strongest 17 out each week to try and win this f^*king comp. Now it’s sudden death and not much has changed.
This is what I don't understand. Whether fans believe it or not, I reckon we are putting the 17 out there that the coach and his staff believe are our strongest 17 and best chance of winning every game.

I know that doesn't play into the narrative that many fans want or enjoy and that there will always be opinions that player X should be playing instead of player Y, but that's what fans do, we surmise and propose what we would do without the same level of knowledge that the coach and his staff have.

There is honestly no way BA is not picking the team he thinks gives us the best chance of winning.

Gazzamatta

You mean like a Barrett?
You dont believe Barrett was a failure?Seriously mate. Do you really believe a BA, Barrett combination will work? God I hope so but it appears like water and oil to me. At least its change I suppose and God knows we needed that. My belief is that BA was told to make changes and his comment that Barrett would be totally responsible for the teams A next year virtually proves it to me. Thats not a normal BA statement. How will it work? Well without someone fixing the teams D once and for all it wont matter much. Im hoping someone like Siebold or Wallace gets that job and BA makes a similar statement re whos in charge of the teams D.
Wishful thinking but hell Im an optomist 50% of the time. 😁

This is what I don't understand. Whether fans believe it or not, I reckon we are putting the 17 out there that the coach and his staff believe are our strongest 17 and best chance of winning every game.

I know that doesn't play into the narrative that many fans want or enjoy and that there will always be opinions that player X should be playing instead of player Y, but that's what fans do, we surmise and propose what we would do without the same level of knowledge that the coach and his staff have.

There is honestly no way BA is not picking the team he thinks gives us the best chance of winning.
I don't think it's that clear cut. It is a potential conflict of interest. What are the odds that BA isn't being entirely objective but more emotional? We don't know but more likely in this case than if his child wasn't involved. What are the odds that the staff he hired are giving him objective advice? Again, same situation. And how often do we see a specialist half on the bench? Not very often, in fact highly unusual. And how often is opinion not only amongst fans but also ex-players and other media people almost universally against a selection? Not that often. Against this we've got the oft-used claim that the coach and his staff know better than us and they see more too at training. But then what they're seeing at training would have to be night and day to what we see in games to even come close to justifying this.

Gazzamatta

JA in the 17 is not our best possible team. Only BA and maybe your good self sir believe that. Then its the reluctance to spread the workload. Everyone is also questioning that.
BA is a very well paid 9 year first grade coach. It should be his decision and rightly so. Lets see how lucky he gets.

Chipmunk

I honestly don't see how Makatoa can ever be picked ahead of Nathan Brown.

Gazzamatta

I honestly don't see how Makatoa can ever be picked ahead of Nathan Brown.
Maka got relegated to the 2s a few weeks back and had a massive game. 294 meters and heaps of tackles. Ive not seen Nrown do anything like that recently but he does win on experience. The issue lies in the fact that Makka is given such minimal minutes in the 1s that there is little opportunity to build his game. Im a bit of a Makka fan.

BA may think that but his decision making is flawed. I’m watching NRL360 and Braith Anasta who I rate highly tried to be as diplomatic as possible but basically said what most have been saying here. He should not be there as someone like Nathan Brown or Cartwright should be. He basically laughed at suggestions he could come on and play at lock if he needed to by Read who is a complete f**king idiot. Even Kent said that there is a big risk in not
playing a full bench of forwards against the biggest pack in the comp. I agree with him.

Gazzamatta

BA may think that but his decision making is flawed. I’m watching NRL360 and Braith Anasta who I rate highly tried to be as diplomatic as possible but basically said what most have been saying here. He should not be there as someone like Nathan Brown or Cartwright should be. He basically laughed at suggestions he could come on and play at lock if he needed to by Read who is a complete f**king idiot. Even Kent said that there is a big risk in not
playing a full bench of forwards against the biggest pack in the comp. I agree with him.
We may well get the win and I really hope we do but the toll it will take on the big minute players will be evident moving forward particularly in the tropics. Maybe this is the week BA puts his plan into action?

IFR33K

have you spoken to any fans of other clubs to see what there opinion is of ja?

have you heard what’s some are saying in there podcasts or in the media?

I actually spoke to someone employed by the club yesterday, and he had a very low opinion of ja and can’t believe he’s in grade.

honestly not sure which games you’ve been watching if you think ja is possibly in our top 17.

Chipmunk

Maka got relegated to the 2s a few weeks back and had a massive game. 294 meters and heaps of tackles. Ive not seen Nrown do anything like that recently but he does win on experience. The issue lies in the fact that Makka is given such minimal minutes in the 1s that there is little opportunity to build his game. Im a bit of a Makka fan.
This maybe true, but the coaching staff obviously doesn't have faith in Makatoa to do a job when it matters. The coaching staff had faith in Nathan Brown up to 3 months ago. I find it hard to believe that they have lost that faith in 3 months.

Nathan Brown played at least 55 minutes in the wins over Storm and Panthers. He played an enormous part in both wins. Makatoa got 7 and 12 minutes against Roosters and second match against Storm respectively and wasn't used whilst the game was in the balance. He isn't a part of the game until the match is decided.

Brown not in the team makes no f**ken sense.

IFR33K

Well said. What could he possibly do in 6 minutes?

he couldn’t even get to kellyville from parramatta in that time.

Gazzamatta

This maybe true, but the coaching staff obviously doesn't have faith in Makatoa to do a job when it matters. The coaching staff had faith in Nathan Brown up to 3 months ago. I find it hard to believe that they have lost that faith in 3 months.

Nathan Brown played at least 55 minutes in the wins over Storm and Panthers. He played an enormous part in both wins. Makatoa got 7 and 12 minutes against Roosters and second match against Storm respectively and wasn't used whilst the game was in the balance. He isn't a part of the game until the match is decided.

Brown not in the team makes no f**ken sense.
Not much does make sense mate and thats the real problem. 👍

IFR33K

Every time little Jakey has played in the halves this season, last friday night for instance. It's bad enough he's in the side but when he comes on the attack goes through him. lol yeah nah!!

it’s obvious he gets the keys to the team when in the halves.

BA is a f**king ignorant fool if he keeps his son on the bench. Mark Carroll just said on NRL360 that he has seen this before with Bozo’s kids. He stated that he felt sorry for Jake because he isn’t good enough. Ben Elias also said he should not be on the bench under any circumstances. Said it’s sudden death and that a forward should be there instead.

What would they know?