lucablight
Hopgood worse than a nuffy confirmed.Interesting he was sitting behind a nuffie in Sorensen though.
I thought Papali'i would at least be a first grader. He was only 22 with 60+ games under his belt. Murchie is 25 and only played 40 games. Not to say he can't become a solid first grader but he doesn't have Papali'i's potential.
You need backup players. If he's only signed for an extra season it's because he would expect to be worth more this time next year. He will only be 21.Very interesting signing tbh.
Why would we sign him now, as he’s already signed for 2023? Were we concerned clubs will offer him a deal, come November? I highly doubt he was ever going to leave, due to a number of reasons.
if the club thinks he has potential why only sign him for a further 12 months? You’d think a 19 yo playing regular grade in a key position would be seen as a long term prospect.
or is he signed till 24 to coincide with ba’s contract here?
We have our main two halves currently about to enter the open market. Why are we signing the likes of ja before sorting out Moses and Nrown?
We need 30 players ffs, and some of them are going to be plodders. The ones around minimum salary aren't going to stop us signing anyone.Ok. That doesn’t mean they’re leaving. All it means is they want to test their value to other clubs. But if they come back in December and say they are keen to stay, let’s hope we haven’t allocated our funds into non priority, plodders.
Are we the only club to have given one year extensions to young backup players?You don't let generational talents hit the open market mate. You just get the deal done.
If he gets the arse some merkin will have to take over.Perfect for BA.
All of them aren't any threat to take over any head coaching roles just the way BA likes it.
Do we need more coaching resources or less? The top clubs have heaps of coaches.Well we didn't tip this bloke. I see Murph is hangin in.
The extra year is something the club gives in exchange for something the player gives up. What this means is less money per year in the earlier years of the contract.Likewise with your synopsis of the Lane signing, I think all the blokes we've got long term were signed at least 1 year too many, especially given their age. Matto for 4 years looks dumber by the day, Lane needs to show consistency, Jnr I can almost wear it, but 1 less year or an option either side in the clubs favour would have been preferable. RCG is the one I like so far, he's locked in long term but took his game to greater heights this year. If he can maintain that level for 2 more seasons that would be ace... Gutho is probably a year too long...
Drown and Moses need the long term investment, not some of the aforementioned other blokes...
Well his coach obviously thought so.Hopgood worse than a nuffy confirmed.
Its never about numbers mate. Quality and succession planning is where its at. We do need a good D man. Lets hope this guy is a diamond in the rough.Do we need more coaching resources or less? The top clubs have heaps of coaches.
How many premiership rings has that nuffie got?Interesting he was sitting behind a nuffie in Sorensen though.
Are we the only club to have given one year extensions to young backup players?
Yeah, like I said I think Hopgood and Murchie will both start this year. I also think Hopgood is a good chance of playing for Queensland either 2023 or 2024So do we think Murchie goes straight into the starting edge, for Papali'i?
And Hopgood gets the starting middle "fluffer" spot (that was Nuikore's) before Matterson comes on after 20mins?
Some of you blokes have lost your common sense and perspective. Don't reply, I'm giving myself a holiday. See yas in preseason. I love youse all.
Yeah I wasn’t keen on him. Now he’ll no doubt he banned from the NRL anyway.
he’s dating one of our nrlw girls. Met her on Monday morning at the fan day, absolute stunner. He must have something going for him looking at the girls he pulls for someone who seems to be an out and out flog