Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

gaffer

I don't get our wingers

The Panthers can play new wingers and they alwaya makes ground whereas ours gets Dominates. Even the little fb who played wing for Panthers rucking out was v good.
Sivo looks like he hits a wall when coming out of our 1/4

Pazza

To be fair, though - Gutherson plays to his price tag.

Moses wants over a million dollars a year, and is the least clutch halfback in the NRL.

in fairness to moses i dont even think they train situational football, these guys dont even review attack as quoted by gutho and dont teach the players the rules of the game as quote by joey grima on the TCT podcast.

i just get the impression BA doesnt do all that is required like a coach like bellamy or robinson

Chipmunk

in fairness to moses i dont even think they train situational football, these guys dont even review attack as quoted by gutho and dont teach the players the rules of the game as quote by joey grima on the TCT podcast.

i just get the impression BA doesnt do all that is required like a coach like bellamy or robinson
Good points. Attention to detail is definitely not something you can describe about the team/club.

emjaycee

Haven't seen any comments but did anyone else notice the change to our attacking formations with Moses and Drown playing next to each other alot more than previously and on both sides of the field.

Might be due to not having the edge backrowers of last year available or could be a tweak in our attack to give Drown more chance to run it.

Gazzamatta

Yeah I remember that podcast with now dumped, special guest, Joey Grima. The TCT boys asked, given the ever evolving rules, is there an emphasis on ensuring juniors are up to date with the rules? Short answer. No! Lol. It floored me. Little wonder he was replaced as special guest by Poos @Poupou Escobar s mate, Spiro.

Gazzamatta

Haven't seen any comments but did anyone else notice the change to our attacking formations with Moses and Drown playing next to each other alot more than previously and on both sides of the field.

Might be due to not having the edge backrowers of last year available or could be a tweak in our attack to give Drown more chance to run it.
Yep. Sure did. Brown to Moses for his try. Definate changes. Just a few lump heads stuffing it up. D looks just as crap though.

Exsilium

Hodgson was a bizarre decision. Shot knees, old and slow.

On his day, he's a very good nine but he's way off the mark right now. He needs relief on either side of the half to be anywhere near effective.

Chipmunk

Hodgson is the most disappointing of them all. He missed 8 tackles last night and his service was too erratic from dummy half.

Hodgo would be a decent back up. Asking him to play 80 beggars belief. I still reckon coach has someone in mind but it might take 2 or 3 years until hes ready.
Tackle Efficiency at 84% or worse for both matches. Having to play 80 minutes has to contribute to this. He averaged only 3 missed tackles per game in 2021.

eels_fan

The wrist slitting on this page is as hilarious as it is stupid.

we’ve lost 2 games by 4 points, against 2 teams that basically every pundit in the world tipped would finish higher than us this year.

I’m disappointed in our D as you should never lose a game scoring 26, but it’s blatantly obviously the loss of Lane, Ice & Matto has totally farked with our defensive system on the edges. Brown is lost without Lane, and Matto is generally terrific in D.

we’ve got a bloody tough run, it’s plausible we go into the tigers on Easter Monday at 0-5 but I have a feeling we’ll jag 2 of the next 3.

even if it was only 1, with Lane & Matto back I think our defence improves markedly and so too does Dylan’s involvement.

it’s not panic stations by any means.

and on the Moses, he was real good last night. He’s become the whipping boy for some of you because of his pay packet, but within 3 years there won’t a half in the comp under $1m the way the cap is increasing and the lack of halves coming through.

anyone willing to let Moses walk because he’s getting $1.2m instead of $1m has to realise the next up is Jake Arthur who would probably then have his salary tripled to $500k.

so would you rather upgrade Moses by $200k or Arthur $300k?

Moses stays, gets paid what he is worth in a supply and demand market.

Tackle Efficiency at 84% or worse for both matches. Having to play 80 minutes has to contribute to this. He averaged only 3 missed tackles per game in 2021.
But @Poupou Escobar says it's ok not to use any bench options or give them extra minutes to give our middles a break...

In reality, Hodgson would be best for 30-50 mins either starting or off the bench. It's a massive recruitment fail to not have the other dunny half and middle defence minutes covered by a dedicated option in the top 30 squad.