Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

You tried switching activities or what might see counter intuitive but decrease intensity but increase duration (fat needs time to breakdown, not necessarily intensity)

I've been doing the HIT thing for a few months, and I feel really good - but the weight is not coming off.

I've come to accept I'm a big guy - I'm actually very healthy, and I'm actively trying to lose weight, but it just doesn't seem to be happening.

But I agree with Bazal- people shouldn't make excuses.

I also think we should not judge people as much as we do - walk a mile in their shoes, if you will.

Going by hindy111's post, I deserve to be fat because of lifestyle choices; however, I have fought extremely hard my entire life to lose weight, and nothing is working, and I find this concept that "You're fat because you don't look after yourself" wrong and dangerous.

It's simply not as easy as saying that one is fat because they eat poorly/don't exercise/are lazy.

I was asking why thin people, who are often think due to genetics, get a free pass from criticism, but an overweight person gets chastised for being fat.

What I was pointing at is people get knicknames, with friends or in workplace. - Shorty or sticks/noodles based on physical appearance.
But if gave someone the name lard arse it would be seen as cruel..... Sure there are overweight people who cant help it. But i'd say a higher percentage of overweight people eat to much and barely exercise. While someone with a big nose or short can not actually change it. Same as bald men. Or people with glasses.[/QUOTE]

Oh, for sure - there are heaps of fat people who eat KFC for breakfast, Macca's for lunch, and Domino's for dinner.

And they shouldn't make excuses.

oink oink

pig.jpg
IMG_0459.JPG

And I'm sorry to drag this thread off topic.

It struck a nerve with me because I've been judged because of how I look for many, many years, and I reckon the thought process of those people had usually been that I eat poorly and am lazy.

Truth is, I love exercise and sport, and I love eating healthy. It makes me feel good.

But, unfortunately, my body seems to have reached a plateau.

Unfortunately for me, people still like to jump to their own conclusions shout me, and while it shouldn't hurt, it does.

That's all true.

I agree with it.

I think society needs to show some more compassion towards people.

Personally I think showing concern for the health of others is compassionate, tbh.

I absolutely hate seeing the overweight dudes come into the gym and the roid munching body builder types sniggering at them, or the fit girls pointing and giggling. Get absolutely f**ked. This bloke (or girl) is actively trying to look after themselves. Shut the f**k up and either leave them to it or help them out....

Ultimately my real point is that it shouldn't be wrong to be concerned for our health as a society. Whatever the reason people are overweight, the fact is way too many people are, and they're dying every single day. And yeah, maybe some people only lose 5 or 10kg. But that's another thing I hate and I hear it reasonably often. "I only lost 10kg, what's the point?" The point is you lost 10kg! The point is you're exercising. Even if it doesn't decrease your weight, it increases your health every single time, which decreases the risk of heart problems, liver and kidney problems, many types of cancer, stroke, and so on.

I just think everyone should eat well and exercise when they can. I don't think everyone should be an athlete.

phantom eel

Skinny people die too Baz!

So do "fit" people.

Each to their own imo. Evangelical gym junkies, sugar-free converts, paleo wankers etc can all go and get f**ked though.

I've been doing the HIT thing for a few months, and I feel really good - but the weight is not coming off.

I've come to accept I'm a big guy - I'm actually very healthy, and I'm actively trying to lose weight, but it just doesn't seem to be happening.

But I agree with Bazal- people shouldn't make excuses.

I also think we should not judge people as much as we do - walk a mile in their shoes, if you will.

That's the most important thing. There are many reasons people weigh what they do, but so long as they're healthy for the most part, that's the main thing.

You're a big dude. Should just smash the weights and get massive :p

Haynzy

I eat fairly healthily and do some exercise but probably not enough, people tell me that I'm not fat but I reckon I'm overweight. I've just been told by the Dr that my blood pressure is too high and that I need to lose weight. So I'm going to have to make some changes, the hard part is knowing where to make them.

Skinny people die too Baz!

So do "fit" people.

Each to their own imo. Evangelical gym junkies, sugar-free converts, paleo wankers etc can all go and get f**ked though.

How many "skinny" people die from preventable diseases and disorders as compared to unhealthily overweight people?

Why is the life expectancy in a country like Japan, with a very healthy diet and a big focus on keeping fit, so much higher than much of the world?

Too many people take their health for granted. Yeah, we're all gonna die, but f**k I'd rather get to 85 than shuffle off thanks to a heart attack at 50

I eat fairly healthily and do some exercise but probably not enough, people tell me that I'm not fat but I reckon I'm overweight. I've just been told by the Dr that my blood pressure is too high and that I need to lose weight. So I'm going to have to make some changes, the hard part is knowing where to make them.

Personally after my surgeries and related bullshittery I got to 105kg, and I found a reasonable run every day that I could, a few weights to help boost metabolism, no junk food or soft drink and reduced portion sizes worked out well. If you only need to drop a few kg you don't really need to do anything drastic at all. I dropped 20kg in a year just doing that.

That's the most important thing. There are many reasons people weigh what they do, but so long as they're healthy for the most part, that's the main thing.

You're a big dude. Should just smash the weights and get massive :p

Haha!

One of my mates said the same thing! He said with my frame, I could hit the weights and become massive!

Haha!

One of my mates said the same thing! He said with my frame, I could hit the weights and become massive!

Well I mean, I'm not a personal trainer by any means, but I do tend to notice that the bigger framed guys tend to drop more paunch (so to speak) when they lift lots of weights. Building muscle speeds up the metabolism so I guess for naturally big guys getting bigger is the way to do it or something.

I dunno, I'm a centimetre under 6 foot and usually weigh about 87kg....I have no experience smashing weights lol

Haynzy

Personally after my surgeries and related bullshittery I got to 105kg, and I found a reasonable run every day that I could, a few weights to help boost metabolism, no junk food or soft drink and reduced portion sizes worked out well. If you only need to drop a few kg you don't really need to do anything drastic at all. I dropped 20kg in a year just doing that.

Yeah, portion size is where it's at for me. I don't touch soft drinks and hardly eat any sugar but when my Mrs makes a great feed it's so hard to say no to seconds.
I really want to exercise more. I used to go to the gym three times a week and smash out a great power lifting program but nowadays I struggle to find the time. I hate running with a passion but I need to do something.

Haynzy

Well I mean, I'm not a personal trainer by any means, but I do tend to notice that the bigger framed guys tend to drop more paunch (so to speak) when they lift lots of weights. Building muscle speeds up the metabolism so I guess for naturally big guys getting bigger is the way to do it or something.

I dunno, I'm a centimetre under 6 foot and usually weigh about 87kg....I have no experience smashing weights lol

Strength based training over body building is supposed to be where it's at.
Lift heavy; high intensity, low reps and build strength rather than lighter weights with higher reps that build puffy muscle that isn't as strong.

Yeah, portion size is where it's at for me. I don't touch soft drinks and hardly eat any sugar but when my Mrs makes a great feed it's so hard to say no to seconds.
I really want to exercise more. I used to go to the gym three times a week and smash out a great power lifting program but nowadays I struggle to find the time. I hate running with a passion but I need to do something.

I'm not big on running but I found when I started I'd try and go the gym when footy or cricket or something was on the telly. Jump on the treadmill or cross trainer, watch sport or whatever and run. It wasn't quite like I was running, in a way, because I was distracted

Strength based training over body building is supposed to be where it's at.
Lift heavy; high intensity, low reps and build strength rather than lighter weights with higher reps that build puffy muscle that isn't as strong.

Yeah that's basically what I normally do. I can't do some exercises on medical advice (squats and a lot of that kind of standing free lifting being the main ones, thanks to my legs) so I depend on machines quite a bit. Which works fine because I don't want to build much muscle, just strength and fitness. Normally I'll do 5 reps at a reasonably high weight (say 60-70kg for targeted machines) and just go until I can't, lol.

Haynzy

5 x 5 until your weights stop going up, then you go to 3 x 5 and eventually 3 x 3.

Starting Strength by Mark Rippetoe is a great book.