Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

84 Baby

You'd think eventually he'll cop some kind of suspension on the disrepute angle. I suspect somewhere between 2 and 4 weeks.

It appears the matter will be resolved in 3 weeks time.

NRL aware of this, stand him down this arvo, matter resolved, can come back to play the week after resolved.
You don’t know what has happened or the circumstances it happened under. Why are people fixated on suspending him now?
I would imagine he has given the club his version along with detail of charges levelled against him. If they were going to suspend him based on the info, they wouldn’t have picked him yesterday.
The club/Brown have probably provided same to NRL and while Brown and club have vested interest in him not being suspended, it still seems unlikely they’d come to a different conclusion.

Chipmunk

You don’t know what has happened or the circumstances it happened under. Why are people fixated on suspending him now?
I would imagine he has given the club his version along with detail of charges levelled against him. If they were going to suspend him based on the info, they wouldn’t have picked him yesterday.
The club/Brown have probably provided same to NRL and while Brown and club have vested interest in him not being suspended, it still seems unlikely they’d come to a different conclusion.
I was just saying what was going to happen, not what should happen.

Matty Bhoy

If this turns out to be accurate, do you think we should tear up his contract?
No I don’t. Personally I’d prefer people to learn from their mistakes. I’m not sure how, someone else will have a better idea whether that be a course or meeting with people who have been affected.

Frank Burge

I guess no fault stand down is for any charge where a woman is involved , to hell with the 11+ year sentence, by the way I don’t condone violence against women but sounds like a 2 week suspension instead of now waiting for it to be finalised ( could be rest of the season)

Delboy

what’s so disgraceful about it? Unless she’s 14.

ben ikin knocked up Bennetts daughter and married her. Is that disrespectful too?
It’s disgraceful because as usual it was used to knock the Arthur family and they used a young girl to do it. I know you have a set against the Rhinos and BA but justifying what they said isn’t good.

Soto

I wonder if this is a result of some influential figures in clubland wanting to win a game of footy on Monday instead of allowing the judicial system deal with the facts. Looks like the case is weak and also have lessened the police reporting requirements.
As usual policy on the run by the NRL. The NRL is consistently inconsistent. Fwits

It's just been a merkin of a year for us as a club.
Started with the Matterson drama. Then the whole will Moses signing crap. Lane injured in trials and then again. RCG injured, Grieg out for the year. That's some major long term injuries accompanied by plenty of others missing games.
And now the Dylan saga. The seasons a write off.

I wonder if this is a result of some influential figures in clubland wanting to win a game of footy on Monday instead of allowing the judicial system deal with the facts. Looks like the case is weak and also have lessened the police reporting requirements.
As usual policy on the run by the NRL. The NRL is consistently inconsistent. Fwits

We have 3 games we need to win before the bye. I still think we are capable of that. If we managed to win them going into the bye then have bsicaly a fit squad and hopefully Dylan back I reckon we will make some serious noise.

Issue right now is if we drop one or two of them. And that's certainly possible.

IFR33K

It’s disgraceful because as usual it was used to knock the Arthur family and they used a young girl to do it. I know you have a set against the Rhinos and BA but justifying what they said isn’t good.

I haven’t mentioned much about the rhinos tbh.

I don’t recall reading much comments apart from people saying he’s dating her. If there was any other dirty comments made I’m not sure. And if there was I would say it’s disgraceful.

A 16 yo girl having a boyfriend isn’t uncharted waters. It’s been happening for years, and 16 year olds can actually get married.

and the knocking of the Arthur family has only been brought on by ba himself, with the ‘rapid’ rise of ja.

Incorrect

Started with the Matterson drama. Then the whole will Moses signing crap. Lane injured in trials and then again. RCG injured, Grieg out for the year. That's some major long term injuries accompanied by plenty of others missing games.
Such a shame because apart from Souths, who we soundly beat, the comp is wide open.

We won't make the 8 from here....it's a bridge too far IMO

Soto

And we signed Momoisea

emjaycee

I was thinking earlier whether an influential media figure with ties to our next opponent had any comments to make about standing Brown down or not.