Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Anderson famously responded to the Qn "can you pinpoint what turned the team around ?" By saying "I don't know".

BOOM that gave his haters purchase and from then on LOL! he had no f**king idea.

here's an urban myth for ya...not sure how gospel this is but here goes..

Just before the GF Parra hired Peter Sharp to be our AC for 2010, Sharpie turned up at the GF Captains run where the players were playing touch footy and having a good ole laugh whilst DA stood back and watched, PS went up to DA and said...what's going on here? DA apparently shrugged his shoulders and said, well it's been working for them for 2 months why change now?..PS's reaction was apparently gobsmacked and couldn't believe the players weren't zoned in with what was going to happen in 24 hours.

anyway...I can't even remember where I heard this but it was interesting nevertheless.

Just before the GF Parra hired Peter Sharp to be our AC for 2010, Sharpie turned up at the GF Captains run where the players were playing touch footy and having a good ole laugh whilst DA stood back and watched, PS went up to DA and said...what's going on here? DA apparently shrugged his shoulders and said, well it's been working for them for 2 months why change now?..PS's reaction was apparently gobsmacked and couldn't believe the players weren't zoned in with what was going to happen in 24 hours.

anyway...I can't even remember where I heard this but it was interesting nevertheless.
Did the players make their own way to the game as well??

no they didn't...

but a certain X factor did forget his football boots and realised when he opened his bag to pull them out..

there was a police escort to get those boots to homebush from Northmead before kick off...

quality moment.
I think it showed he’s not really a mental giant, and what’s happened to him since has proven it.

True or not, the only team that could beat us on the day had a stacked roster. So as much as his coaching style may be brought into question by these rumours, he had a good coaching record both at the Warriors and St Helens.

This weekend is in his honour and I think he deserves a :thumbup_tone3: .

Incorrect

no they didn't...

but a certain X factor did forget his football boots and realised when he opened his bag to pull them out..

there was a police escort to get those boots to homebush from Northmead before kick off...

quality moment.
He should have asked to borrow a pair from Craig Bellamy. That's what Ricky Stuart did on GF day in 1989 when he forgot his boots...

Gazzamatta

You have cherry picked what Mr Burns said and taken it out of context. As did eveyone else. I recall these pages repeatedly echoed the words “he said it”, each and evey time that I tried to justify context.

It was 2008 and the government of the day was proposing a significant increase in poker machine turnover tax. Mr Burns was the spokesman of all NSW pokie den leagues clubs and was lobbying hard against it, as (they claimed) it would spell the end of the NRL teams.

Bulldog Ritchie then made the lack of confidence by Mr Burns in the NRL and specifically the Eels future as the headline, as it was the time that the Telecraps fav Spagnolo was about to make his move.

The rest is fish n chip paper. Up to you to decide if Spagnolo riding in on his white horse was to save us or ultimately f**k us for nefarious means. Who ultimately, for better or for worse, had the club’s interests at heart ?

Regardless of his reasons Gronky, his petulance to think he could say such a thing and people would continue to hail the emperor was niave in the extreme. He thought he was untouchable. He wasnt for better or worse.

Hindmarshisgod2

I call bullshit on this and the other comments about him not knowing how they turned it around.

DA probably didn't want to look like he was an arrogant prick and stayed humble.

I went to most home games back then as I had membership, and I can see how well drilled they were just from the pre match warm up, let alone the game....in all other seasons they looked sloppy prior to DA, and there is one thing I've learnt in my 40 years of watching footy, you can pretty much tell the outcome of any game simply by watching the pre game warm up. They were on fire under DA. He deserves all the credit. Hell, he also was the one who moved hayne to fullback and punted finch mid season.

DA was the best coach since Smith.

I bleed blue & gold

JH played the first 7 or 8 rounds at 5/8th and in the centers. IIRC he took an intercept V the Chooks in the centers to score our only try in a Friday night match.

True or not, the only team that could beat us on the day had a stacked roster. So as much as his coaching style may be brought into question by these rumours, he had a good coaching record both at the Warriors and St Helens.

This weekend is in his honour and I think he deserves a :thumbup_tone3: .

TOTES..

oldmancraigy

I call bullshit on this and the other comments about him not knowing how they turned it around.

DA probably didn't want to look like he was an arrogant prick and stayed humble.

Agreed on the first part.

You haven't set a real high bar for the 2nd part though... wasn't Hages the only coach between Smith and Anderson??
(Or did you mean he IS the best since Smith? As in better than all those since?)

I went to most home games back then as I had membership, and I can see how well drilled they were just from the pre match warm up, let alone the game....in all other seasons they looked sloppy prior to DA, and there is one thing I've learnt in my 40 years of watching footy, you can pretty much tell the outcome of any game simply by watching the pre game warm up. They were on fire under DA. He deserves all the credit. Hell, he also was the one who moved hayne to fullback and punted finch mid season.

never said he never deserved credit mate..

and you not believing it has as much credibility as you thinking our current coach is just a bush coach.

you're welcome to your opinion.