Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

FMD… our draw this season is the gift that keeps on giving
Vs Scum on Thursday night
Vs Sharks on early Friday night
Vs Smugs on Thursday night
Vs Broncos in Darwin
Vs Knights on early Friday night
Vs Cows anytime doesn’t really matter
Vs Tits anytime doesn’t really matter
Vs Rorters anytime doesn’t really matter
No home games vs decent crowd drawers Tigers or Souths or at least Dolphins who may have drawn bit extra interest.
The upside is we should have better luck next year, due to a statistical concept I like to call 'reversion to mean'.

T.S Quint

Probably depends how these numbers are calculated but there could be a bit of a message there for The Eels hierarchy. Cant believe we are so low with the best ground and best supporters.

Yeah, nah.
Have you seen the Rooster's ground? That's the best ground in Sydney. Probably why their attendance figures are so high this year.

Best supporters? Well, that's always debatable.

Glenneel

If young Mrthur develops such as his talent thus far suggests could it be another, sign Cleary to keep Cleary scenario?
Marthur has shown real talent, had 4 try assists in JF game played last week and think picked for schoolboys wasn't he? There appear to be several boys in JF side (& NSW Cup who are JF eligible) who could come thru next year and year after. Could be early 80s again when our backline was nearly all home grown BUT imo we need better coach.

Webster, NZ coach, seems like a very good coach & has the poly boys looking eager and relaxed during games, not like us who seem frantic at times. He'd be my pick and we may be able to get him in '25. Club better start inquiring now!!!

Glenneel

NRL gave us some absolute garbage timeslots.

While also not having our biggest crowd drawer in the Tigers at Commbank.

We also didnt get Souths at home which may have been a club directive considering our record against them but still.

2 x Thursday Nights including the Panthers one like ffs - Penrith at Commbank should either be Sunday Arvo or worst a Friday Night 8pm.
2 x 6pm Friday night games against Cronulla & Newcastle - Like how are the opposition fans supposed to get to the ground at that time on a Friday.

Knights fans do actually travel so a 5:30pm Saturday would have been perfect for them.

1 x Sunday night when its smack bang middle of winter against the Titans like seriously thats just stupid - 2pm Sunday or Saturday and you probably get 17/18k.

5 out of 11 home games with shit timeslots.

Then we had the Cowboys who are a never big drawer in one of our two friday night prime time slots. Like seriously what a joke.
Plus Darwin early in year, why not June when may be cooler and not so humid, with a 5 day turnaround I think, plus several other 5 day turnarounds against quality opposition.

TheRam

Marthur has shown real talent, had 4 try assists in JF game played last week and think picked for schoolboys wasn't he? There appear to be several boys in JF side (& NSW Cup who are JF eligible) who could come thru next year and year after. Could be early 80s again when our backline was nearly all home grown BUT imo we need better coach.

Webster, NZ coach, seems like a very good coach & has the poly boys looking eager and relaxed during games, not like us who seem frantic at times. He'd be my pick and we may be able to get him in '25. Club better start inquiring now!!!

Highlighted bit I agree wholeheartedly.

The other bit I have heard a thousand times before. I wouldn't be counting my ducks just yet. Is M. Arthur small, medium or big for a DH? If he is on the smaller side, the odds are against him and he wouldn't be ready at best till he is 22-23 years old if ever.

Gazzamatta

NRL gave us some absolute garbage timeslots.

While also not having our biggest crowd drawer in the Tigers at Commbank.

We also didnt get Souths at home which may have been a club directive considering our record against them but still.

2 x Thursday Nights including the Panthers one like ffs - Penrith at Commbank should either be Sunday Arvo or worst a Friday Night 8pm.
2 x 6pm Friday night games against Cronulla & Newcastle - Like how are the opposition fans supposed to get to the ground at that time on a Friday.

Knights fans do actually travel so a 5:30pm Saturday would have been perfect for them.

1 x Sunday night when its smack bang middle of winter against the Titans like seriously thats just stupid - 2pm Sunday or Saturday and you probably get 17/18k.

5 out of 11 home games with shit timeslots.

Then we had the Cowboys who are a never big drawer in one of our two friday night prime time slots. Like seriously what a joke.
All valid points KG.
Ffs Gazza!

TheRam

Yeah, nah.
Have you seen the Rooster's ground? That's the best ground in Sydney. Probably why their attendance figures are so high this year.

Best supporters? Well, that's always debatable.

Mate they are infamous for being the worst supporters. The bump in their crowds was predicted and expected till the new stadium is broken in and the curiosity is gone. But being such a great stadium, even they should be keeping some of the bump in crowds that they have gotten.

That's why the Rabbitohs are so keen to break their current contract at the Olympic Stadium and go to SFS instead. They know that they would blow away anything the Roosters got as an average and the Roosters fear this the most. Becoming the second fiddle at your own home ground that you think and tell everyone is yours and only yours would be very hard for Politis and Co to take.

I and thousands of other RL supporters however would be stoked and rub it in the faces of those Cocky(pun intended) arrogant supporters and club. I think that they have forgotten that it is a public asset and they are just mere tenants like everyone else that wants to hire it.

Those poor brave Roosters, how will they ever manage?

I don’t think we can know this unless we know how much we paid for every merkin. But after four straight years in the finals it was inevitable that the salary cap would bite. I think lean years are unavoidable for most clubs, and this was ours. Whether we’ve made mistakes with roster management will become evident over multiple years, not just based on a 50% win rate in a single year.

I meant it more in the sense that we allowed quality players to go elsewhere, and replaced them with bargain players.

Not one of the players we signed has the same quality as Niukore, or Papali'i.

Doorey is probably the closest, as he is a pretty good runner of the ball.

Highlighted bit I agree wholeheartedly.

The other bit I have heard a thousand times before. I wouldn't be counting my ducks just yet. Is M. Arthur small, medium or big for a DH? If he is on the smaller side, the odds are against him and he wouldn't be ready at best till he is 22-23 years old if ever.

He's skinny, but he's only just a kid.

He has shown he has a great footy brain, and a great skill set.

Soto

Blayke Brailey who is a very good DH was super skinny when he first came on the scene. Has a good footy brain and has continued to bulk up. Seen him bowled over many times in his first few years but courageous and tough and the more he bulks up the more confident he will get.
Do any of the good judges think it could be similar for MArthur?

I meant it more in the sense that we allowed quality players to go elsewhere, and replaced them with bargain players.

Not one of the players we signed has the same quality as Niukore, or Papali'i.

Doorey is probably the closest, as he is a pretty good runner of the ball.
I don't think we had the choice to keep everyone. It's not like the club didn't know how good Papali'i, Mahoney and Niukore are. Even Kaufusi played 49 games for us over '21-'22. They were all top 17 mainstays and were in demand from other clubs for a reason. I doubt our club thought they would be easy to replace. We just knew we had a bunch of players off contract and had to prioritise which ones deserved the big money. Honestly, I think we made the right choices. Keeping everyone wasn't an option. Not for us and not for other strong clubs.

Hopgood was an inspired signing though, and unlike Papali'i, didn't want to wait to test the market in November.

He's skinny, but he's only just a kid.

He has shown he has a great footy brain, and a great skill set.
Yep, let's not forget Marthur is only 18 this year. He still has another year of SG Ball eligibility.

Here's Jake Friend on debut (jersey #9), also aged 18. He never had much skill and was also a midget, but as we see in this video, he was more solid than Marthur:

Anyway, no merkin has to debut at 18 to become a first grader, especially not ones who defend in the middle. Marthur has plenty of time.

The Predictor

FMD the hatreds real isn't it?
Not hatred, just sick of hearing same voice give those embarrassingly ridiculous thoughts after every game, where other coaches rip in, u have to prod this guy with a stick, to get anything close to an analysis that is not nonsensical, how long u wanna keep him ???