Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

we're all aware that this is a pipe dream right?...
It is because players like JAC will only go to clubs like Tigers, Dogs who will pay overs. Or Brave Roosters because he will go there for a "pay cut" because he's always admired Robbo or some excuse.
Of course mate, we have Morgan Harper coming instead, but let us dream for a few more hours.
JFC I hope he never sees NRL. Well he might if we have injuries before 30 June I guess. Eew.

TheRam

Look i probably would actually.

I think he is a bit of a wanker but i think we need to take a risk/punt somewhere. I think its probably worth the roll the dice.

Move Russell into the centres inside the Fox. Would be my plan.

Then Simmonson is a backup and Morgan Harper is surplus to requirements.

This is why you don't sign crap like Morgan. There is almost always someone of quality available that comes up out of the blue. By filling up and spending valuable salary cap money on shite like Morgan it harms your chances of getting the quality when it is available.

Once you get the quality that will actually make a positive difference to your roster, then if there is enough funds you sign the dross. You don't ever do it the other way around like we have of late. Dross is always available, so there is never a fear of not finding it. It will find you. Managers are always trying to offload their crap clients to different clubs and that will never change.

Who the f**k is running this joint. Honestly I could do their job in my sleep and even now that I don't even watch the games like I used to. Where stocking a football roster, not mining a hurtling space asteroid for rare and exotic magic minerals ffs!

Ado-Carr in our team would be a revelation and we should have gone for him the first time around. I have said this before. Never look at a winger or outside back for that matter who plays at a sh*t club and judge him on his bad performances. Outside back especially smaller ones will always look bad at times in crap teams. You need to look at what they do right and see how they move when the team is playing well and how they react then. When they are proven players like JAC, then you can basically ignore almost everything negative that they do while at the crap club, unless they are veterans right at the end of their career and or injury riddled or prone.

Seeing JAC is still in his prime years(28) and not injury riddled or prone, if we could get him we would be transforming our backline with some real speed and strike out wide. Something we haven't had for years. It would truly make a massive difference to our defense too. Remember how good a defender JAC was at the Storm due to his superior speed the Storm could compress(something we love to do) but as soon as the opposition would try and throw a cut out pass past JAC, he would quickly turn and round them up. Something we can at present almost never do with our wingers. In a quality roster space on the flank is a mirage when Ado-Carr is there.

If we could get JAC, then all we need is a strong carrier of the ball to help with the hit ups in the first 2 or 3 carries in our sets. I know Russell playing centre isn't that and Sivo is to lazy, so we will still have that problem, but at least we will have a real point of difference in strike power out wide and like I said, our defense should also improve. Who knows, Russell may end up getting stronger too and surprise us all with what he can do. I think he is more a centre anyway then he is a winger.

King-Gutho94

Take Matto out of the Top 30 and you're losing a lot of experience. As much as he copped it first few rounds for his dumb arse decision, we quickly realised how much we missed him when he came back.
Surely Lussick & Hands aren't costing us more then 500-600k combined on the cap for next year.

Cartwright took unders to stay.

Hopgood probs got an upgrade.

How much is Dylan's & Moses new contract increase next year affected the cap.

And is the Salary cap increasing after what happened with the CBA.

TheRam

Surely Lussick & Hands aren't costing us more then 500-600k combined on the cap for next year.

Cartwright took unders to stay.

Hopgood probs got an upgrade.

How much is Dylan's & Moses new contract increase next year affected the cap.

And is the Salary cap increasing after what happened with the CBA.

If we really want to sign JAC and he wants to come to Parra, we should not have much trouble signing him without needing to lose any real quality to do it. Especially if he is on the outer and the Dogs are willing to carry some freight on the deal too.

Dogs have no half and no boppers. You reckon he's going to come for nothing and they pay some of he freight ?

King-Gutho94

The fact that Weidler who is Pro-Gus released that article suggests to me Gus is pushing behind the scenes & trying offload to him.

Yep MON should be on the phone to his manager today asking what is going with JAC on and sell a plan to get him here next year.

The fact that Weidler who is Pro-Gus released that article suggests to me Gus is pushing behind the scenes & trying offload to him.

Yep MON should be on the phone to his manager today asking what is going with JAC on and sell a plan to get him here next year.

I'm sure it'll take 4 meetings and a signature from our chairman to instigate an approach to his manager.

#processesprocesses

Delboy

Well, the committee works on recruitment says let’s have a couple of meetings to see if we should approach his manager, then after that come back with a salary figure and we can discuss that after agreeing to a time for the meeting.Basically seems the recruitment team is so busy organising meetings and discussions they probably don’t have time for actual recruiting.

King-Gutho94

Well, the committee works on recruitment says let’s have a couple of meetings to see if we should approach his manager, then after that come back with a salary figure and we can discuss that after agreeing to a time for the meeting.Basically seems the recruitment team is so busy organising meetings and discussions they probably don’t have time for actual recruiting.
Paralyzed by process

This is why you don't sign crap like Morgan. There is almost always someone of quality available that comes up out of the blue. By filling up and spending valuable salary cap money on shite like Morgan it harms your chances of getting the quality when it is available.

Once you get the quality that will actually make a positive difference to your roster, then if there is enough funds you sign the dross.
You have to sign dross to fill your 28 man squad. You can’t refuse to sign backups just because you don’t want to spend the money. You have to sign them, then you have to hope you never need them. It’s like insurance.

TheRam

Exactly. Gus is famous for moving good and bad quality in and out of his squads depending on what he feels he needs to do for his own agendas.

If we can be the beneficiary of one of his 7D chess board moves, then we should make it happen.