Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Basil Brush

He doesn't play like a half though, he plays like a fullback. He best playmaking comes when he takes the line on, and at first receiver there aren't many opportunities for that.

By that I mean there are plenty of opportunities to take the line on but it is almost always the wrong option. Out wide taking on the defence is usually the best option, which is why the best running playmakers should be at fullback.
While I dont disagree, he did fine at the end of last season as a half and that was with no preseason.

Surely he will be even better with a preseason under his belt.

He doesn't play like a half though, he plays like a fullback. He best playmaking comes when he takes the line on, and at first receiver there aren't many opportunities for that.

By that I mean there are plenty of opportunities to take the line on but it is almost always the wrong option. Out wide taking on the defence is usually the best option, which is why the best running playmakers should be at fullback.
Best example of that is Hayne.

He was fine at the back end of last season without Norman.

He is not a natural playmaker but just judge him when you actually watch him properly.

Norman is our main playmaker.

You should know that as a rugby league fan.

If anything 9s should be easier to ball play, Play square at the line & let the ball do the work. Gutherson ball playing in the 9s is very ordinary, His left to right pass is not crisp. He never squares up at the line & his passing is allways behind the player. I know his not a regular 5/8 -7. But with a presean under his belt I was expecting more, His kicking game is very ordinary also from watching the 9s. Hopefully he improves & proves me wrong but I'm not liking what I'm seeing. Of course Norman is the dominant half, but our halves pairing is meant to take the pressure off each other, If we start with a hooker who has no kicking game then all our eggs are in one basket with Norman. Time will tell. I hope I'm wrong. On a positive note our forwards were looking the goods

Pou, do you think he will do well as a half?
No. However I don't think he will really be used as one, instead used as more of a fullback or traditional five-eighth. Unfortunately that will put extra pressure on Norman, who is himself best suited to getting wider. I think this might further explain why Arthur has brought in some more middle forwards who can pass.

While I dont disagree, he did fine at the end of last season as a half and that was with no preseason.

Surely he will be even better with a preseason under his belt.
He performed well against a couple of shitty teams, and like I said, he got a bit wider than most halves are able to get. To give a half that luxury requires a lot of extra work from your inside men.

Noise

No. However I don't think he will really be used as one, instead used as more of a fullback or traditional five-eighth. Unfortunately that will put extra pressure on Norman, who is himself best suited to getting wider. I think this might further explain why Arthur has brought in some more middle forwards who can pass.

I kind of agree. Which is why I've been banging on about the need for a hooker who can kick / create to ease the pressure on Norman (and gutherson)

emjaycee

I reckon if someone suitable became available for 2017 we would be keen.

And I don't think BA would have thought Hunt suitable (at the price he wanted).

Just my opinion though.

Cheers, i'm glad we passed on Hunt. The money the Dragons are paying him is ridiculous.

Just my opinion though.
Problem is that any decent half becomes available he will end up costing nearly as much as Hunt unless we invest in potential or target a second tier half. For instance if we opted for someone like Mitchell Moses he would cost at least as what Norman is reportedly on now. ($800K). Maybe even more. Norman in my opinion is a superior player.

However if we for argument sake went for someone like Tyrone Roberts (who is a second tier half) he would cost about $500K. Moses is more hyped but I reckon Roberts could do a similar job and provide goal kicking skill which I think will be our achilles heel this year. Moses is also a noted goal kicker and is a specialist right side half with a decent long range kicking game.

I'd rather just take Roberts if Gutherson didn't work out and use the extra money to top up Tepai's contract.

Ffs dont judge Guth on the 9s.
You do not get the chance to touch the ball enough. Guys like Watson carved up and look like real halves. But gutho didnt even play in the middle. Give the guy time to learn and develop. He wont be your organising type but he can move the ball and run at the line. Just give him time to learn.

He may fail but give the guy the full season not 6 games to develop

Ffs dont judge Guth on the 9s.
You do not get the chance to touch the ball enough. Guys like Watson carved up and look like real halves. But gutho didnt even play in the middle. Give the guy time to learn and develop. He wont be your organising type but he can move the ball and run at the line. Just give him time to learn.

He may fail but give the guy the full season not 6 games to develop
Like I said, I'd rather just take Roberts if Gutherson didn't work out.

In any event we will at best give him probably half the season. Because off contract players from other clubs (the good ones) usually like to settle their future prior to the season ending.

Like I said, I'd rather just take Roberts if Gutherson didn't work out.

In any event we will at best give him probably half the season. Because off contract players from other clubs (the good ones) usually like to settle their future prior to the season ending.

Roberts would be handy to get now if coach likes him. Im not sold on guth but he needs 24 games to prove himself or to develop.
Half a season and then who Avenger? Fog looks ok but he wont be a dominant first grader. Dargan? I dont see going back to Robson helping and then who drops out if guth goes to another position?

I feel hoff will be a waste of money and wont see his 3 seasons in first grade.

phantom eel

Guth can play out the season there and keep developing.

I think the point is the coach/footy CEO have to makedecisions on recruitment targets for 2018 by mid this season, so they will decide by then whether Guth's future is in the halves or in the backline so they can prioritise which position/s to target for recruitment/2018.

But hypothetically if someone we are keen on for 2018 onwards is "available" around mid season, and hypothetically Semi was still sooking about getting to Toulon earlier, we could have the cash to bring in another half for the final stretch of this season.

I kind of agree. Which is why I've been banging on about the need for a hooker who can kick / create to ease the pressure on Norman (and gutherson)
I'd say it's easier to find another half who can kick and create than to find a hooker who can do that stuff. Hookers already have such high defensive requirements that piling kicking and playmaking on top drives their price up massively. Once you get to that point (paying so much for a dummy half) that you need to make him the focus of your attack just to get your money's worth.

Gutho is not going anywhere soon.

Arthur loves him and he can play anywhere in the backline.

Also, is he only 21/22?
He'll obviously be in the backline somewhere the entire time he's at the club. He would be on top 17 money now and he is a first grader, and most importantly a strong defender.

But he could get sacked from the halves at any time and still have a place in the team. So buying a new halfback doesn't mean he needs to 'go anywhere soon'.

lingard

I actually think the nines is a pretty good indicator of things. Last year Norman won the player of the tournament and went on to have a break-out year in the competition proper. 7's is like touch footy, but nines is a lot closer to the real thing. My observations are: 1. I'm very happy with our defensive attitude. That will win us a lot of games.
2. As I've been saying since day one, I really have my doubts about Gutherson in the halves. His best position might actually be fullback. But I agree that he should be given some time. 3. I was very impressed with Fogarty and I think he'll definitely play some first grade this year. Might be the next Peter Sterling. Or Tom Humble. Although he's a lot more assertive and involved than Humble was.
4. Matagi. Wow. 5. Cameron King doesn't impress me at all. 6. And the big merkin with the long hair whose name I can never remember. He looks better than I've ever seen him. We'll have a fearsome forward pack this year.
After watching the nines, I predict we'll be in the top six this year (barring injury, gambling, drug-use, salary-cap cheating, domestic violence, and any other minor distractions),