Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

miatch

You don't have to worry whether or not Hayne is keen to return to Parra, he has made several less than subtle inquiries. If he ever did (it's not even being discussed from our end) it would be for a lot less than 1.2 million, which, sorry Ram, is ridiculous money for Hayne.

If he played every game and wasn't a huge sook/bad influence at training then he'd be worth 1.2 million.

But he doesn't and he is. All things considered (including the salary cap and team cohesion) I think our team would be better served having Bev at the back, Gutho in the centres and finding a good running winger. Even better would be convincing Semi to backflip.

1. Hayne is not a genuine returner of the ball like Semi. He is a great ball player and I will not deny that.

2. Hayne is a good player but not worth $1.2m. Plus for all the positives he brings, does a show pony fit into our structure right now ? The article posted today about the Henry Hayne rift is shocking. No way would I want a marquee player not on talking terms with the coach, picking and choosing which training drills he feels like participating in. Andrew Johns said today on the footy show that you just have to let Hayne do as he pleases. I don't agree.
The problem is that probably is the best way to get the best out of Jarryd Hayne. The downside is its effect on group cohesion. For every player that accepts it there will be plenty more who resent it. You're better off not having him in the team. There are stars who are much better team members. Get them instead.

Soren Lorenson

How do you know that?
Well of course I don't. I'm more than happy to participate in the fun game we all* play every day and pass speculation and educated guesswork off as fact.

*except for a very small few who actually do seem to have an idea what is going on

miatch

I don't brother, nobody does. That's the point. However if he were to approach us and offer himself at a realistic price, say $800k we would be mad to at least not consider it.
This is just a guess, but I think BA would balk at 800k. I'll go further and say I suspect that Brad would know people would think that's silly, but still would knock Jh back. I could easily be wrong but that's just my feeling.

Were you told why we were chasing a fullback? Could Dugan now be an option?
I was told we were looking at Tedesco and that we offered big dollars. Tedesco however has now reportedly signed for less at the Roosters than what all other clubs offered. Reason is his close bond to Mini and the fact that he always was a Roosters supporter.

You reckon Hayne couldn't do something similar? You reckon he still doesn't consider himself as a Parra boy ?

He still has his location on social media as Parranatta and a YouTube video of him playing for the Eels.

This is just a guess, but I think BA would balk at 800k. I'll go further and say I suspect that Brad would know people would think that's silly, but still would knock Jh back. I could easily be wrong but that's just my feeling.
Why would he balk at $800k when he just offered Tedesco $1m? Tedesco is a one dimesnsional fullback compared to Hayne at that price.

I was told we were looking at Tedesco and that we offered big dollars. Tedesco however has now reportedly signed for less at the Roosters than what all other clubs offered. Reason is his close bond to Mini and the fact that he always was a Roosters supporter.

You reckon Hayne couldn't do something similar? You reckon he still doesn't consider himself as a Parra boy ?

He still has his location on social media as Parranatta and a YouTube video of him playing for the Eels.

I saw that article as well, he allegedly sacrificed $700K to play at the Chooks, Prozchenko I think it was

He is fastly becoming another Kent or Buzz, do they really expect us to swallow that crap ?

I'm pretty sure he'd prefer to be at Parra but I doubt he'd take a 1/3 pay cut to do that. Stranger things have happened though and if he came back with his ego in check I wouldn't be against it.

Anyway, what I was getting at was BA's opinion of Bevo. Does he think he's just too small to be fullback? Because he's hardly had any time to prove himself.

I saw that article as well, he allegedly sacrificed $700K to play at the Chooks, Prozchenko I think it was

He is fastly becoming another Kent or Buzz, do they really expect us to swallow that crap ?
You're guessing just like the rest of us.

miatch

Why would he balk at $800k when he just offered Tedesco $1m? Tedesco is a one dimesnsional fullback compared to Hayne at that price.
See my comment above. Team cohesion issues.

Right now I'd personally prefer Teddy over Hayne. And it's not close for mine. But that's me. From what I've heard JH is cancer for team chemistry.

Anyways I could very well be wrong, just my thoughts.

See my comment above. Team cohesion issues.

Right now I'd personally prefer Teddy over Hayne. And it's not close for mine. But that's me. From what I've heard JH is cancer for team chemistry.

Anyways I could very well be wrong, just my thoughts.
I've heard similar things. However everyone deserves a second chance at the right price. Mau, Wicks, Edwards, Auva'a, Semi and Norman have done far worse yet we gave them the opportunity to redeem themselves.

Johnny88

Hayne came back last night and looked fitter with a better attitude. Looks like he worked hard while he had his injury. Daley will pick him for origin and I wouldn't be surprised if the Tigers make a big play for him.

I'm pretty sure he'd prefer to be at Parra but I doubt he'd take a 1/3 pay cut to do that. Stranger things have happened though and if he came back with his ego in check I wouldn't be against it.

Anyway, what I was getting at was BA's opinion of Bevo. Does he think he's just too small to be fullback? Because he's hardly had any time to prove himself.

I was told BA is happy with French's performances at 1, but wants to ease him in, seeing as he's only played a dozen or so NRL games.

I was told that BA sees French as our long-term 1, with Gutherson in the centres with a licence to roam as a "floating fullback".