Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Yes. Taking it a bit easier in a tough season with no breaks, I can believe that. But deliberately not using effective tactics, not so much.

Yes - I admit my theory is a little outlandish.

But I honestly can't think of a valid reason why we don't use our right edge more, particularly inside the opposition 20.

Blake Ferguson may have lost a little speed, but he has still shown he is the best finisher in the NRL - his no try a few weeks back (while correctly ruled a no try) was absolutely insane.

The only time we attacked right was when we overdid it against the Dogs, in an obvious attempt to get Ferguson a try.

Waqa Blake, for all his defensive issues, is tall, strong, and quick, and is a threat close to the line - but time, and time again, we go left.

I think it's unlikely that the team is too stubborn and/or stupid to go right, but what other explanation can we come up with?

Maybe due to a lack of byes this season the coaching staff has decided that the team can afford to rev down a bit, to conserve energy for our Finals campaign...

I don’t know.

Yes - I admit my theory is a little outlandish.

But I honestly can't think of a valid reason why we don't use our right edge more, particularly inside the opposition 20.

Blake Ferguson may have lost a little speed, but he has still shown he is the best finisher in the NRL - his no try a few weeks back (while correctly ruled a no try) was absolutely insane.

The only time we attacked right was when we overdid it against the Dogs, in an obvious attempt to get Ferguson a try.

Waqa Blake, for all his defensive issues, is tall, strong, and quick, and is a threat close to the line - but time, and time again, we go left.

I think it's unlikely that the team is too stubborn and/or stupid to go right, but what other explanation can we come up with?

Maybe due to a lack of byes this season the coaching staff has decided that the team can afford to rev down a bit, to conserve energy for our Finals campaign...

I don’t know.
I dunno either, mate. But in my defence I'm usually blind by halftime. I do think though that we have a side that is up there in terms of physical ability but maybe not the same in mental ability, or experience, or leadership. But in overall terms we're up there, if not definitely top four.

Obscene Assassin

You'd want to be pretty confident of being able to simply flick a switch come September/October and start playing like a top 4 side... Foxing or otherwise, bad habits can be hard to break....

If this is planned I'd say we'd start ramping up our intensity a month or so before the finals. We may have even planned to start it this week

emjaycee

If this is planned I'd say we'd start ramping up our intensity a month or so before the finals. We may have even planned to start it this week
The thing that has got me wondering is that at no time during the last 4 weeks (since the Manly loss) has there been any real concern shown by BA or any of the squad when interviewed. They seem non-perplexed by the fact that they have been just winning games they should have won by bigger margins. They seem unfazed by the lack of tries by Fergo. There has been zero indication that they are worried at all.

And that kind of attitude comes from either confidence, or ignorance.

The thing that has got me wondering is that at no time during the last 4 weeks (since the Manly loss) has there been any real concern shown by BA or any of the squad when interviewed. They seem non-perplexed by the fact that they have been just winning games they should have won by bigger margins. They seem unfazed by the lack of tries by Fergo. There has been zero indication that they are worried at all.

And that kind of attitude comes from either confidence, or ignorance.

As a team, we are capable of playing much, much, MUCH better than we have played in the last 6 weeks - we showed that earlier in the year.

Maybe it IS confidence...

Angry_eel

I don't know If I buy into that theory. I mean how will the coach turn this around? Will we suddenly have an attack?

emjaycee

One other thing in the Jenko interview that was gold... he was asked about our attack inside the 20 on the weekend where we had so many tackles on their line and couldn't anything much with it and why did he think we were struggling... his response "because they don't give me the ball".
Followed by a huge grin!!

How do you improve it? Those are the best players we have. Do we buy better players to replace them? How do we do that without breaking the cap?

I might be a goldfish but you and TheRam are a couple more simpletons who think every problem has an easy solution. Every team has a weakness and that's ours. The Roosters and Storm versions of you and TheRam are whinging about something of their own right now, and blaming their coaches for not fixing something so obvious.

A footy team is like an engine. Most squads are built similar. Same parts with a few hot ones.
Sometimes some parts don't match and slow the engine down. And other times different engines outperform others pending on conditions and style.
We aren't winning in fast free flowing footy imo. We are built more like those tough Bulldog teams that have grit and bash sides out of it.
Key is to get the opposition into that style of race. Bit slower and aggressive.
That's how we take the title. Not by trying to play them at their game. Their engines have been built and tuned better. They win. We would have to turn it into a grind.

Penrith are a prime example. On paper its a weaker squad then last season but they removed weak links. They then built a side that suited the game plan. Just kick the opposition out of the game. Simple really. Cleary has a great kicking game. They have mobile forwards so a good kick and a good kick chase. That can save you 20mtrs every set. That like 2 or 3 tackles.
They then play patient and have a fit young side who won't tire over 80mins. Eventualy with big 2nd rowers and centres they punch wide and put a hole in your armour.
They aren't built as good as the Stot or Roosters. They won't blow you away. But it's a style they planned for and recruited for.

Surely, there must be some sort of coach-instilled attitude of "play hard, but don't kill yourselves - save that for the Finals"?

Our steadfast refusal to attack on our right edge is testament to this, as is our half-baked fifth tackle options.

Perhaps BA is instructing the team to have a break, in a bye-less season, by only playing at 70% of their ability?

This theory probably makes no sense, but I reckon there is some merit to it.

Then why give the bench hardly any minutes?

84 Baby

*Phenergan
5221474.jpg

Try to work the starters to exhaustion, so they can get used to performing under pressure?

I don’t know.

But our refusal to attack down a strong right edge is baffling - almost to the point where it would seem to be a deliberate ploy...

Our issue in attack close to lone is we go wide even after a slow play the ball if its the 4th.
Sometimes there is nothing on and your better to just pound the middle and either go for a repeat set or give them the ball 1mtr out and with good discipline just play the territory game. At some point you will break them.