Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

lucablight

Fixed his defense for sure. But his mentality is still same. Downhill skier. I don't think any coach can change this tbh
If Moses was in that Cowboys side he’d probably be killing it even more than Townsend. Payten obviously saw what wasn’t working last season and went away and came back with the right adjustments. Meanwhile, we’re still repeating the same mistakes for the last 3 years.

Pou is going to take you to task on this one... I'ma get my popcorn ready!!!
No he won’t. Apparently we needed leadership at any cost.

Jokes aside what really annoys me about BA is he appears to wield too much power and influence over the club despite zero premiership success after almost a decade.

I’ve been following this mob since ‘77 and I’ve seen nothing like it. Even one of my favourite coaches (Brian Smith) had less influence despite achieving more. Is that because we had proper footy people in the front office?

One reporter and a bunch of us here are questioning his tenure but deep down I think the club will just wait it out for him to decide when we are the ones (the club) that should be giving the ultimatum. Maybe it’s happening behind closed doors but I don’t think it is. We seem blindly invested in this guy and it’s starting to smell.

Jokes aside what really annoys me about BA is he appears to wield too much power and influence over the club despite zero premiership success after almost a decade.

I’ve been following this mob since ‘77 and I’ve seen nothing like it. Even one of my favourite coaches (Brian Smith) had less influence despite achieving more. Is that because we had proper footy people in the front office?

One reporter and a bunch of us here are questioning his tenure but deep down I think the club will just wait it out for him to decide when we are the ones (the club) that should be giving the ultimatum. Maybe it’s happening behind closed doors but I don’t think it is. We seem blindly invested in this guy and it’s starting to smell.
Our CEO is a deadset turnip, he has absolutely no business being anywhere near the role. The Bern had some faults but he was experienced in sports administration being the Auditors best mate doesn't cut it.

Gazzamatta

Fixed his defense for sure. But his mentality is still same. Downhill skier. I don't think any coach can change this tbh
I dont agree. Hes a tough player now days. Yep prone to the odd brain fade but its a sickness throughout most of the team. Like Townsend, I reckon he needs new voices around him to become more consistent. He leads TAs and has had a really good season so far.

Pazza

Couldn't agree more.

If we continue on like we are this season and hardly make a dent in the finals. I'd be approaching ciraldo

lucablight

He is one of the best support players in the comp, defends well and kicks well. If he was no good he wouldn't have played 200 games. Why do you think the Cowboys wanted him?
He’s doing well at the Cowboys. Better than I anticipated. Conversely, why didn’t the Sharks make him a priority and build the team around him once Maloney left? Why didn’t the struggling Warriors want him?

eels_fan

Just noticed that this is our second last weekend game of the regular season. All our games our thurs/Fri nights after tonight except the bulldogs game in round 23

Why does any player leave his current club? There’s only one of him, and the Cowboys obviously valued him more highly. He’s certainly no elite playmaker but not every team needs one. The Sharks have decided to go with two quality playmakers in the halves while the Cowboys have gone with two solid defenders who can support the ball carrier. Other teams might go with one of each. Townsend also brings leadership and experience that the Cowboys might have needed more than the Sharks did.

He’s doing well at the Cowboys. Better than I anticipated. Conversely, why didn’t the Sharks make him a priority and build the team around him once Maloney left? Why didn’t the struggling Warriors want him?

How many Premierships does Chad Townsend have?

How many Premierships does super-talented Mitchell Moses have?

I'd wager the reason the Warriors didn't keep him is because Payten was desperate for a leader in his team, and paid decent coin - which the Warriors were not keen to match.