Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Obscene Assassin

Well, I mean, their for and against suggests stable performances.

We won games, like we did against the Titans in round 1 - we scored 32, but conceded 28.

The Cowboys' for and against suggests that they were far more clinical in finishing games off than we were.

F/A can also be padded by large, meaningless wins over poor teams. Whether they were a better team than us, we were better coached is all subjective. What's an objective fact is that we beat them in the semi-final. On that day, we were the better team.

Stevie

I watch a bit of Jack Millers' races, Japanese Moto GP was pretty good.

Remy Gardiner is a way off yet but maybe there only because of his name.
You could say I’m a bit of a Miller fan, wearing this today!
I think you’ll be surprised how well Remy goes in WSBK.
He won the Moto2 Grand Prix World Title last year! He is quality!

Attachments

• 993E2264-3B46-42BA-BA32-972354084CB5.jpeg
    993E2264-3B46-42BA-BA32-972354084CB5.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 0

F/A can also be padded by large, meaningless wins over poor teams.
Sure, but over a full season the better teams will generate more of these "large, meaningless wins", and experience significantly fewer large, meaningless losses. That's why the premiers have the best points differential (or close to it) every single year. We haven't had close to the best points differential since 2005.

This system of players potentially leaving and negotiating with a year left on their current contract is so wrong. However seeing that we haven’t won a comp since I was in year 12 I couldn’t give a f**k if they all leave.

It would be refreshing if the players were as loyal as the fans for a change.

parra pete

This system of players potentially leaving and negotiating with a year left on their current contract is so wrong. However seeing that we haven’t won a comp since I was in year 12 I couldn’t give a f**k if they all leave.

It would be refreshing if the players were as loyal as the fans for a change.
They probably are being loyal.. Just the Eels don't negotiate through the media.
Fans are better off playing SUPER -COACH and forget about actually going to games. Maybe then the NRL might consider how 'damaging' negotations of contracts - not for NEXT YEAR, but the one AFTER - are to the interests of supporters of Club.
Dead set joke..
i have followed the Club since 1958/59..I am 76 now, and I REALLY ENJOYED the Thornett era when the game had a lot more loyalty, fans were tribal. EVERY WIN was celebrated like a GRAND FINAL victory. The BEST MATCH was transferred to SCG on Saturday, second best to the Sportsground. .The allocation of Match of the Day was excitement in itself. It took until 1961 season for Parra to get a match of the day..V StGeorge in round 1. Paul Pyers had his jaw smashed by Norm Provan (no replacements in those days) and the side was beaten 52-0..Had to wait until 1962 for next match of the day.
I loved watching and following the Club in those days.
It was character building and holds many memories of my great mates. We never missed a game - and we even attended training sessions on Saturday mornings on occasions - such was our passion.

Bandwagon

One grand final appearance/3 wooden spoons in 13 years and 36 years since our last premiership for such a big club is overachieving now?

This is a prime example of cherry picking data.

EG: why 13 years not 14 ( or say 5 or 6 which would be more relevant to now )? Why ignore finals? why ignore top four / top eight finishes for the regular season, but include spoons.
It's true, and if you have too many irreplaceable players (which might be more than zero) you are at a disadvantage in negotiations. From the club's perspective they need to get maximum value out of the salary cap, not retain specific players at any cost.

Not necessarily, some players might save you money on the cap even though you pay "overs" because other players might sign for "unders" to play with them. I don't think there'd be to many players in that category, but I'm certain there'd be a few.

F/A can also be padded by large, meaningless wins over poor teams. Whether they were a better team than us, we were better coached is all subjective. What's an objective fact is that we beat them in the semi-final. On that day, we were the better team.

Albeit with a massive helping hand from the officials....

This is a prime example of cherry picking data.

EG: why 13 years not 14 ( or say 5 or 6 which would be more relevant to now )? Why ignore finals? why ignore top four / top eight finishes for the regular season, but include spoons.

Not necessarily, some players might save you money on the cap even though you pay "overs" because other players might sign for "unders" to play with them. I don't think there'd be to many players in that category, but I'm certain there'd be a few.
I’m sure there’s leaders who get paid a salary cap ‘tax’ for intangibles (at least from the fans’ perspective they are intangible). Recruitment/retention advantages might be one of these.

King-Gutho94

That last 10 mins of the cowboys game was some of the toughest defence I have seen a Parramatta side produce in my lifetime considering what was at stake, conditions, crowd factor.

It wasn't good for the heart rate but there is no way that win should be downplayed whatsoever.

Despite the GF defeat a week later the preliminary victory against all odds interstate should still go down on Parramatta folklore for years to come.

[/QUOTE]
If I wasn't not posting in solidarity for a certain 111 I would definitely post about how I was screaming like a madman that last half quarter..I can't remember another time I've been that involved. Pity it all went pear shaped but that's the risk.

Obscene Assassin

What about the Cows try when Moses got pushed at Marker??? The Wanker Blake hair pull that lead to points. Yeah we had soem calls but so did they. We won and it was very f**king exciting!!

Taumalolo not being sent off for a direct shoulder to the head. Holmes pass to Taulagi was forward for their final try. Then there's little ones like us not receiving a penalty when Moses was pushed in the air after kicking

lucablight

Not if his missus is happy in Melbourne.
Or maybe he’s happy in Melbourne.
Think quantitative rather than qualitative. The whole reason I prefer points differential to number of wins is negate it’s more granular. So when comparing teams by points differential a difference of 153 points isn’t in the same as an 8 point difference. I will say the Cowboys were better than the Roosters, who were better than us. The Sharks and the Roosters were on par.
How do you account for teams like ours who play down to their competition ? (Eg losing to the Tigers and Bulldogs) but getting up for Panthers and Storm). Your points differential analysis (on its own) doesn’t really account for that. It’s probably a better indicator of how motivated a team was over a larger sample size of games. I don’t agree with you about the Cowboys being better than the Roosters either. The Roosters just had a classier roster but they ran out of gas at the end due to injuries. The Sharks were severely overranked due to their easy draw and I’d put the Roosters well ahead of them as well.

How do you account for teams like ours who play down to their competition ? (Eg losing to the Tigers and Bulldogs) but getting up for Panthers and Storm).
I don’t think this is true. We’ve played Penrith in three finals matches in two years and lost all of them. The times we won I just think they had an off night.

Likewise, the times we lost to weaker clubs was when we had an off night.

I don’t agree with you about the Cowboys being better than the Roosters either. The Roosters just had a classier roster but they ran out of gas at the end due to injuries. The Sharks were severely overranked due to their easy draw and I’d put the Roosters well ahead of them as well.
The Roosters might have more class but the Cowboys had a better kicking game and much better defence. Despite not controlling the ball as well they did indeed match the Cowboys for points scored (they actually scored a couple more points than the Cowboys) but the Roosters conceded way more points due to having a few weak defenders in their classy defensive line.

The Sharks were another team that defended well, and their points differential was about the same as the Chooks. This is because they were much better in defence but didn’t get close to the Chooks in attack (which seems to be the only aspect of the game you remember). So sure the Roosters were ‘classier’ as you say (not a term used to describe defence) but the Sharks were a better defensive team. I reckon they were about equal overall.