Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Whingers and Occasional Optimism XXIX

I reckon Pierce would be good value for $$ Not to many teams will throw huge $$ at him.
What about going after that young half Croker from raiders? Even Sam William would be a handy option.
This is if we lose Norman- I reckon he will stay.

yy_cheng

Corey Norman is very good . But far from a thurston or Milford. If we lost him a half that can kick the ball long would be great as we struggle in that department.

Norman is not asking for jt money for Yahweh sake

Milford is not jt class either

Why would Pearce be good? Talk about a player been credited more because of his last name, rather then his playing ability.

Great defender and a great kicking game.Calm under pressure. Doesnt have the silky foot work of norman. But i still would not mind him here.

You have a good kicking game and its like getting an extra 1-2 hit ups a set. Finding space and good depth can mean 10-20mtrs .And that is 1 or 2 runs to make that up.
Do not under estimate the importance of this - And Norman is not exactly brilliant at a long kicking game.

yy_cheng

I reckon Pierce would be good value for $$ Not to many teams will throw huge $$ at him.
What about going after that young half Croker from raiders? Even Sam William would be a handy option.
This is if we lose Norman- I reckon he will stay.

Pearce will only be cheap for 1 year whereby easts pays for some of the freight in his first year

I reckon BA has built a club where players do not want to leave.They will stay for less. Aslong as it is not insulting.

yy_cheng

I reckon BA has built a club where players do not want to leave.They will stay for less. Aslong as it is not insulting.

Did we insult Norman and Paulo then.or are you wrong? Even Semi wants more even though ba is coach

Mate if foran was offered less than a 1M he probably wouldn't have signed

The money got him here. Staying in Sydney and playing for ba is just a bonus

Kelly would probably stay for less

IFR33K

Eh? We already made an offer to Norman

I'm sure if we didn't have this saga hanging over our heads, we would of signed at least one of peats or Norman by now. Once the NRL hand down their findings, we'll be able sort out our cap.

yy_cheng

I'm sure if we didn't have this saga hanging over our heads, we would of signed at least one of peats or Norman by now. Once the NRL hand down their findings, we'll be able sort out our cap.

I didn't think our cap this year was the issue nor was next year as we have quite a bit of players off contract

So if the NRL takes another 6 mths we won't sign anyone?

Dibs

I think there is a fair bit of truth in this.

Is that one of your rhetorical questions pou? As you quite rightly point out often no one knows how much they are on or want. A better question might be how many clubs have had 2 halves of that quality?

No it's not a better question at all, since it doesn't really relate to the salary cap. Manly had DCE and Foran together for five years, whereas right now those two would be amongst the highest paid players in the game. They would have been on a fraction of their current contracts before this year, yet were not significantly worse players, so they would have had them on (probably significant) unders. The two of them are probably on slight overs now, so Manly got great value (ability for cost) out of them. Right now we are probably getting good value out of Norman, but how much value will we get out of him next year if he stays?

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...d/news-story/b1646ba1574680f0a00c77fcdde17054
Until the NRL hand down their findings, the Eels are in the middle of a contract freeze, unable to register any new contracts for the likes of off-contract stars Corey Norman and Nathan Peats.

But Arthur says that such is the bond within the 2016 squad, the contract stalemate won’t impact their retention plans with both Norman and Peats indicating their want to stay.

“This group is just so tight at the moment, even our guys on the fringe of NRL are pushing hard and our Wentworthville (NSW Cup) players are really aiming up as well, which creates competition and character,’’ Arthur said.

“We’ve worked hard to put this group together and while it was disappointing to lose Junior Paulo (to Canberra next season), our priority is to keep this group together and the great thing is, every single one of them wants to stay.’’

In the past heaps Sterlo Kenny, Langer Lewis, Daley Stuart

Nowadays dce foran, Morgan jt, soo halves hadgko Reynolds, Pearce Maloney,

Morgan is a one dimensional edge runner on one side of the field. He is not worth huge money, despite being very good at his limited role.

Pearce would be on huge money but Hodkinson, Retnolds and Maloney all only played Origin due to lack of clearly better options. None of them would have been on huge money in previous years. Hodkinson and Maloney would be on more now, and both have been split from their old halves partners.

Just like DCE/Foran

yy_cheng

Is that fair? When a company has done something wrong they put a trading halt on the stock market. That means no one can trade that company.

So other teams can sign peats and Norman and whoever is off contract from under our noses because the NRL is still working it out?

Is that part of our punishment?

Is that fair? When a company has done something wrong they put a trading halt on the stock market. That means no one can trade that company.

So other teams can sign peats and Norman and whoever is off contract from under our noses because the NRL is still working it out?

Is that part of our punishment?

John Grant wants them gone

preferably to the Roosters

yy_cheng

Morgan is a one dimensional edge runner on one side of the field. He is not worth huge money, despite being very good at his limited role.

Pearce would be on huge money but Hodkinson, Retnolds and Maloney all only played Origin due to lack of clearly better options. None of them would have been on huge money in previous years. Hodkinson and Maloney would be on more now, and both have been split from their old halves partners.

Just like DCE/Foran

i was responding to dibs question

A better question might be how many clubs have had 2 halves of that quality?

I answered yours saying our hooker and fb are cheaper which balances it out

IFR33K

I didn't think our cap this year was the issue nor was next year as we have quite a bit of players off contract

So if the NRL takes another 6 mths we won't sign anyone?

If tpa's get added into our cap, we may have less then what we'd like to spend on players.

As it stands, peats, Gordon and Norman are all unsigned for 2017. That's 3 out of our 4 spine players. Don't you find that a little odd at this stage?