Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Whingers and Occasional Optimism XXIX

Dank

In this case, protecting the standards and culture of the squad/club would have more to do with Sandow being dropped, so yes I agree with you.

When Semi hits the $500/$600+ cap stratosphere, we'll have a huge challenge on our hands building a formidable 2017 squad. I reckon it will be a far better option to groom Gutherson for centre as he'll only be on $200/$300k and give Semi the fullback position.

If Semi has it in him to learn all the finer aspects of fullback, then yea I'd love to see it 100%

In this case, protecting the standards and culture of the squad/club would have more to do with Sandow being dropped, so yes I agree with you.

When Semi hits the $500/$600+ cap stratosphere, we'll have a huge challenge on our hands building a formidable 2017 squad. I reckon it will be a far better option to groom Gutherson for centre as he'll only be on $200/$300k and give Semi the fullback position.

Radradra and Gutherson are both already contracted for 2017, along with 17 other players. If we can (re-)sign another half and hooker we will have a very strong side for 2017, and even if we don't we could find a number 6 from the guys already contracted, and play with an 80 minute hooker (Pritchard):

1. Gutherson/French
2. Radradra
3. Jennings
4. Takairangi/Gutherson/Morgan
5. Gutherson/Folau
6. Takairangi/French
7. Foran
8. Moeroa
9. Pritchard
10. Mannah
11. Ma'u
12. Scott
13. Watmough
14. Edwards
15. Gower
16. Terepo
17. Alvaro
18. Twal

And that's if we don't sign any more players for next year (or more to the point, only sign backups to round out the squad). It's obviously not as good as this year's side, with the loss of a few current top 17 players, but there's quite a few young blokes - Gutherson, French, Folau, Moeroa, Pritchard, Alvaro, Twal - who should be better players next year. And only Scott, Watmough and Gower will be on the decline.

phantom eel

With two years out of the sport, Jarryd on the cap for $600k playing 6, 3 or 4 will definitely turn our 2017 squad into a premiership threat.
Did I miss something... why are we suddenly thinking that Jarryd will come back to league or to the Eels again?

He's not coming back, and we've finally got the squad balanced to address his absence. Why would we try to bring him back in, and face more cap dramas or the loss of depth from our new squad?

Did I miss something... why are we suddenly thinking that Jarryd will come back to league or to the Eels again?

He's not coming back, and we've finally got the squad balanced to address his absence. Why would we try to bring him back in, and face more cap dramas or the loss of depth from our new squad?

Jarryd should make it in the NFL. Move on people.

IFR33K

Yep. Time for the eels fans to move on.

Casper The Ghost

As a united club, what are we without intrigue, controversy, drama and outright disgust.

84 Baby

OTHER CLUBS CAN?T BELIEVE PARRA
ONE NRL club couldn?t believe the big bucks Parramatta directors were allegedly being paid. Directors at the rival club have been rejecting the small $5000 on offer for board members to ensure the club remains financially sound.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/spo...story-comments

What a surprise, our executive board are gorging at the trough. Nah, never.

Yeah you're right, let's get these guys who are refusing $5000 otherwise their club will go done the gurgler. They sound like savvy operators

Casper The Ghost

Lets see how things pan out for Jarryd I'm not hanging around biting my nails but there is still a door open for him to come back and win a premiership with the eels before he retires from heavy contact sport.

You mean the guy who walked out on us? Why do we owe him a share of our next premiership?

Noise

Didn't know where to put this but just wanted to share some good that the eels boys do. My good mate is in Westmead Children's hospital with his bub going through a tough time and got a visit from Junior, Jennings and Kenny Edwards wearing their Easter bunny ears. My mate is an eels fan and it def put a smile on his and his family's face. He got a photo with them too. Good stuff Parra!

yy_cheng

I think Semi should also be eased into fb.

I reckon if you said Semi kick this, he'll boot it out of the stadium

He is twice dailym winger of the year. He has outgrown this position

What will make him a better fb than Hayne is that he has a strong work ethic and will follow all potential offloads and will try and learn and Learn. Gordon would be a great mentor for him

I reckon an upgrade before his contract expires will keep him an eel for life. He will remember these little things and will add to his loyalty

Didn't know where to put this but just wanted to share some good that the eels boys do. My good mate is in Westmead Children's hospital with his bub going through a tough time and got a visit from Junior, Jennings and Kenny Edwards wearing their Easter bunny ears. My mate is an eels fan and it def put a smile on his and his family's face. He got a photo with them too. Good stuff Parra!

Fabulous effort by the boys... It's a pity we wouldn't read about it from Murdochs maggots