Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours (signings, sackings & other NRL stuff)

Nutz

That’s what happens when you sign someone on potential..
That's the ...danger... of signing someone on potential, not necessarily always the case though.
With Stef, I agree.
Galvin could end up helping a club win a premiership and is signed on potential. Will we take the gamble?
I hope we keep him as he's still a bub developing and has shown signs of being another DCE since the HM grand final thru to NRL.

WA Tiger

I’m not a Tik tok person, so I’ll have to guess what he said.

Perhaps he said Benji should be coaching them?
He said we were better than the warriors ..we got over the line 3 times ….even tho we didn’t have the finesse to convert those to points Webster should be concerned about that

That's the ...danger... of signing someone on potential, not necessarily always the case though.
With Stef, I agree.
Galvin could end up helping a club win a premiership and is signed on potential. Will we take the gamble?
I hope we keep him as he's still a bub developing and has shown signs of being another DCE since the HM grand final thru to NRL.

We all know Satan is his manger and will try to screw us within an inch of our lives.

The kid has to make a choice between becoming a legend or being just another f**kwit.

We have a bunch of fainuage who grow stronger and more powerful with each passing day and I would be building our plans around them.

In the space of year, Sam has gone from young progressive factory to willing and able.

And another year on, we can all see that Faatape is going to be a bride instead of the bridesmaid. And by the crikey, he loves this club with all his heart.

I’m also pretty confident that once he gets a fair go, Latu will leave Galvin in the dust.

Anyway, we have ninth place to secure this year!

Wests Tigers Allrighters.

Nutz

We all know Satan is his manger and will try to screw us within an inch of our lives.

The kid has to make a choice between becoming a legend or being just another f**kwit.

We have a bunch of fainuage who grow stronger and more powerful with each passing day and I would be building our plans around them.

In the space of year, Sam has gone from young progressive factory to willing and able.

And another year on, we can all see that Faatape is going to be a bride instead of the bridesmaid. And by the crikey, he loves this club with all his heart.

I’m also pretty confident that once he gets a fair go, Latu will leave Galvin in the dust.

Anyway, we have ninth place to secure this year!

Wests Tigers Allrighters.

I know there were the dressing shed rumours of him wanting out but as I said, he's an imature lad and he may learn from that.
Apart that heresay indiscretion, he's not an axe murderer, not yet anyway so let's give the guy some support.
If he screws us then I'll lead the possession.

WA Tiger

, he's not an axe murderer,
If he screws us then I'll lead the possession.
But then it’s too late .The cap will be screwed the very possible preferred option Latu will be “out the door I went” and it’ll be a repeat of the Brooks years with a potential meltdown of a player with a low threshold, scattered temperament when the spotlights on him proper, who can’t straighten up the play for the team and we go for years without a genuine halfback …all because the experts with no skin in the game say he’s the bees fkn knees. .. .. then again why would he care hes getting paid like a great…at least an ax murderer can be released

macnaz

Maybe time for a couple of passionate blue ribbon 3rd party sponsors to step up and make it a bit easier to hold onto them...Harry T said he's done untill the club showed evidence of heading in the right direction ....well Lord Harry?! Where TF art thou ??
* however the broncs pay their touchline to touchline elite squad ....well it's simple ..do that!
Harry T is a tight arse flog... but i do remember years ago when he dropped his Meriton sponsorship the club was going to utilise his support via 3rd party arrangements, but the nrl knocked it on the head by saying its not at arms length..... even tho he would have had zero connection to the club apart from being just an extremely wealthy fan 😡

Tiger Ted

Harry T is a tight arse flog... but i do remember years ago when he dropped his Meriton sponsorship the club was going to utilise his support via 3rd party arrangements, but the nrl knocked it on the head by saying its not at arms length..... even tho he would have had zero connection to the club apart from being just an extremely wealthy fan 😡
Harry couldn’t tell the difference between a steeden footy & a slazenger tennis ball.The only reason he gets involved in anything is if he has to for the sake of his business/balance sheet.To add to what u said he is a massively greedy tight arse flog.

Nutz

The thing is too macca is to people like him and Gina, a $1m are monthly or even yearly expenditure which is quadrupled in income so giving a million to the Tigers to add to the LO upgrade is like water off a ducks back.
Sponsors are great if they pay up but usually the only reliable income is from those companies who are going to benefit from it, eg fox and broadcasting rights....which really only leaves jersey rights and having their name splashed all over pressers background dropsheet.
Tight arse Harry couldn't even keep that going.
So thank you Pepper Money.

Nutz

But then it’s too late .

WA I think Latu is on cloud 9.
His brothers have just secured contracts and he's now starting to benefit from being looked at as a permanent benchy at a club soon to be a top 8 contender.
He's on good coin.
I think having all this ½ back surplus (remembering Sullivan is still to return...maybe) leaves us in a far better position than having no depth where we would be forced to pay overs for Galvin or wait for a kid to develop which meand our squad will miss the boat and we rebuild ...again.

The problem is that the bolded part is going to happen anyway. It's more about how badly we get screwed.

Stef is the classic example. We didn't sign him and it's worked out heaps better for us.

Nutz

Y
The problem is that the bolded part is going to happen anyway. It's more about how badly we get screwed.

Stef is the classic example. We didn't sign him and it's worked out heaps better for us.
Yes and no mate
There are a shortage of halves atm so if we didn't have healthy stocks of them Galvin's price goes up providing he wants to be with a team on the rise.
We are ahead of Parra atm and good teams are hamstrung with marquee players. This will be the biggest hurdle to navigate around but as I said, we are healthier in the halves department than other clubs.

There are a shortage of halves atm so if we didn't have healthy stocks of them Galvin's price goes up providing he wants to be with a team on the rise.

I hear you but we couldn't even off load Sullivan. Let's wait and see what happens. Ideally I'd like us to keep Galvin and Latu.

We also need Luai to earn his pay packet on the field.

Das Hassler

but we couldn't even off load Sullivan.

Yeah that's because it's Sullivan we're trying to offload...why would that be easy? If we carry maybe a third of his pay then he'd probably be a good fit at the eels...certainly more dynamic than 1.3 Dylan Brown

Nutz

I hear you but we couldn't even off load Sullivan. Let's wait and see what happens. Ideally I'd like us to keep Galvin and Latu.

We also need Luai to earn his pay packet on the field.
Everyone coach knows that Sullivan is not as good as galvin. There was no backups available for galvin att but as it turned out we ended up with four :)
Sullivan is good for depth and should be paid as such.

That was Marina Goh's fault that those TPA's didn't work out.

A good rule of thumb is that if you're going to do some illegal TPA's you don't announce it in a press conference. You do what everyone else does and get the person who's going to provide the money to either give their money to a friend who has an existing company (and no previous involvement with the club) or the money man sets up a bunch of dummy companies in other peoples names (also with no former association to the club) and you've manufactured the 'arms length' the NRL want. The NRL are too lazy and/or dumb to investigate these properly and rubber stamp them.

It's the difference between business smarts and rugby league smarts. With league you have the media hovering around for a story at all times and she just dumped it into their laps. Even the NRL were smart enough not to ignore it. Much the same as Laundry at the Bulldogs, who let the media know in an interview that he was going to give players a share in his pubs.