Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rusty Let Us Bring Maitua Home

Nemesis

I've been told he's in the bag with us, just like last time.
If Reni doesn't come to Souths this time, it'll be because we don't need him that much and are not prepared to give him everything he wants. Based on what I said earlier, I can't see too many realistic options for him. News Limited would have to do some amazing financial gymnastics very quickly, in order to get him to the Storm.

So, what IS your opinion on where he is going, why and more importantly how?

Nemesis

This may help you Fein... http://www.leaguehq.com.au/news/news/decision-close-for-maitua/2008/12/29/1230399130050.html

Maitua close to making a decision, says manager
SMH | December 30, 2008

The football future of Reni Maitua is expected to be determined by the weekend, as the former Bulldog has left town for the week to consider which avenue he will take.
Maitua has been searching for a club since being sacked by the Bulldogs on December 3 after missing a training session. Four clubs have shown interest in the 26-year-old back-rower.
Two of those clubs - South Sydney, who have offered him a three-year-deal, and Cronulla, a one-year contract - have formally offered Maitua a lifeline for next year. The other two, North Queensland and Melbourne, have expressed interest but added that salary-cap pressure means they cannot at this time make the former international a firm offer.
"Reni hasn't made his mind up yet," his manager Sam Ayoub said yesterday.
"He's going to get away for a couple of days and come back by the weekend, and between now and then he hopefully will have made his mind up.
"That was the idea of getting away. He's got all the bits and pieces, all the info he needs from the respective clubs, and he can make his decision based on that and we'll go from there.
"There are four [clubs] with interest, two have made offers, and two haven't as yet, but their interest is genuine, it's just a matter of seeing if they can compete. So we're waiting on them at the moment as well. So, realistically, Reni's got some options."
Only last week Cowboys chief executive Peter Parr said his club couldn't make Maitua an offer as they were already "under some salary-cap strains", and Melbourne boss Brian Waldron echoed those sentiments yesterday.
"We are not making a late run in a race for him at all," Waldron said. "Like everyone probably, we made some inquiries but we certainly have no intention … there is no room for Reni Maitua to join Melbourne at this stage. I can tell you that.
"As a player, there is some interest but there is no room in our cap for Reni Maitua as we sit here now."
Cronulla chief executive Tony Zappia openly said he had heard no news on the Maitua situation "since before Christmas", while Souths chief executive Shane Richardson was far more abrupt and guarded.
"I've got nothing to say about it, nothing whatsoever," Richardson said.
Souths are believed to be the favourites in the chase for Maitua, not only because of the longevity of the contract they are offering, but also because he is a Souths junior and a close friend of Rabbitohs star John Sutton.
Two weeks ago, Sutton told the Herald he has been trying to convince his mate to accept Souths' offer. "I've spoken to him, trying to get him over to Souths," Sutton said. "It would be good if we can get him. He is good all over the field, and he has won a premiership."
What could play a role in where Maitua goes, and determine whether Melbourne or the Cowboys could squeeze him in under the salary cap, is whether he is able to receive a $100,000 pay-out he was seeking from the Bulldogs, an amount which could bolster any second-tier contract for next season.
Asked where the pay-out issue with the Bulldogs stood, Ayoub said: "Reni's put the matter in the hands of his solicitor."

Fein

If Reni doesn't come to Souths this time, it'll be because we don't need him that much and are not prepared to give him everything he wants. Based on what I said earlier, I can't see too many realistic options for him. News Limited would have to do some amazing financial gymnastics very quickly, in order to get him to the Storm.

So, what IS your opinion on where he is going, why and more importantly how?

Nemesis, the club has made a play for him so we do want him.

As the article above indicates, we have also offered a contract of considerable length - too much in my opinion.

As I said earlier - 1 year at a nominal $50K (or in that vicinity) is all I would be offering if I were in charge given the "risk factor" Reni carries.

If I were able to predict where, why and how this will all pan out, I would be sitting on a fortune, given that I'd be winning lotto every day of the week. :lol:

Dave Q

We do not have a lot of spare coin at the moment.

But a year at Souths would be a good thing for Reni, we have a very good shot at the 8, we have solid internationals, high profile off-field people,friends and Sutto will play origin.

What more does he want?!

Franko

But a year at Souths would be a good thing for Reni, we have a very good shot at the 8, we have solid internationals, high profile off-field people,friends and Sutto will play origin.

What more does he want?!

Surely we can pay him cheap this year and increase it over the next two years losing Hegarty, Kidwell and maybe Stuart.

BPS

The money ball BPS, heres a few:-

*Ashley Harrison
*Shane Walker
*Craig Feild
*Ian Roberts
*Mark Carroll
*Mario Fenech
*Lee Hookey
*Jeremy Smith
*Joey Williams
*Pauley Mellor
*Paul Stringer
* Craig Coleman
*Tricky Trindall
* Shane Wilson
* Jacin Sinclair

on and on it goes...

He should be playing for Souths...no question of that.

Well without putting too much effort in, I can add to your list

Luke McDougall
Mick Pattison
Paul Stringer
Paul McNicholas

Aaron_sfas

if reni doesnt come to souths, it will be because he wants a 1 year deal. i reckon he'll end up taking a one year deal then go to the cowboys.

regardless, i dont want him here

Appin Rabbit

Reni wil sign on monday, this is Stuart & Kidwells last year so we need to build up for next year as well we will also be chasing anothet prop. (Go You Bunnies):lol::lol::lol::lol:
Surely we can pay him cheap this year and increase it over the next two years losing Hegarty, Kidwell and maybe Stuart.

Nemesis

Reni wil sign on monday, this is Stuart & Kidwells last year so we need to build up for next year as well we will also be chasing anothet prop. (Go You Bunnies):lol::lol::lol::lol:
I agree Appin... I think he will either sign with us, or it will be announced that he has, on Monday.

Imo, the Storm talks & Sharks 1 year offer are both "furphies"... the Sharks especially can't afford to sign a paper boy at the moment. They are in deep financial cacca, probably won't make the eight in '09 and if they end up in a court case with Bird they're gonski. All the spin was put out by Reni's manager (probably agreed to by Souths) and fed to the waiting media circus as a face-saving measure to ensure that Reni was perceived as having other options available, so that it didn't look like he was "forced" to sign with Souths.

The only fair dinkum offer Reni has on the table is from Souths.

Nemesis

What more does he want?!
It seems that everyone is "over" the whole Reni saga Dave... this circus has been going on for nearly a month now and most people probably don't care anymore (me included) if he comes to Souths or not.

We will make the finals in '09 with or without him.

Earl Hickey

It seems that everyone is "over" the whole Reni saga Dave... this circus has been going on for nearly a month now and most people probably don't care anymore (me included) if he comes to Souths or not.

The whole 'saga' should have been done and dusted last week

Nemesis

The whole 'saga' should have been done and dusted last week
tbh, with everything that's happened Earl, I'm starting to think that maybe Souths should withdraw Reni's offer.... he only played half a season in 2008 due to injury and disciplinary problems, had his shoulder dislocated in round 22, then had reconstruction surgery.

To sum it up, he hasn't played much footy and looked less than impressive when he WAS on the field during the last 12 months, has displayed a poor attitude and "played up" at the Bulldogs and we don't really know how well his shoulder will stand up...... Hmmmmm, a big risk really.

I hope Souths have some strict conditions in his contract.

Franko

Well without putting too much effort in, I can add to your list

Luke McDougall
Mick Pattison
Paul Stringer
Paul McNicholas

Is this supposed to be a list of players that have left Souths and not been as good once they left?

Franko

The money ball BPS, heres a few:-

*Ashley Harrison
*Shane Walker
*Craig Feild
*Ian Roberts
*Mark Carroll
*Mario Fenech
*Lee Hookey
*Jeremy Smith
*Joey Williams
*Pauley Mellor
*Paul Stringer
* Craig Coleman
*Tricky Trindall
* Shane Wilson
* Jacin Sinclair

on and on it goes...

He should be playing for Souths...no question of that.

I can't entirely agree with this list. Roberts and Carroll both had very succesful years with Manly. Field won a comp with Manly. Mario and Tugger were past there best when they left and Mellor played his best footy at the Sharks.

I laughed when you mentioned Hookey, Wilson and Walker. Did they play good footy at Souths did they?

We can make a case the other way as well though and people that have left.

Mackinnon
Serdaris
Wing
Tunks
Peats
Thomas
Hill
Dymock

I know which is looking a better team.

Franko....Field did not win a title with the Eagles. He lost his one and only GF appearance in 1997.

BPS

Franko you are right, there is an argument both ways. Some players have kicked on after leaving Souths, but there have been many that have not and because Souths were the "perrenial poor boys and loser club between the 90's and early 00, you'd expect players to "kick on" more than they did.

My arguement was that I hope that Reni does come to Souths because he being a Junior belongs here, and because of that he will play his best footy here. you know the stars aligning and all that.
It is not meant to be a factual theory, just a tribal one