Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ryan Matterson possibly on the way out?

The problem that we have is that Reynolds and Packer probably aren't first graders at this point. The alternatives we have are better.

I get what you are stating but we need to sort our cap out. We sign this Christian fella on decent money for him and us and after one good season where it's clear he deserves more money he wants out.

Fair enough release Matterson if we also can release Packer and Reynolds. If not then Matterson should be doing the right thing which to me is play out his contract to the best of his ability. We might offer him more money for extending with us.

Reynolds is a decent club player, but not on the money he is reputedly on at your club. He gives the effort no doubt, but he doesn't have the talent to deserve that level of remuneration. If he was on less money he would be alright. Problem is Reynolds will want similar money to what he is on, and knows he won't get it elsewhere. That's what is hamstringing your club with him.

WA Tiger

I

s oliver clark better though? I get we need to fix the cap, but you need to play who you have. I supervise crane and rigging crews on big constuction projects, if i tried shafting every worker i didnt get on with, or who didnt perform for a while, i wouldnt have a job, as noone would want to work for me. But anyway, thats my humble opinion, wont change it, and i respect the right of everyone else to have one, no matter how wrong it is......:joy::joy:
I agree with what you say...but we just don’t know what happend ...we are all guessing ...There’s prob a line that when crossed esp in front of the crew there’s no coming back from...MAYBE from where Packers come from even without the Alcohol he didn’t have a consistent level of discipline / respect required ? ..He used to get over the top excited about stuff on the field that made me wonder about him ....I never rated packer as a player to be feared or able to put a dent in the line..I’ll give Madge the benefit of the doubt until I see proof of him having that tendency to overreact or lose a player due to a falling out in the news ..Thankfully for us all we didn’t see it with this Matterson debacle ..I’ll judge Madge big time on what he does from here on...I think we should move on from Packer for now..This Matterson story is far more interesting..

WA Tiger

I think we all have to all just remember the massive hole we are in the middle of ...we arnt just going to pop out of it...Matterson got a message from God and good luck to him...There’s no arguing with the big fella but Madge has the final say and We’ve got some staunch leaders in our club now one of whom was a kind of a god himself at one point ...They won’t be bullied or fked with ...we gotta be patient this is different from the past

Das Hassler

I think we all have to all just remember the massive hole we are in the middle of ...we arnt just going to pop out of it...Matterson got a message from God and good luck to him...There’s no arguing with the big fella but Madge has the final say and We’ve got some staunch leaders in our club now one of whom was a kind of a god himself at one point ...They won’t be bullied or fked with ...we gotta be patient this is different from the past

"God sent a message but Madge has the final say".....ok then...i think we finally may have the coach we've been looking for

gordsy

What, is he the only big name player in history to play like shit for a few weeks? Ponga dogged it, but he wasnt sent to reserves for the remainder of the season. Moses dogged it but we played him until he left. Darius dogs it weekly, yet he is still played. You know why, because if you have a player taking up a big chunk of the cap you play them. Ala reynolds. Take a minute and comprehend that

Yes but those guys also have really good periods or at least tried, packer did not. Couple that with a poor attitude to training and what do you expect a disciplinarian coach who is trying to change a club with a history of having a losing culture and crap performance club to do. He made the right call. We don't want packer becoming our t-rex. So f**k him off.

BrotherJim05

All this Matterson is a good bloke because he is a Christian is complete bullshit. Being a Christian doesn't make you a good bloke, a merkin is a merkin and no god is going to change that.

It is glaringly obvious what has happened here, Matterson signed with us to get a better gig somewhere else. Cleary probably recognised this which is why he gets more money in his contract after his first year. All this sports psychology bullshit is simply a process to go to a better club.

The real issue isn't Matterson, it's the notion that this is what the Tigers is best for. Apart from our Juniors it's a means to an end, a pathway to finals footy at another club.

I'm f**king over it. Don't release him. Let it be a message to every one of these primadonna merkins that Wests Tigers are no longer a pathway club.

And remember, these idiots are in the early twenties. Their happiness changes from week to week. Once Matterson realises that he will be playing reserves with no hope of Origin if he doesn't perform he will contribute to the team, and if we start winning we will see an article where he never wanted to leave he was just jn a dark place with (insert bullshit excuse)

simmo05

Yes but those guys also have really good periods or at least tried, packer did not. Couple that with a poor attitude to training and what do you expect a disciplinarian coach who is trying to change a club with a history of having a losing culture and crap performance club to do. He made the right call. We don't want packer becoming our t-rex. So f**k him off.
We won 4 from 5 last year at the start of the season with him playing, then we lost 9 from 10 when he got injured, or something like that. But anyway i dont want to waste anymore thumb energy on this, so we agree to disagree. All good!

simmo05

All this Matterson is a good bloke because he is a Christian is complete bullshit. Being a Christian doesn't make you a good bloke, a merkin is a merkin and no god is going to change that.

It is glaringly obvious what has happened here, Matterson signed with us to get a better gig somewhere else. Cleary probably recognised this which is why he gets more money in his contract after his first year. All this sports psychology bullshit is simply a process to go to a better club.

The real issue isn't Matterson, it's the notion that this is what the Tigers is best for. Apart from our Juniors it's a means to an end, a pathway to finals footy at another club.

I'm f**king over it. Don't release him. Let it be a message to every one of these primadonna merkins that Wests Tigers are no longer a pathway club.

And remember, these idiots are in the early twenties. Their happiness changes from week to week. Once Matterson realises that he will be playing reserves with no hope of Origin if he doesn't perform he will contribute to the team, and if we start winning we will see an article where he never wanted to leave he was just jn a dark place with (insert bullshit excuse)
Just saw the madge interview on fox, he said matterson was here for his contracted 2 years. Good, about time we show some stones with these blokes. If they sign a f**ken contract, hold them too it! After this, i wouldnt offer him an upgrade of 1 dollar, ungrateful merkin

Pathway club is something Madge will change.

At Souths he signed 10 players in 2 years and then won a premiership for a club with 41 years in the wilderness.

He’s not perfect, but he is a decent role model that players can look up to. He is easy to follow.

And I imagine he’s up sweating on the roster and ways to build the fallen every other night.

Very few coaches could have squeezed the absolute last drop out of Benji and Farah in their twilight.

Not always, but there were certainly games where our junior forwards obliterated their far more illustrious and gold guilt edged millionaire opponents.

And that historic game in Townsville, the boys showed a resilience, tenacity and purpose you only find in the storms and roosters.

Club is well and truly on the up.

Courage Tigers, if we don’t believe then we don’t stand for anything.

Die a tiger not a screaming bender bandwagon moof :

A58043B4-F857-4B8E-B5D0-FC66803E2C3F.jpeg

I hope Old mate was at the game today.

The unknown

Has Matterson actually come out and confirmed that he said what is being reported?

Not at all.

I find it hilarious they say he's unhappy at the club yet is probably our best forward week in week out. And puts in more than any other player. If that's the case, then I'd be happy for him to be "unhappy" at the club for another 2 years

Much much different to Moses and now Packer who were/are borderline tanking.

Not at all.

I find it hilarious they say he's unhappy at the club yet is probably our best forward week in week out. And puts in more than any other player. If that's the case, then I'd be happy for him to be "unhappy" at the club for another 2 years

Agree, though I thought it was reported (prob here) that Packer was injured.

Not at all.

This is a good point. He sounds like a whiner to me but I don't care. I just don't want to hear about it.

I find this whole unhappiness thing a bit weird. I work in a team and we are constantly restructuring. A guy was notified that he had lost his job last week. The guy turns up each day and appears happy. He has a wife and kid (maybe kids) to feed plus his family are in Kashmir which is in a pretty f**ked up situation.

I have to turn up to work each day and grind it out to feed my 3 ungrateful kids and I don't earn anywhere near what Matterson earns doing what he loves.

Then again I'm an atheist. Maybe that has something to do with it.

Agree, though I thought it was reported (prob here) that Packer was injured.

I don't think Moses or Packer tanked it. I think they just aren't or weren't that good. Packer was I believe injured although he was dropped for that effort against Parra.

Trollhammaren

The silence from Matterson's corner suggests this story to be accurate I reckon. And ya know what, stuff him! I wouldn't let him go unless we can get an upgrade as a replacement. Otherwise perhaps he can re-familiarise himself with the Ron Massey Cup.

super_coach

Like the Cleary saga last year, the Matto drama this year damages our brand name. Rightly or wrongly our brand name is taking another substantial blow and now it will be that little bit harder to recruit players and attract sponsors and new members.

The good clubs sort all the crap out behind closed doors, we always get our drama dragged through the media

The Rosco

All you merkins take note: While I wasn't taught by Brother Jim himself, I did go to a Marist high school. Plenty of Brothers there.
So if anyone here knows about this Christian and religious stuff, my bet it's Brother Jim.

The silence from Matterson's corner suggests this story to be accurate I reckon. And ya know what, stuff him! I wouldn't let him go unless we can get an upgrade as a replacement. Otherwise perhaps he can re-familiarise himself with the Ron Massey Cup.

I reckon the story is accurate and he is a big girl. We need to help him grow up by making him play and play better for us.

Like the Cleary saga last year, the Matto drama this year damages our brand name. Rightly or wrongly our brand name is taking another substantial blow and now it will be that little bit harder to recruit players and attract sponsors and new members.

The good clubs sort all the crap out behind closed doors, we always get our drama dragged through the media

I agree that this would be better off behind closed doors but what do you do ? I think these merkins deliberately drag stuff through the media.

What is the bet this just comes down to Matterson wanting a couple hundred grand more and his manager, him and the club or clubs who want him are doing this just to get there way.

I'd be making a complaint to the integrity unit. He is contracted for 2 more years and cannot talk to another club.