Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sack mcgregor

BennyV

Wow... i love how you jump on and try make out im contradicting myself.
Are you (seeing as you nominated yourself by saying "we") whinging enough or not?
Well, thats irrelevant. What is relevant though is the fact that you all come on here and sook and whinge about management while the team is winning... you all bore the f**k out of us who are enjoying watching our team win, with your constant whinging about management and the board... yet none of you all will go out and do anything about it.
Why dont you all go out and resume holding up the childcare made oust doust banner?
Why arent you all (all 8) out there in front of the club protesting no more?
Isnt it as bad now as it was then?
Yes? Go do something about it?
No? Then shut the f#ck up about it!!
Hahaha its not rocket science!
So, in essence, to put it as simple as possible... why dont you all either do something about it besides whinging on a forum... or just stfu and drop it.
A bunch of whinging little f#cks, teams coming first and kicking ass and you all still sook.
Hahahaha the once proud dragon army is slowly getting known as the whinging littlr bitches.
backpedalling-653x1024.gif

BrissyRedV

At this point in the season, Mary has not just dodged a bullet but more a missile targeted in his direction. He has deservedly earnt a stay of execution! Time now to wait and see what unfolds based on all the facts & results.
Indeed. I have been rather outspoken on the bald drunken one but he deserves credit for the way the team is playing and has earned the rest of the year to show he can get the team to perform consistently well for the duration. I have enjoyed my slice of humble pie thus far but will not be indulging in the whole pie just yet.

Crush

Indeed. I have been rather outspoken on the bald drunken one but he deserves credit for the way the team is playing and has earned the rest of the year to show he can get the team to perform consistently well for the duration. I have enjoyed my slice of humble pie thus far but will not be indulging in the whole pie just yet.
Agree with all that but think calling McGregor the drunk bald one is tough. He was low range DUI the next morning after a big night on the booze probably. We have all done that and I wouldnt like to be called a drunk for having a night on the cans every now and then.

Coffs dragon

Yes so true BRV and I feel many of us are enjoying a slice of Mary's humble pie. Let's just hope the rest doesn't go off before we get to finish the whole thing.
Hopefully Mary finally has the right recipe with his assistants Young & Hornby all contributing. Well done to all the coaching and support team so far!!

BennyV

Agree. The first 6 rounds, IMO, were to see if Mary earns the right to see out the season. He's definitely done that. There will be more tests to come to see if he is worthy of an extension.

Dragons 09

My only concern over an extension for Mary is "what is really behind the transformation in the team's performance so far"? What if we sign him up only to find that someone in the background is in his ear ( and they decide to leave). The transformation is across several areas eg. Performance, skill levels, culture. I have a feeling that it is more then Mary alone responsible for the great changes.

Very astute perspective mate and that is my major concern also. Don't get me wrong, i'm loving what i am seeing at the moment from the team, but to put all that down to Mary and start throwing contracts at him without fully understanding everything that has us playing the footy we are currently playing, would be fundamentally wrong.

There is little doubt in my mind that Mary came into the gig believing Sean O'Connors' hype about him in that he was going to be the next Supercoach. As a result, he thought he knew better than everyone else and became a control freak and some of his comments and actions were bordering on narcissism. He tried to emulate the real Supercoaches by endeavouring to control everything football related and consequently his lack of experience resulted in failures on many fronts.

Something has changed and i think this goes back to late last season when at a post match press conference, Mary spilled some sour grapes in relation to Recruitment and Retention. It was evident to me at least, that Mary's comments and attitude in that presser was as a result of him having his wings clipped and some of the more strategic tasks that he had been involved in, were deleted from his job description. As much as he may have got his nose out of joint by the reshuffling of responsibilities, i feel the result has allowed Mary to just focus on the team, game plans, structures and taking it one week at a time. By not trying to micro manage every facet of the entire football department, he now has the time to be part of an exciting team culture rather than responsible for a frustrated culture, more time to review video of opposition and derive appropriate game plans, more time to focus on our weaknesses and improve them and probably is a lot more relaxed and less stressed which would endear him more to the players and as a result, team and coach are working together as a unit for the first time.

This is just my opinion and i could be totally wrong, but Mary is not the architect of change. Sure, he is playing an important role in the current process, but there are other people driving and steering this change. I know a lot of folks on here scoff at the whole "independent external review" that was reported to have taken place in the off season, but i for one believe it did take place, tough calls were made, certain people had their wings clipped and were put on notice and experienced contributors were brought in to facilitate change and so far we are seeing the benefits of all of this.

The old saying that a "leopard doesn't change his spots" is a major concern for me when discussions about retaining Mary surface. If we retain Mary but lose integral elements of the real architects of change, i fear he could revert to his narcissistic ways and derail the processes and structure that finally have us smiling for the first time in many years. No one else is lining up for Mary's services so there is absolutely no need to rush a decision. In fact, i think it is more important to lock up the services of those who are truly responsible for this shift in fortunes first and only then should a further term for Mary even be discussed.

Just my uneducated opinion:D

blacksafake

Yes so true BRV and I feel many of us are enjoying a slice of Mary's humble pie. Let's just hope the rest doesn't go off before we get to finish the whole thing.
Hopefully Mary finally has the right recipe with his assistants Young & Hornby all contributing. Well done to all the coaching and support team so far!!
My sentiments too CD.
I think i'll have to change my name for him from L plate coach.From today it'll be P plate:D

Agree with all that but think calling McGregor the drunk bald one is tough. He was low range DUI the next morning after a big night on the booze probably. We have all done that and I wouldnt like to be called a drunk for having a night on the cans every now and then.

1. He was drunk.
2. He is bald.

How is that tough?

I find it disconcerting that after mere few wins the apologists are back in full throttle.

Straight Shooter

Crush

1. He was drunk.
2. He is bald.

How is that tough?

I find it disconcerting that after mere few wins the apologists are back in full throttle.

Straight Shooter
I was defending mcgregor before a game was played this year.
I haven't jumped on the bandwagon OV.
I have been positive from round 1.
So don't give ME the few mere wins BS.
You have criticised me about my positive outlook on the coach from day one. Guess what? So far so good....

denis preston

Because of our form he must take some credit but how do you gauge Hornby & Young ? Unless of course he ignored their advice last year . Something tells me Mary is taking plenty of advice on board and it is paying dividends.

Smirrors

I also support Mary. I think he went well last year given what we had and we don't have much better this year. I don't believe he is the sole reason guys like Widdop, Benji and Rein aren't performing.

Revisiting my posts from last year. Happy to be sticking by my guns that Mary isn't the sole problem with the dragons. Benji and Rein leaving turned out to be the best thing for the team. I stand by my comments that the players in 2016 weren't mature enough to be a competitive top 8 team.

Now that the merry go round of coaching has been sorted I would think there is no rush to sign him. You could wait and see how he goes. No one will complain is he ends up getting paid more the higher the dragons finish.

However when it comes to recruitment players will want to know who they are signing for so it stands to reason we would want this sorted out relatively quickly. If I was to take a gamble it'd be for a 2 year deal to the end of 2019.

TheOnlyTeam

Very astute perspective mate and that is my major concern also. Don't get me wrong, i'm loving what i am seeing at the moment from the team, but to put all that down to Mary and start throwing contracts at him without fully understanding everything that has us playing the footy we are currently playing, would be fundamentally wrong.

There is little doubt in my mind that Mary came into the gig believing Sean O'Connors' hype about him in that he was going to be the next Supercoach. As a result, he thought he knew better than everyone else and became a control freak and some of his comments and actions were bordering on narcissism. He tried to emulate the real Supercoaches by endeavouring to control everything football related and consequently his lack of experience resulted in failures on many fronts.

Something has changed and i think this goes back to late last season when at a post match press conference, Mary spilled some sour grapes in relation to Recruitment and Retention. It was evident to me at least, that Mary's comments and attitude in that presser was as a result of him having his wings clipped and some of the more strategic tasks that he had been involved in, were deleted from his job description. As much as he may have got his nose out of joint by the reshuffling of responsibilities, i feel the result has allowed Mary to just focus on the team, game plans, structures and taking it one week at a time. By not trying to micro manage every facet of the entire football department, he now has the time to be part of an exciting team culture rather than responsible for a frustrated culture, more time to review video of opposition and derive appropriate game plans, more time to focus on our weaknesses and improve them and probably is a lot more relaxed and less stressed which would endear him more to the players and as a result, team and coach are working together as a unit for the first time.

This is just my opinion and i could be totally wrong, but Mary is not the architect of change. Sure, he is playing an important role in the current process, but there are other people driving and steering this change. I know a lot of folks on here scoff at the whole "independent external review" that was reported to have taken place in the off season, but i for one believe it did take place, tough calls were made, certain people had their wings clipped and were put on notice and experienced contributors were brought in to facilitate change and so far we are seeing the benefits of all of this.

The old saying that a "leopard doesn't change his spots" is a major concern for me when discussions about retaining Mary surface. If we retain Mary but lose integral elements of the real architects of change, i fear he could revert to his narcissistic ways and derail the processes and structure that finally have us smiling for the first time in many years. No one else is lining up for Mary's services so there is absolutely no need to rush a decision. In fact, i think it is more important to lock up the services of those who are truly responsible for this shift in fortunes first and only then should a further term for Mary even be discussed.

Just my uneducated opinion:D

Crush

So last year's circus was acceptable to you?!!!

RED ALERT: UNADULTERATED APOLOGIST ON THE LOOSE.

Straight Shooter
Last year wasn't great thats for sure but it was a combination of injuries, horrid draw and some ordinary coaching selections from mcgregor.
This year however, so far we look a different team and my gut instinct that mary may had learned from his previous years failures seems to be ringing true, although I admit it is early days.
But my question to you which you keep dodging is what will it take for you to post something positive and forgive the shortcomings of the last 5 years?
How would you react to a top 4 finish this year?
Would you be man enough to congratulate the team, the club and the coach for a solid season?
Or would you just keep spewing your political garbage about failure and mediocrity?
Answer the question, dragons win the comp this year how would you react?