Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sack mcgregor

hewi

Dragons are standing by McGregor ... for now

Dragons coach Paul McGregor is under pressure after the team’s horror start to the season Picture: AAP
  • MICHAEL CARAYANNIS
    RUGBY LEAGUE REPORTER
    0beb81e6c86e4fb2e246fd7a55cc18d3
  • 9:23PM JUNE 9, 2020
  • NO COMMENTS
Paul McGregor has survived but the St George Illawarra coach is still confronting internal issues which could yet threaten his tenure at the under-pressure club.

McGregor’s future was discussed at an emergency video conference board meeting called by Dragons directors on Tuesday morning before club chairman Andrew Gordon emerged to declare the board “will continue to support Paul.”

It is believed he has just four more matches to turn the club’s fortunes around or risk being dismissed. Not even a win against arch rivals Cronulla on Sunday night can guarantee McGregor’s long-term future but a victory will keep some of the heat off.

READ NEXT
Despite pressure from fans and members for their coach to be sacked, the board elected against axing McGregor despite the club’s 0-4 start to the 2020 season.

Kayo is your ticket to the 2020 NRL Telstra Premiership. Every game of every round Live & On-Demand with no-ad breaks during play. New to Kayo? Get your 14-day free trial & start streaming instantly >

The frugal club would have been forced into a $1m payout to oust McGregor.

READ MORE:Dragons fans breathe fire in bid to torch McGregor|McGregor defiant as the walls close in|Why Dragons rushed to re-sign McGregor|Dungeon beckons for Dogs or Dragons|Warriors put heat on Dragons coach|The Quiz: test your sporting knowledge
Frustration at the club’s performances – which included finishing 15th last season – reached boiling point after a 22-2 loss to fellow strugglers Canterbury on Monday.

The Australian can reveal St George Illawarra’s board, management, football staff and players are aware of multiple problems at the club. They include:
• Senior players losing their hunger because they feel protected by McGregor;
• McGregor’s work ethic being so intense that some players feel he has become too regimented;
• Relaxing strict game plans allowing players to have more fun and to improvise on the field;
• Players – and their managers – being told to stop leaking stories to the media;
• Fears players are lacking confidence, are playing negatively and are questioning themselves;
• Players being too quiet on the field through a fear of losing;
• A fear that losing the next two games – against Cronulla and Gold Coast – could trigger another wave of speculation;

McGregor is just four games into a new two-season deal and it would have cost the club between $1.6m to $1.8m to sack and replace him. If McGregor is sacked he would be the second coach in the joint-venture’s history to be shown the door with more than a year left on their contract.

Not since Andrew Farrar was axed at the end of 2002 has a coach left the club with significant time left on their contract.

The Dragons board was due to meet on June 16 but were forced to bring forward their discussions after Sunday’s horror loss. St George Illawarra are running last on the competition table and have not scored a try in 81 days.

Those close to the club are adamant senior players – including Ben Hunt, James Graham, Paul Vaughan, Corey Norman, Tariq Sims and Tyson Frizell – must share the blame and responsibility for McGregor’s demise. Hunt and Norman are filling $2m a year in the club’s salary cap.

McGregor, 52, did not attend the board meeting because he had planned to complete a video review of Monday’s loss. Privately, board members claimed it was the first time they had discussed McGregor’s future.

In a club statement, Gordon said: “Although the board acknowledges the club’s performances so far throughout 2020 have been unacceptable, we will continue to support Paul, his staff and the team through these tough times.

“We are committed to Paul as coach of the St George Illawarra Dragons and look forward to seeing him right the wrongs of the opening month of the current campaign. We are a club that stands by our people when under pressure. This is a time for loyalty, strength and commitment from the players, coach, board and staff to improve.”

McGregor isn’t coaching for money, only passion. He became wealthy through a successful chemical cleaning company he co-owned and sold in 2016

St Georgio

Dragons coach Paul McGregor is under pressure after the team’s horror start to the season Picture: AAP
Paul McGregor has survived but the St George Illawarra coach is still confronting internal issues which could yet threaten his tenure at the under-pressure club.

McGregor’s future was discussed at an emergency video conference board meeting called by Dragons directors on Tuesday morning before club chairman Andrew Gordon emerged to declare the board “will continue to support Paul.”

It is believed he has just four more matches to turn the club’s fortunes around or risk being dismissed. Not even a win against arch rivals Cronulla on Sunday night can guarantee McGregor’s long-term future but a victory will keep some of the heat off.

READ NEXT
Despite pressure from fans and members for their coach to be sacked, the board elected against axing McGregor despite the club’s 0-4 start to the 2020 season.

Kayo is your ticket to the 2020 NRL Telstra Premiership. Every game of every round Live & On-Demand with no-ad breaks during play. New to Kayo? Get your 14-day free trial & start streaming instantly >

READ MORE:Dragons fans breathe fire in bid to torch McGregor|McGregor defiant as the walls close in|Why Dragons rushed to re-sign McGregor|Dungeon beckons for Dogs or Dragons|Warriors put heat on Dragons coach|The Quiz: test your sporting knowledge
Frustration at the club’s performances – which included finishing 15th last season – reached boiling point after a 22-2 loss to fellow strugglers Canterbury on Monday.

The Australian can reveal St George Illawarra’s board, management, football staff and players are aware of multiple problems at the club. They include:
• McGregor’s work ethic being so intense that some players feel he has become too regimented;
• Relaxing strict game plans allowing players to have more fun and to improvise on the field;
• Players – and their managers – being told to stop leaking stories to the media;
• Fears players are lacking confidence, are playing negatively and are questioning themselves;
• A fear that losing the next two games – against Cronulla and Gold Coast – could trigger another wave of speculation;

McGregor is just four games into a new two-season deal and it would have cost the club between $1.6m to $1.8m to sack and replace him. If McGregor is sacked he would be the second coach in the joint-venture’s history to be shown the door with more than a year left on their contract.

Not since Andrew Farrar was axed at the end of 2002 has a coach left the club with significant time left on their contract.

The Dragons board was due to meet on June 16 but were forced to bring forward their discussions after Sunday’s horror loss. St George Illawarra are running last on the competition table and have not scored a try in 81 days.

Those close to the club are adamant senior players – including Ben Hunt, James Graham, Paul Vaughan, Corey Norman, Tariq Sims and Tyson Frizell – must share the blame and responsibility for McGregor’s demise. Hunt and Norman are filling $2m a year in the club’s salary cap.

McGregor, 52, did not attend the board meeting because he had planned to complete a video review of Monday’s loss. Privately, board members claimed it was the first time they had discussed McGregor’s future.

In a club statement, Gordon said: “Although the board acknowledges the club’s performances so far throughout 2020 have been unacceptable, we will continue to support Paul, his staff and the team through these tough times.

“We are committed to Paul as coach of the St George Illawarra Dragons and look forward to seeing him right the wrongs of the opening month of the current campaign. We are a club that stands by our people when under pressure. This is a time for loyalty, strength and commitment from the players, coach, board and staff to improve.”

McGregor isn’t coaching for money, only passion. He became wealthy through a successful chemical cleaning company he co-owned and sold in 2016

Yes this, as I have said many many times, he a very lucky lottery Winner. Park Footy Coach!

St Georgio

There needs to be a 5.5 year plan put into place and they should follow the Newcastle Knights formula.
I think the man to rebuild the Dragons is Nathan Brown, I think he should be brought in over the next 2.5 years before given someone like Craig Fitzgibbon or a Jason Ryles a go at the head coach position, the Rookie must come from a successful system.
Our Grease Monkey will be sacked next month appointing someone like a Dean Young would be a complete f**king disaster

LINESPEED

Hooray and best article in 6 years......what’s taken them so long to state the obvious!

Hello there Webb
(no more Ryan for you - as the gloves are off & it’s war mate)
On your
DAY 65

There’s nowhere now to hide

.... as the media and every fan & his dog knows the corrupted machinations & characters in this heist

All exposed
Especially the Gordons

And the usual deflection, spin & bullshit is hammered & immediately ridiculed for what it is:

Gutless sycophancy to The Gordons

And the media’s all over it
... doing the Fans’ job for us

And they’ll dig deeper & expose some interesting hypocrisies

“The soft-serve waffle coming out of their new L-plate CEO might sound nice in a zoom meeting about marketing but in the hostile world of NRL CEO’s, player agents, media and coaches he’s going to get barbecued.”

We’ve warned you Webb & Co
You got suckered

Again,
all for what?

To protect the arse of an illiterate bogan NRL fraudster
REALLY??

So much skin
lost by so many
so unnecessarily
- just to protect THIS clown?

Leak on boys!
Bring him down

Hoops seemed to have missed the most damning stat:

McFail is the 2nd worst longterm coach by final ladder position in 113 years of NRL history

56th/57 in fact

His best is 7th in 141 games
(Wayne Pearce managed an 8th @#1)

C’mon NRL360 - run that one for The Gordon Benefactors

My take is that the Board was ready to pay Mary out. The decision was made and just had to be ratified; why else would they call an emergency meeting? I've been told that Shephard and Flanagan would not agree to the plan for them to report to Dean Young as interim coach, something Craig Young was pushing hard for. So to have Dean Young as interim coach, all three Mary, Shephard and Flanagan would have to be sacked, paid out and replaced.

I would not be surprised if Bennett came on board as Head Coach in November 2020 on a two year deal with Dean Young as his assistant.

hazzbeen

READ NEXT

. The place is F**ked the Gordon's are controlling everything ..... Andrew's top dog daddy's got the money ........

Coffs dragon

I know everyone seems to bag the Young’s, but at least between Craig and Dean they gave us 3 premierships and many happy memories of enjoyment watching the mighty RedV.
What have the Gordon’s & Millward’s given us besides the shits, or just plain dumb decision making and mediocrity.
Sure Craig Young was a poor coach and crab recruitment manager, but he was a Saints legend of a player and strong club captain. Certainly deserving of respect compared to the other family leaches

I know everyone seems to bag the Young’s, but at least between Craig and Dean they gave us 3 premierships and many happy memories of enjoyment watching the mighty RedV.
What have the Gordon’s & Millward’s given us besides the shits, or just plain dumb decision making and mediocrity.
Sure Craig Young was a poor coach and crab recruitment manager, but he was a Saints legend of a player and strong club captain. Certainly deserving of respect compared to the other family leaches
I doubt anyone on here doubts the contribution to the club made by Mary, Craig Young and Dean Young as players. However, ii is very clear to me, just because a person was a good player, does not necessarily make him a good coach or administrator. Craig Young was a good player but as a coach, recruitment officer and as a Board member he is rubbish. Noes in the trough and enrichment for himself and his son Dean seems to be his main priority.

If Mary and Millward truly cared about the Club, they would have resignedd from their positions a long time ago. Both have a huge MESS on their hands and it is dragging the Club down rapidly.

Reflector

Some very notable drivers indeed, and each leaders & legends in there own right.

Aside from their obvious talents behind the wheel, each of them had / have a knack for rallying their teams around them and extracting everything possible to both maintain and improve performance of the car and themselves.

True leaders. More than we can say for any figure within STGI in recent times...

Gunter Steiner would manage the Dragons better than Macgregor. He wouldn't tolerate focking excuses and would emphasise how they'd been playing like focking vankers instead of rockstars.

LINESPEED

My take is that the Board was ready to pay Mary out. The decision was made and just had to be ratified; why else would they call an emergency meeting? I've been told that Shephard and Flanagan would not agree to the plan for them to report to Dean Young as interim coach, something Craig Young was pushing hard for. So to have Dean Young as interim coach, all three Mary, Shephard and Flanagan would have to be sacked, paid out and replaced.

I would not be surprised if Bennett came on board as Head Coach in November 2020 on a two year deal with Dean Young as his assistant.

So Andrew Gordon you’ve now allowed your undying love of your grovelling Clown to expose you as the ringmaster of the WINless circus

...King Lear-like as ‘unaccommodated man’ on the heath above Austinmer

How shall your houseless heads and unfed sides,
Your looped and windowed raggedness, defend you
From seasons such as these?

Once a king
now The Fool

(or should we say
more Waterboy roadkill)

Perhaps you should relocate to your Daddy’s estate, appropriately & ironically called ‘Wreck Hill’ in Bermuda?
You know,
For solace
R&R
And a serious rethink of your actions

All McFail has ever accorded you is an association with poor judgment, failure & now massive media scrutiny & negativity.

Your statement in support of your discredited & dismal mate yesterday surely ranks as one of the most outlandishly ridiculous misjudgments of a coach’s capacity in NRL history

....especially considering his recent results
...and that over his 7 years he ranks as the 2nd worst coach in 113years of rugby league history

FMD

hazzbeen

So Andrew Gordon you’ve now allowed your undying love of your grovelling Clown to expose you as the ringmaster of the WINless circus

...King Lear-like as ‘unaccommodated man’ on the heath above Austinmer

How shall your houseless heads and unfed sides,
Your looped and windowed raggedness, defend you
From seasons such as these?

Once a king
now The Fool

(or should we say
more Waterboy roadkill)

Perhaps you should relocate to your Daddy’s place, appropriately & ironically called ‘Wreck Hill’ in Bermuda?
You know,
For solace
R&R
And a serious rethink of your actions

All McFail has ever accorded you is an association with poor judgment, failure & now massive media scrutiny & negativity.

Your statement in support of your discredited & dismal mate yesterday surely ranks as one of the most outlandishly ridiculous misjudgments of a coach’s capacity in NRL history

....especially considering his recent results
...and that over his 7 years he ranks as the 2nd worst coach in 113years of rugby league history

FMD
Agree except the FMD it should be FthemD ....

Coffs dragon

I doubt anyone on here doubts the contribution to the club made by Mary, Craig Young and Dean Young as players. However, ii is very clear to me, just because a person was a good player, does not necessarily make him a good coach or administrator. Craig Young was a good player but as a coach, recruitment officer and as a Board member he is rubbish. Noes in the trough and enrichment for himself and his son Dean seems to be his main priority.

If Mary and Millward truly cared about the Club, they would have resignedd from their positions a long time ago. Both have a huge MESS on their hands and it is dragging the Club down rapidly.
Possm I do agree with your opinions & yet I'm so so pissed off with this club and McGregor's coaching, that sadly even Dean Young would be an improvement. Sure he's not the answer, but I'd rather they do something......anything, than stick with McDud.

hazzbeen

Possm I do agree with your opinions & yet I'm so so pissed off with this club and McGregor's coaching, that sadly even Dean Young would be an improvement. Sure he's not the answer, but I'd rather they do something......anything, than stick with McDud.
Why can't Flanno take over as care taker coach or isn't it allowed ? If not let the chef from the Bistro take over , that would do me , he can't do any worst than the way we are now ....