Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Salary Cap

I agree with him.

Me too. We are fortunate to have a young CEO with a bright mind and an excellent attitude. He always clearly explains the real issues and always offers sound suggestions towards a successful outcome.

Those on this forum who keep whinging about our playing roster should carefully read, and fully absorb, what Seward is saying before going off half cocked with a raft of negative comments about players ,coaching staff, and the current Board. Any fool can critize, condemn, and complain and most fools do.

There are many positives to come out of all the current drama indicating much better times ahead. :D

Mate we don't have one for next season either.

There's no point blaming Hayne.

Once he goes surely the club needed some sort of plan.

If avenger's mail is right, our plan is to hope he comes back.

And by the way, if he had played this year presumably our salary cap would be completely and utterly f*d.*ke

The bitching at Hayne is completely useless. Unless you just accept that the whole season was a right off because he left.

Not good enough. Other better run clubs signed gun fullbacks for this year - Brett Morris, Ben barba, and Brisbane signed about 8 of them.

What's you logic here? Unless the entire problem this season is about Hayne leaving, people can't complain about the fact that the bloke shot through in the off-season, which severely limiting our options in replacing him? Why does his leaving have to be the *only* reason for our problems before people are allowed to pissed off with it? It is not our only problem, but it is a significant factor and I don't like it. Got no problem with him leaving to pursue his dream or whatever....but the timing and lack of notice left us up the proverbial. If we are going to bitch at all (which of course IS pointless in the larger scheme of things) I don't see why people's decisions are immune to criticism, and others' aren't.

There's no reason to believe that our 2015 cap would have been f**ked if he stayed (any more so than our 2nd tier cap is presently). We've signed and, more importantly, renewed players since then. And there's been no suggestion that we're about to breach the 2015 Top 25 cap (that I've heard anyway).

And Morris had agreed to terms with the Dogs in September...it just took the Dragons till October to confirm his release. Who did Brisbane sign after Hayne left? Barba is the only one who was on the market in October, and he was and is a massive risk.

I'm sure the said fullback didn't wake up on a September morning and decide he was going to ditch his contract and go try a competely different sport on the other side of the world. He would have know months earlier and really should have told the club so they could make arrangements for 2015. He carried on about how loyal he was but really in my book it was a dog act to do to the club that made him and was paying packet loads of money. And if the club knew earlier then they are complete idiots for not going in to the market with his money and buying a good full back and not relay on a part time one.

i'm a bit over the whole thing to be honest i hope he makes a go of it just so he didnt rip the guts out of parra for nothing but i follow the team not one player he can play nfl or play tiddlywinks i dont care what he does

Bigfella

What's you logic here? Unless the entire problem this season is about Hayne leaving, people can't complain about the fact that the bloke shot through in the off-season, which severely limiting our options in replacing him? Why does his leaving have to be the *only* reason for our problems before people are allowed to pissed off with it? It is not our only problem, but it is a significant factor and I don't like it. Got no problem with him leaving to pursue his dream or whatever....but the timing and lack of notice left us up the proverbial. If we are going to bitch at all (which of course IS pointless in the larger scheme of things) I don't see why people's decisions are immune to criticism, and others' aren't.

There's no reason to believe that our 2015 cap would have been f**ked if he stayed (any more so than our 2nd tier cap is presently). We've signed and, more importantly, renewed players since then. And there's been no suggestion that we're about to breach the 2015 Top 25 cap (that I've heard anyway).

And Morris had agreed to terms with the Dogs in September...it just took the Dragons till October to confirm his release. Who did Brisbane sign after Hayne left? Barba is the only one who was on the market in October, and he was and is a massive risk.

The point is pretty f**king obvious I would have thought.

There is no point still whinging at Hayne about our lack of notice.

We still don't have a plan for fullback for NEXT YEAR.

What is the point of complaining about Hayne? Some absolute top quality fullbacks have been traded for both 2015 and 2016.

Despite claiming at the time that we had a "hit list" of fullbacks the CEO now concedes we desperately need one.

Plus there is a suspended sentence of 4 points in place for next year which suggests we must be marginal for this year. What if hayne's salary was added to that? I'm tipping we'd be in trouble. Especially as watmough's salary this year was reported to be heavily subsidised by Manly.

There is a very strong inference that we didn't have enough cap space for 2015 - hence why we never replaced Hayne or bought the "gun centre" which Seward said we were looking at.

Unless the decision that Hopoate could replace him was genuine, in which case it was just an epic f**k up.

And it is not supported by the continuing failure to add a fullback once it became obvious that he wasn't up to it. Or to add one for next year.

The other remaining explanation would seem to be just general incompetence, which is also compelling.

Tony Bongo

I completely agree Barry.
There is nothing we can do now other than understand the predicament that Hayne has left BA and his teammates in and cut them some slack. I'm surprised how well we have competed this year TBH and it's a shame that we haven't scraped through with an extra win or two.
When you combine Hayne's dog act with our 2nd tier salary cap restraints I think we are travelling OK under the circumstances. With any luck we don't get thrown any more curve balls before season's end and we can look forward to a more promising 2016.

Kornstar

CLUB PAID FOR TRAIN?S REPAIRS
The club shelled out $15,000 so he could attend a training camp in Seattle, in breach of the *salary cap. But it turns out the leagues club also chipped in a similar amount when Hayne needed his car repaired.
http://www.news.com.au/national/wha...head-of-schedule/story-e6frfkp9-1227366568868

The NRL should investigate every single club then.

If those useless merkins at the NRL were serious they would investigate a lot more clubs because if they think the Eels are alone with this kind of stuff, they are dumber than I already think they are.

Absolute amateurs running one of the biggest codes in the country, the NRL won't be strong for too long if they don't sort their shit out, the next TV contract may be back to the crappy amounts we used to get if they're not careful.

Thank f**k for the NFL and GamePass because when the amateurs in charge run the league into the ground at least I will have a sport to follow easily as I can't get into soccer, afl or union.

I bleed blue & gold

So the Chooks sent Ferguson over to the US to get new treatment on his injured ankle, would all the expenses of that trip count under the cap?

Any fool can critize, condemn, and complain and most fools do.

Ain't that the truth. So many keyboard coaches think winning footy games at the Eels should be so easy. When it isn't they just pick one scapegoat after another. This week it's Tim Mannah. Next week it'll probably be the coach again.