Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Salary Cap

Unless the decision that Hopoate could replace him was genuine, in which case it was just an epic f**k up.

Hopoate made his name as a rookie with consecutive man-of-the-match performances at fullback in 2011. He was the natural choice at fullback this year. Robinson also played his best footy at fullback for Canberra. Why would we not think we would have a fullback option out of those two?

Bigfella

I completely agree Barry.
There is nothing we can do now other than understand the predicament that Hayne has left BA and his teammates in and cut them some slack. I'm surprised how well we have competed this year TBH and it's a shame that we haven't scraped through with an extra win or two.
When you combine Hayne's dog act with our 2nd tier salary cap restraints I think we are travelling OK under the circumstances. With any luck we don't get thrown any more curve balls before season's end and we can look forward to a more promising 2016.

Good point Bong Head.

We should actually play with no fullback for the next few years as a silent protest against him.

There is nothing that could or can have been done.

Bigfella

Hopoate made his name as a rookie with consecutive man-of-the-match performances at fullback in 2011. He was the natural choice at fullback this year. Robinson also played his best footy at fullback for Canberra. Why would we not think we would have a fullback option out of those two?

Because Robinson's defence is not up to it and Hopoate didn't have the pace for it.

A lot of people with no idea assumed Hopoate would be the answer so you don't have to be ashamed pou.

But the football staff should have known better.

And once it was obvious proper plans should have been made for a replacement.

At present we are hoping a third stringer from a below average team will be released from his contract.

Do you think that is acceptable for just about the most important position on the field?

Bigfella

I'll be interested in your reply because you don't base your opinion about our administration on whether one of the inner staff say hello to you on game day or release third hand information to make you feel superior on the forums.

Tony Bongo

CLUB PAID FOR TRAIN?S REPAIRS
The club shelled out $15,000 so he could attend a training camp in Seattle, in breach of the *salary cap. But it turns out the leagues club also chipped in a similar amount when Hayne needed his car repaired.
http://www.news.com.au/national/wha...head-of-schedule/story-e6frfkp9-1227366568868

Don't a lot of players get given cars in their 3rd party deals or by sponsors? Was it possibly one of these cars that needed repairs? All the Titans players HAVE TO drive Audi's because Audi sponsor them. Terry Shields and Kwik Fix mechanical are both commercial partners but who knows what dodgy deals were being done by the last mob?

Actually mate, I thought either Hopoate or Robinson would be good enough to play fullback, and in fact I still do. Fullback isn't the problem in our team, and it wasn't again on Friday night. Sure Sandow made a couple of mistakes but any experienced fullback could have made those. I have even seen Slater make mistakes 'any fullback should not have made'. It's a tough position and even the best of them f**k up conspicuously and often. Gordon (if he comes) will f**k up too and look ordinary in attack sometimes, but he should certainly fix our goalkicking. But f**k knows why Sandow has gone from an 85% kicker to a 65% kicker in the space of three years.

Tony Bongo

Good point Bong Head.

We should actually play with no fullback for the next few years as a silent protest against him.

There is nothing that could or can have been done.

We have and always have had fullback options including Sandow, Hopoate, Robinson and Norman (who is possibly using some clause in his contract to not play there). Hayne is the type of player that is not easily replaced - not even in the NSW origin team. Having more time to do so would have made a massive difference to where we are right now but that's a hard point to get across to some people.
Sandow isn't a great fullback right now but I reckon he could make a very good one. I recall when Barber was first moved to fullback in 2011, that he struggled and looked out of place. Everyone used to target him and then all of a sudden he adjusted to the position and started kicking ass. He scored a hat trick against us in round 6 and the following year he won the Dally M.
I wouldn't be surprised if BA persists with Sandow at FB and I don't think it was stupid putting him there last week in the first place. He made some good one on one tackles and was safe under the high ball. One bad positional defensive read in poor conditions doesn't make him a bad fullback. I've even seen Hayne f**k up like that in the past.

Tony Bongo

Actually mate, I thought either Hopoate or Robinson would be good enough to play fullback, and in fact I still do. Fullback isn't the problem in our team, and it wasn't again on Friday night. Sure Sandow made a couple of mistakes but any experienced fullback could have made those. I have even seen Slater make mistakes 'any fullback should not have made'. It's a tough position and even the best of them f**k up conspicuously and often. Gordon (if he comes) will f**k up too and look ordinary in attack sometimes, but he should certainly fix our goalkicking. But f**k knows why Sandow has gone from an 85% kicker to a 65% kicker in the space of three years.

I was busy writing up my post while you posted this Pou. It looks like I'm as f**king stupid as you are sometimes.
As for Sandow's poor kicking form I'm of the belief that it's simply a matter of him losing confidence in that area of his game. Once he gets it back I reckon his success rate will increase again.

I agree with this statement. I think it was reasonable to assume that Hoppa would be a success as he was a very good fullback in his junior days and was our second highest paid player after Hayne and our only State of origin rep.

Do you think that is acceptable for just about the most important position on the field?

No it's not, that is why we are trying to get a capable fullback for now and next year. His name is Michael Gordon and Cronulla are playing hardball.

Bigfella

That's just mind boggling.

And like I said earlier, the fact that our administrations seems to have the same view is the scariest part.

I guess we should strap ourselves in for more years of mediocrity.

I will need to get a taste for a shit sandwich and learn the art of grinning and asking for more like you guys have managed

Tony Bongo

That's just mind boggling.

And like I said earlier, the fact that our administrations seems to have the same view is the scariest part.

I guess we should strap ourselves in for more years of mediocrity.

I will need to get a taste for a shit sandwich and learn the art of grinning and asking for more like you guys have managed

I just wash it down with loads of beer. It makes everything taste better or you just forget how bad it really is.

Just a note to the doomsayers: We win against Warriors and Bunnies with a goal here and there and we'd be on 10 points, coming equal 4th.

must be great to live in pretend land, we are really not that bad and not really running stone motherless.

I honestly don't care if we're competitive and lose. It happens to every team. The important thing is we gave ourselves a chance to win, which we haven't always done since about 2007.

Joshuatheeel

Yep, the side just needs some fine tuning cough cough, a decent half, another strong forward, a full back and a bunch of players with another year of experience!!

I want to win this year and hate losing, and next year is to long to wait. But I really think we are building towards a few successful seasons.