Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Scomo saving me

Quicksilver

Near where I live about 5 years ago, small local butcher who made top bangers and sold quality meat, hired young apprentices.Every few months or so ,I see another apprentice on deck. Other occasions the butcher himself was all that was working there.

One day I waltz in ,and for the first time I can remember he is in real a sh*tty mood, he is on his own that day.Says to me,I won't be here next week mate,I'm finishing up the business.Then he spills."i've been hiring these young blokes, they ring up with little notice saying they are crook, some in the end can't continue because it's too hard, some get on the p*ss and have hangovers.In the end it's taking too much of a toll, when I'm trying to service customers and provide a living and provide work for these young guys.It's just not worth my best efforts."
Ironically I see the guy now ,as an employee for another butcher.No stress, no worries.No doubt earning less, but he is a damn side happier.
The crazy part he would have most certainly stayed in his business ,if his apprentices had been reliable, and TBH they would have jobs now even under today's problems.

I've seen the rorting in industries I've been involved in, shipping, banking and export.In the end it costs us all.The abuse of sickies.pilfering and just plain bludging.And I've been a union member (as a prerequisite)in shipping and banking.
f**k mate, that's a good one. You should ring up Hadley to tell him.

Generalzod

It’s not just me either.
A good mate own’s a tattoo joint.
He used to fly solo.
Then he started winning competitions and his business went nuts.
So ... he hired some young gun artists on top dollar.
For the last 6 months he noticed stuff like boxes of gloves and other things going missing.
Then he found out the young guns were going to start up their own shop.
They had been stealing stock getting ready.
Then COVID happened.
He is shut down and can’t sack those f**kers but has had to pay them for all the time before he could figure out the job keeper stuff.

Scarey times.
I have a thousand stories about workers just rorting us.
They are like little girls.
Dobbing on coworkers for inappropriate jokes.
This is grown men in a factory.
One dick reported another bloke for a pedo joke.
All because ( get this ) The dobber didn’t like garlic.
The other dude is Greek and heated up his lunch in the microwave. it had garlic in it.
So this dick made a formal complaint.
So the Greek dude ( an excellent worker ) put a entire bag of garlic in the microwave and turn it on 20 minutes and then went home.
Ha
I had to chuck the bloody oven out.
So then it was on between the two of them.
FMD argh
If we go bust I’m getting a job working for the council or something where I don’t have to give a shit about keeping ungrateful merkins in a job.
Yep we’ve become a nation of umaaaaaa I’m dobbing on you, our nation was never liked this people actually kept to themselves and minded their own business, dobbing people for using a hose instead of a bucket to clean the car, robbing people for using the sprinkler...I’m actually blaming the government..

Plus
We make the call on redundancy with plenty of notice and planning ...and revenue still coming in.

This shit was dropped on us in record time.
Nobody has had to deal with this before.
hahaha Record time! ? The hail storm that wiped us out in oct 2018 was over in 5 minutes.Record breaking crop one minute nothing next . income gone income producing trees severely damaged . more work no income to pay hired help or for repairs to farm. followed up by drought making twice amounr of water needed .And price to buy excess water x4 ..You want I should cry for you?

Yep we’ve become a nation of umaaaaaa I’m dobbing on you, our nation was never liked this people actually kept to themselves and minded their own business, dobbing people for using a hose instead of a bucket to clean the car, robbing people for using the sprinkler...I’m actually blaming the government..
The bloke doing the dobbing didn’t know this but I was watching him with a chick at lunchtime.
He’d go and eat his lunch across the road.
I’d see him cheating on his wife almost every day ... just kissing.
The f**ker still works for us.
He does his job well .. Massive brown tonguer (he is just a dick) and I have no real good reason to sack him.
If carney can win an unfair dismissal after drinking his own piss in public what chance have I got with my bloke.

taipan

The aprenticeship setup served australia well (another difference btween usa )I have had a few youmg blokes here and honestly,you take away the time supervising them and the now minimal junior wage diff . .. absolute bs.unfortunately rural industries went dowm back packers route . No choice really. Now cant hire a young bloke and train him. costs to much

Doesn't help the hard working butcher guy, at work at sparrow f*rt getting the meat ready.He spent time training them, and they just basically said stuff it.Money in many junior positions is ordinary ,that's life.

I've been told most young Aussies find the fruit picking too hard, hence the push for backpackers looking to pay for their Oz holiday.Can't confirm if that is 100% factual.

I remember my oldest daughter wanted to get some cash behind her, whilst attending hIgh school on weekends.She called in to over 21 shops in the local shopping area chasing work, and got a job in a pastry shop.She worked weekends for about 3 years, and during that time the owner so impressed with her work ethic ended up ,paying her adult wages.That's what I call a decent employer ,if they can fianncially do so.

Quicksilver

Doesn't help the hard working butcher guy, at work at sparrow f*rt getting the meat ready.He spent time training them, and they just basically said stuff it.Money in many junior positions is ordinary ,that's life.
They'd be f**king stupid to stay there if they can get better money doing something else.

Better read up on your history.

Disruptions in terms of natural disaster, war, plague, market crashes etc do have a tendency to happen.

Please enlighten me on the last time here in Australia the government enforced a lockdown that lasted 6 weeks ( approximately).
Or any type of natural or man made disaster.

Quicksilver

Please enlighten me on the last time here in Australia the government enforced a lockdown that lasted 6 weeks ( approximately).
Or any type of natural or man made disaster.

Well the bush fires just a couple of weeks earlier were a fair disruption in many places.

It takes a bit of a broader perspective to understand this type of risk. It requires stepping back and looking at things in an historical and international context. Most people are quite insular and don't understand these things. I don't blame you for your naivety. But it is foreseeable for those with a bit of vision.

I've been told most young Aussies find the fruit picking too hard, hence the push for backpackers looking to pay for their Oz holiday.Can't confirm if that is 100% factual.

I remember my oldest daughter wanted to get some cash behind her, whilst attending hIgh school on weekends.She called in to over 21 shops in the local shopping area chasing work, and got a job in a pastry shop.She worked weekends for about 3 years, and during that time the owner so impressed with her work ethic ended up ,paying her adult wages.That's what I call a decent employer ,if they can fianncially do so.
I have no problem paying for skill,and co operation. I get a little miffed paying same wage to an unskilled ,uncooperative young bloke as some one,who I can say this is what i need done . see you later. Under current rules I need to pay both same
.one too much ,the other not enough

Generalzod

The bloke doing the dobbing didn’t know this but I was watching him with a chick at lunchtime.
He does his job well .. Massive brown tonguer (he is just a dick) and I have no real good reason to sack him.
If carney can win an unfair dismissal after drinking his own piss in public what chance have I got with my bloke.
It usually the brown tongues that get a head in life..

taipan

f**k mate, that's a good one. You should ring up Hadley to tell him.

I'm sorry, it is factual and doesn't suit your style..It's not a good one,Ii's a sad one for any sole business owner.You think it's funny.

Why would I ring up that nimrod? I'd say it's probably 10 plus years since I bothered listening to that clown, and only for football.He and Jones are just about the bottom of my radio list and certainly at teh bottom of my list of people I have any time for.

Do you want me to provide the name of the butcher, the location, the type of sausages and whether they were fat free?The name of the new butchershop?

Quicksilver

everybody be brain surgeons
Good thinking
Haha
Who’s going to fix my Ferrari?

They don't need to be a brain surgeon but if they've got a better opportunity they should pursue it rather than worrying about cleaning a butcher's bin for $200 pw.

That's the beauty of free market capitalism babay!!!!

Quicksilver

No
That didn’t force a lockdown of the entire planet
Have another go

It takes a bit of a broader perspective to understand this type of risk. It requires stepping back and looking at things in an historical and international context. Most people are quite insular and don't understand these things. I don't blame you for your naivety. But it is foreseeable for those with a bit of vision.

taipan

They'd be f**king stupid to stay there if they can get better money doing something else.

Well at least have the decency to say to the owner.I can either do better elsewhere,I'm sorry bu butchering is not my cup of tea, instead of not showing up and offering a p*ss weak excuse ,just before the shop opened.

From what I gathered it was too hard, and they wanted fun times during the week.If they had jobs lined up elsewhere why continue the sickies for months on end and then squirt off?

I've changed jobs, but always had the decency of providing the employer notice ,so he has the opportunity to fill the position.
Everyone is entitled to do the best for themselves, I accept that fact.

Does his job well... rest is none of your busimess . why are you staring out window when you should be working?

Quicksilver

Well at least have the decency to say to the owner.I've can either do better elsewhere,I'm sorry bu butchering is not my cup of tea, instead of not showing up and offering a p*ss weak excuse just before the shop opened.

From what I gathered it was too hard, and they wanted fun times during the week.If they had jobs lined up elsewhere why continue the sickies for months on end and then squirt off?

I've changed jobs, but always had the decency of providing the employer notice ,so he has the opportunity to fill the position.
Everyone is entitled to do the best for themselves, I accept that fact.

Yeah well that would be the decent thing to do.

But then again, we don't know if the employer was decent to them, either.

They don't need to be a brain surgeon but if they've got a better opportunity they should pursue it rather than worrying about cleaning a butcher's bin for $200 pw.

That's the beauty of free market capitalism babay!!!!

see you are starting to understand what it must be like to be the employer.

good boy.