Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Scomo saving me

Well the bush fires just a couple of weeks earlier were a fair disruption in many places.

It takes a bit of a broader perspective to understand this type of risk. It requires stepping back and looking at things in an historical and international context. Most people are quite insular and don't understand these things. I don't blame you for your naivety. But it is foreseeable for those with a bit of vision.
absolutely ....and shows what vision our elected reps have. get one with half an idea and they get cut down.

see you are starting to understand what it must be like to be the employer.

good boy.
well theres employers,some really good ,some really bad,Not an easy gig unless you are just a sociopathic bully. then there's employees some who love their work and do it to best of their ability,,then theres bad ones that resent having to work have chip on shoulder and are more trouble than good , and then theres the brown tongue sycophants that try to ingratiate themselves to the employers to get ahead.and very often do.......They are the worst......Thats another debate I guess

taipan

Yeah well that would be the decent thing to do.

But then again, we don't know if the employer was decent to them, either.

Mate he continued to employ the young blokes ,even when they had a number of sickies, and the final straw came when he had a whack of orders to complete, and the young bloke rang in for another sickie.

He may have been tough(There are ruthless owners), I don't know ,but if you are learning a job ,you pay attention to the person's instruction, he's not there to pamper you like a baby. If he was such a bast*rd, they would have left earlier.He was the one with the patience to continue employing them.

I've had tough people at times in more senior roles, you live with it.The world is a tough place, we are not entitled, but have to earn our keep.

Butchering I'd imagine, is not an easy job, but how many jobs when you are new to it ,are easy.

Quicksilver

Mate he continued to employ the young blokes ,even when they had a number of sickies, and the final straw came when he had a whack of orders to complete, and the young bloke rang in for another sickie.

He may have been tough(There are ruthless owners), I don't know ,but if you are learning a job ,you pay attention to the person's instruction, he's not there to pamper you like a baby. If he was such a bast*rd, they would have left earlier.He was the one with the patience to continue employing them.

I've had tough people at times in more senior roles, you live with it.The world is a tough place, we are not entitled, but have to earn our keep.

Butchering I'd imagine, is not an easy job, but how many jobs when you are new to it ,are easy.

Butchering is a shit job. And it pays shit.

Why stick around to do long hours for shit pay with little hope of advancing much further.

f**k that.

Probably getting what he paid for. Which isn't necessarily his fault either.

I have had them leave.
Have the farewell party ... then show up a week later wanting their job back.

Thd last bloke that did it I put him on a 3 day a week trial.
:grinning:
Just to let him know who the boss is.

I have had them leave.
Have the farewell party ... then show up a week later wanting their job back.

Thd last bloke that did it I put him on a 3 day a week trial.
:grinning:
Just to let him know who the boss is.
Well thats got to be a sign of the new age youth . I would have licked the pavement on the hume highway for a feed before I would have gone back cap in hand

taipan

Butchering is a shit job. And it pays shit.

Why stick around to do long hours for shit pay with little hope of advancing much further.

f**k that.

Probably getting what he paid for. Which isn't necessarily his fault either.

Then why go into it ,in the first place? The young guys knew the money situation the hours, the blood and guts.
Why stuff the owner around?

I contrast this with a mate of mine's son.Did a carpentry apprenticeship, early money ordinary and long hours.
He's finished his apprenticeship and now completing his Clerk of Works.Just worked and studied his ring off. There are doers and those who want it landed on their plate.

Quicksilver

Then why go into it ,in the first place? The young guys knew the money situation the hours, the blood and guts.
Why stuff the owner around?

I contrast this with a mate of mine's son.Did a carpentry apprenticeship, early money ordinary and long hours.
He's finished his apprenticeship and now completing his Clerk of Works.Just worked and studied his ring off. There are doers and those who want it landed on their plate.

Because they're probably 16 years old.

Because sometimes things work out worse than you'd anticipated, especially when you don't have life experience.

It is usually better to not burn bridges, but then again, I don't know how bad it was. I do know that butchery has pretty much nothing going for it though.

Yep. A building trade is way better than being a butcher. In just about every possible way. The butcher apprentices might have turned into carpentry apprentices. If they did their lack of ambition to just stick at it probably did them well in the end.

Because sometimes things work out worse than you'd anticipated, especially when you don't have life experience.

It is usually better to not burn bridges, but then again, I don't know how bad it was. I do know that butchery has pretty much nothing going for it though.

Yep. A building trade is way better than being a butcher. In just about every possible way. The butcher apprentices might have turned into carpentry apprentices. If they did their lack of ambition to just stick at it probably did them well in the end.
Seeings as you seem to know
What is the difference between wages for apprentice butchers and carpenters

quite a few of my graduating4th form rural school class wrnt to work at local asbestos mine. One really good friend Got sacked straight away ,falling asleep on the assembly line while sucking up lung dust. I thought at time ... lazy bludger will never get anywhere Hes now running his own shed building busimess and doing well. Some of the better workers did go on to higher calling.

Not sure for the apprenticeship. But I reckon the career prospects and general conditions/hours would be much better for a carpenter.

At least there is light at the end of the tunnel.
Hang on you said

“Yep. A building trade is way better than being a butcher. In just about every possible way“

Builders are pretty much physically f**ked by the time they are 60.
It is very labour intensive
It is dangerous
In the sun
Oh the joy of the sound of a nail gun everyday .

Quicksilver

Hang on you said

“Yep. A building trade is way better than being a butcher. In just about every possible way“

Builders are pretty much physically f**ked by the time they are 60.
It is very labour intensive
It is dangerous
In the sun
Oh the joy of the sound of a nail gun everyday .

Well I guess that was a subjective judgement.

For me it beats standing in a shop with minimal natural light, cutting up animals (which can be pretty physical depending on what you are doing), cleaning equipment and floors, working long hours, dealing with shithead customers (if you serve as well) and getting paid f**k all.

As for the dangers, heaps of butchers used to slice a few fingers off. I think that's probably improved to some extent now, although it is still pretty dangerous.

But if you say you'd rather be a butcher than a carpenter that's your preference. It wouldn't be mine but we all have our things.

Most of the carpenters I know like their job and/or have gone on to better things in the building industry. Most of the butchers I know hate it and/or have gone on to better things in other industries.

Well I guess that was a subjective judgement.

For me it beats standing in a shop with minimal natural light, cutting up animals (which can be pretty physical depending on what you are doing), cleaning equipment and floors, working long hours, dealing with shithead customers (if you serve as well) and getting paid f**k all.

As for the dangers, heaps of butchers used to slice a few fingers off. I think that's probably improved to some extent now, although it is still pretty dangerous.

But if you say you'd rather be a butcher than a carpenter that's your preference. It wouldn't be mine but we all have our things.

Most of the carpenters I know like their job and/or have gone on to better things in the building industry. Most of the butchers I know hate it and/or have gone on to better things in other industries.

ha
Most of the butchers you know?

like heaps of them?