Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Season 2019 Predictions

84 Baby

Im unsure we can be more disappointed???
The only possible way will be in the first say month he puts in Dally M level performances and raises everyone's hopes and then for the rest of the season he averages sub 40m per game, 5 errors, 5 penalties and no missed tackles from zero attempts

IFR33K

Where will we finish? 6th

Best player? Moses/Gutho/Fergo

Biggest disappointment? MJ

First rookie to make NRL debut? FIJIAN FLYER FROM PENRITH

Surprise packet? LANE

Breakout year? KAYSA/THE OTHER LITTLE HOOKER.

Best retention? GUTHO AND MOSES

Biggest name we let go? NORMAN

Biggest signing? NO IDEA

Will Brad Arthur be retained, if not who will replace him? NO. MICK POTTER WILL TAKE OVER MID YEAR.

Eelogical

Best player? Moses/Gutho/Fergo

Biggest disappointment? MJ

First rookie to make NRL debut? FIJIAN FLYER FROM PENRITH

Surprise packet? LANE

Breakout year? KAYSA/THE OTHER LITTLE HOOKER.

Best retention? GUTHO AND MOSES

Biggest name we let go? NORMAN

Biggest signing? NO IDEA

Will Brad Arthur be retained, if not who will replace him? NO. MICK POTTER WILL TAKE OVER MID YEAR.
Just trying to work this out. You're saying we will will finish 6th yet BA will be punted mid-year? I can only assume that for this scenario to work out we would need to be in a perilous position on the table mid season, yet recover enough under another coach to get to 6th. BTW, you're not the only one who said this.

IFR33K

Just trying to work this out. You're saying we will will finish 6th yet BA will be punted mid-year? I can only assume that for this scenario to work out we would need to be in a perilous position on the table mid season, yet recover enough under another coach to get to 6th. BTW, you're not the only one who said this.

My prediction is based on a struggle before mid season. Change is made and players take a liking to what MP has to offer and becomes head coach.

*Disclaimer. This is all a guess of course, we could just as easily go on to win the comp with BA at the helm.

emjaycee

Where will we finish? We will make the 8, but somewhere between 5th and 8th only

Best player?
Blake Ferguson

Biggest disappointment?
After 2018, would be hard to be more disappointed in anyone who was here then, so I am going to say Junior Paulo who effectively has the weight of our forward pack on his shoulders.

First rookie to make NRL debut?
I know heaps are saying Sivo, but I reckon we will see a forward debut before a back and I reckon Stefano Utoikamanu will get the nod as soon as he is eligible (Round 17).

Surprise packet?
Not sure how Lane can be a surprise, the guy played every game last season, scored 9 tries which was 6 more than any of our forwards and averaged 96 metres per game. My surprise packet will be Kaysa - I will be surprised if he gets past round 4 without an injury.

Breakout year?
Kaufusi or Niukore

Best retention?
If this is at the end of 2019 then probably Gutho although we will have him wrapped up before Round 4. Biggest surprise retention (to forumites) will be BA.

Biggest name we let go? Mannah because he has been a loyal servant.

Biggest signing? I think going into 2020 we will be looking for a top class centre and not sure who is currently available that would fit that bill. So I will say Cameron Munster just for shits and giggles. Realistically, though I reckon we will land one of the Burgess twins for 2020 as they won't like Uncle Wayne.

Will Brad Arthur be retained, if not who will replace him?
Yes

##Disclaimer: I reserve the right to change any and all of the above at anytime before Round 1, 2019.

Eelogical

My prediction is based on a struggle before mid season. Change is made and players take a liking to what MP has to offer and becomes head coach.

*Disclaimer. This is all a guess of course, we could just as easily go on to win the comp with BA at the helm.
Thank f**k there's a disclaimer. I'm not making a prediction yet because the silly season appears to be in full swing. Christmas, New Year, etc, a lot more saliva to be dribbled before a ball gets kicked in earnest.

IFR33K

Thank f**k there's a disclaimer. I'm not making a prediction yet because the silly season appears to be in full swing. Christmas, New Year, etc, a lot more saliva to be dribbled before a ball gets kicked in earnest.

I don’t normally do the predictions thread, but was bored at home.

f**k me the offseason is boring. Bring on the footy already.

Where will we finish? 9th

Best player? Ferguson

Biggest disappointment? Shaun Lane

First rookie to make NRL debut? Andrew Davey

Surprise packet? George Jennings

Breakout year? Moses

Best retention? Don't really know what this means.

Biggest name we let go? Norman

Biggest signing? One of the Penrith forwards with a double-barrelled surname.

Will Brad Arthur be retained, if not who will replace him? No, but will see out the season. Flanagan in 2020.

I will do my predictions later. I did ask Mick.

Direct quote from Mick
What desperados are you talking too in your spare time. Half of them are probably trying to groom you for a root. Now make yourself usefull and get me a beer cause your standing around like a bloody spare dick in an orgy.
And forget Parra. There as much chance of making the finals as the Dogs. None.

Happy MEel

Where will we finish?
10th
Best player?
Brown
Biggest disappointment?
French
Utoikamanu
Surprise packet?
Brown
Breakout year?
Mahoney
Best retention?
Gutho
Biggest name we let go?
Norman
Biggest signing?
Johnson
No, Holbrook

JokerEel

Where will we finish? 10th

Best player? King Gutho

Biggest disappointment? Mennings

First rookie to make NRL debut? Brown

Surprise packet? Moses

Breakout year? Salmon

Best retention? Mannah

Biggest name we let go? Norman/Moses

Biggest signing? Johnson

Will Brad Arthur be retained, if not who will replace him? No Idea...

Noise

Where will we finish? 13th

Best player? Gutho

Biggest disappointment? French

First rookie to make NRL debut? Stefano Utoikamanu

Surprise packet? Norman

Breakout year? Mahoney

Best retention? Gutho

Biggest name we let go? Mannah and Moses

Biggest signing? Johnson

Will Brad Arthur be retained, if not who will replace him? No. Potter then Holbrook

Start predicting, merkin.
Ok

Where will we finish?

8th

Best player?

Corey Norman

Biggest disappointment?

If I could predict this I wouldn't be disappointed.

Haze Dunster

Surprise packet?

If I could predict this I wouldn't be surprised.

Breakout year?

Junior Paulo

Best retention?

Clint Gutherson

Biggest name we let go?

Norman to Broncos

Biggest signing?

Slade Griffin

Yes

Where will we finish? Putting my nuts on the line, and saying 6th

Best player?
Corey Norman

Biggest disappointment?
Mitchell Moses

Ethan Parry

Surprise packet?
Shaun Lane

Breakout year?
Tepai Moeroa

Best retention?
Daniel Alvaro

Biggest name we let go? Mitchell Moses

Biggest signing? Shaun Johnson

Yes

Chipmunk

Where will we finish? 1st (well Harold Mathews anyway, which is all that the club seems to care about)

Best player
? George Jennings

Biggest disappointment
? Semi Radradra tearing the Wallabies a new one in the Rugby World Cup

Buster Hindmarsh

Surprise packet
? Bevan French winning most rag dolls into touch in the NRL

Breakout year
? David Gower....finally living up to his potential

Best retention
? 15,000 Members from last season.

Biggest name we let go
? French, Hoffman, Jennings, Ferguson ( yes... Ferguson), Norman, Moses, Mannah, Pritchard, Ma'u, Takairangi and Evans,

Biggest signing
? The Plane and Fui

Will Brad Arthur be retained, if not who will replace him? No chance. AFL Guy.

Best player? Jnr Paulo

Biggest disappointment? Prices at new stadium for food

First rookie to make NRL debut? Stephano

Surprise packet? K.Evans

Breakout year? Tepai Moera

Best retention? Gutherson

Biggest name we let go? Moses

Biggest signing? Semi Radradra

Will Brad Arthur be retained, if not who will replace him? 2yr extension