Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Season 2023: A Write-Off?

Neither will I.
But it is time he was moved on.
We will not win a comp with him in charge, so why persist with him? Same thing, year after year.
We need to be pushing the boundaries of success.
Despite the shite that Pou carries on with, we ARE a big club. We DO have the resources.
We have a great stadium and the largest fan base in Sydney. We have a very profitable Leagues Club and finally, a stable Board at administration level.
Close enough isn't good enough anymore.
37 years without the major prize in the cabinet.

And the biggest growing city in Australia. I worked in Parra 22yrs ago when there was only 1 or 2 multi storey buildings. Now it's huge. For people who grew up around here and moved on it really would blow their minds what it has become.AND ITS ONLY HALF WAY

Why would we make top 8?
Oh I know, I don't think we will. But there will be some on here who argue it's mathematically possible we can scrape in... and use that "optimism" to try and deflect discussion the rest of us are having as passionate fans about why we've under performed, and what things we might think needs to change.

Apparently it's not BA's fault. It's a lack of resources issue.

@Poupou Escobar

circular-reasoning-has-ruined-discussion.webp

circulus in probando
For most clubs, missing the finals is a normal part of operating under a salary cap. It's nobody's fault.

Wally21

Neither will I.
But it is time he was moved on.
We will not win a comp with him in charge, so why persist with him? Same thing, year after year.
We need to be pushing the boundaries of success.
Despite the shite that Pou carries on with, we ARE a big club. We DO have the resources.
We have a great stadium and the largest fan base in Sydney. We have a very profitable Leagues Club and finally, a stable Board at administration level.
Close enough isn't good enough anymore.
37 years without the major prize in the cabinet.
Suity, without pissing in your pocket, you always talk sense.

Agree. Despite the obfuscation and deflection, any honest analysis of our 2023 performance sees that we've gone backwards on the field, and the best we can hope for from here is to scrape into the 8 (and then capitulate in finals week one).

Sure there are factors as to why we are shitter this season - the player exodus and recruitment of lesser replacements, some of those specific replacements and the coach's continued selection of them (Hodgson), some of the coach's other selection decisions (Dunster over Russell, Davey over Cartwright/Doorey), the lack of evolution or improvement in the performance of almost all players and the coach's game plan and bench use... just to start with a few.

We're all fans/supporters and want the team and club to do well... but that doesn't mean we have to only post positive optimistic fluff here to "support" the club. Good to see a thread that hasn't been derailed by Poupou Escobar or Emjaycee's nonsense contortions.
I can’t see how you think MJC posts nonsense. Sure he’s a little more optimistic and patient but he doesn’t take the piss and try and get a rise out of people like Pou.

The 3rd reinvention of Bart (or is it the 4th, after being convicted more times than Jarryd Hayne?) isn't real bright tbh.
MJC is one of the best posters here and makes far more sense than most.
Why even ask Bart that question? Surely you could work that out for yourself that he's just trolling (again) and trying to get a rise out of people.
Come on mate, you're smarter than that.

He's simply taken on some Pou-like traits in his replies on forum this season - constant club defender in the face of evidence of poor performance and decisions, posting questions to try and make "gotchas" against people who aren't as accepting/optimistic of the status quo mediocrity as he might be.

(That's apart from one semi-honest post about our challenges, that he finally made today after being called out by various others.)

emjaycee

Agree. Despite the obfuscation and deflection, any honest analysis of our 2023 performance sees that we've gone backwards on the field, and the best we can hope for from here is to scrape into the 8 (and then capitulate in finals week one).

Sure there are factors as to why we are shitter this season - the player exodus and recruitment of lesser replacements, some of those specific replacements and the coach's continued selection of them (Hodgson), some of the coach's other selection decisions (Dunster over Russell, Davey over Cartwright/Doorey), the lack of evolution or improvement in the performance of almost all players and the coach's game plan and bench use... just to start with a few.

We're all fans/supporters and want the team and club to do well... but that doesn't mean we have to only post positive optimistic fluff here to "support" the club. Good to see a thread that hasn't been derailed by Poupou Escobar or Emjaycee's nonsense contortions.
Care to provide some quotes of my nonsense contortions when you can drag yourself away from looking for articles about Hayne's assault case?

Here's 4 Pou-esque contortion/deflection/attempted gotcha ones from the past day or so.

Who has to ask the questions?
The media, the fans or the board and if the board should be the ones asking, how do you know they havent?

It's going to be an exciting second half.
From what I have read on here we should lose by 20+ so heaps of Raiders tries to enjoy in the next 40 mins.

So do you think the 10-3 penalty count against us was fair?

Our squad was nearly as crap last year with maybe 12 genuine first graders.

Whereas this one - while containing some parts I and others might disagree with - was much more honest and realistic, less "optimistic" and admitting some faults, and overall less Pou/troll-like. So credit where it is due :thumbup:

Our negatives outweigh our positives though.

We have an old cripple in our spine who detracts from the others.
Our two starting props need to play long minutes because their replacements are crap.
Our gun second rower was injured for the first 5 weeks.
Our star lock missed 3 weeks instead of paying a fine ffs.

Then we have one lazy winger and we can't settle on the right reserve grader for the other wing because one keeps dropping the ball and the other runs like a 90 year old grandmother.

One centre is good but the other has no strength to break the line and gets ragdolled when he hits the defence.

Our other second rower is a Dogs reserve grade discard and our bench forwards are average reserve graders.

We over achieved last year which has led to complacency in recruitment for 2023 and a squad that has 8 or 9 good players and a bunch of nuffies around them.

And we have a bald coach from the bush with no idea on how to develop game day tactics, how to motivate the players and how to improve our defence.

We simply aren't as good as some of you think we should be.

Not gotcha attempts but genuine questions in context of the thread and with the correct timeliness.
I read them at the correct timeliness, and they informed my judgment of similarlity to the Pou post style. No dramas, you asked above for some examples and I provided.
Heres a gotcha question... are you the same type of wanker in real life as you are on here?
Possibly yes, possibly no... But this is just an internet forum for venting fans and not the most serious thing in life.

Angry_eel

I am ok to jump off the BA bandwagon but I don't want Barrett as anything other than a caretaker.

Yes, a hard decision needs to be made and the side needs a reboot. Better we start now than after this season and complain there's no players on the market.