Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sharks rule out safe haven if Carney and Roosters part ways

Weaponhead

Those who are against signing Carney seem to use the argument that he is too big a risk of off field drama, leading to negative press, leading to damage to the brand.

The other perspective is that our brand is damaged through continued losing and by not signing him we miss the chance to improve the team, leading to better results, stronger brand, more money etc.

It is a tough one because on the field he is a quality player who is more talented and capable than what we have. However, if Easts are walking away then there must be something rotten about the bloke as they have a high tolerance for d1ckheads.

My view is that we badly need more quality in our team. Without a minimum of two high quality signings in the backs, I can't see us significantly improving. The current halves haven't shown the capacity to drive the team to play consistent, well thought out football. Maybe they will develop that ability, maybe not. I know that Carney has played at the level to dominate the NRL. For that reason he is worth the risk.

If we do sign him we will need support structures in place to make sure he is in the right head space to perform. Banning him from drinking is a waste of time and any changes that he needs to make must come from him.

If I were advising Carney, I would say go to NQ. Get out of Sydney

Go to north Qld, crikey he has already spent a year at Atherton.

Sign him now, put him up in a house in Allawah or Carlton. With him living in that dump he wont want to leave the house.

But realisticly he would probably hit the piss harder living in a dump like that. Jeeze having to listen to all the neighbours playing piano-accordians every night and all weekend would be enough to send anyone to drink.

The problem with what the Roosters did was placed limitations on what he drank.
Here is the fix.
Do what you like, dont give a f**k what anybody says. You wont be promoting our brands & you wont be on our photos so you wont have to be a role model for anybody.
Drink up son & have a good time & f**k anything that walks.
But....
turn up & play for us, like your mums life depended on it.

Since 73

Of course you sign him.

We've tried to be the cleanskins of the comp - where has it got us? Look at the table and look at our SOO 5/8 plaing for the Tits and our halfback in reggies for the Warriors.

I'm sick of sitting out September - I deadset sign Jack the Ripper if he could play like Carney. And the fugger kicks goals.

You sign him and if it don't work out he leaves - so what?
Are we gonna be worse off?

Really??

How the fugg could that possibly be?

And.. what if he don't fugg up. What if we approach it realistically and he does for us what he did in 2010.

Those idiots at the Rorters took him on. That decsion was for basically one or t2 blokes in the club. It was doomed to fail from the outset - he hated the joint and they backed him into a corner.
Why else did he go out and drink within 24 hours of the players placing those restrictions on him.

Windy70

If we don't sign him we are idiots. Brand protection only comes into play when you have a brand worth protecting. We don't at the moment.

Bring him in, give him a basic set of rules. Rules that allow him the ocasional stray but pushes on field performance.

Just friggen sign him and be done with it. We will be better for it come Sept 2012.

jc155776

13 clubs done want him.

Surely there is more then just him getting on the piss when he told his teammates he would stay dry with them.

It's the groin. I think it's trouble.

chewsta

I say sign the Karrnt and get him so farkin pist he never wants to drink again!
It works for me most weeks!

Just fugn sign him FFS!!

I think Braith Anasta has been working against Todd Carney the whole time at the Roosters.. Hence so many crisis meetings by the leadership group, no doubt called by Braith, to impose drinking bans. He knew eventually Todd would slip up and the board would sack him and he would get his beloved 5/8 spot back because he be farked if he's playing lock.

Anyway, Carney is no longer with the Roosters and he should be signed immediately.. He is the best NSW 5/8 or half back, take your pick ... Play Chad at 7, Carney at 6 and get AK to work with a sprint coach for speed and push him to the centres..

kal83

I'd take him.. On one condition that it isn't part of a swap deal that involves Chad,Ak or any of our juniors. The only way we will ever lift the trophy is by building from within and adding some quality signings that can't get game time at other clubs. Sick of us paying big overs for Star players that come and just take the money and add nothing to the club and then move on or retire anyway. I only want players that are hungry to win and want to be sharkies!!! Don't know why we are talking to the roosters for we should be talking to Carney to see if he is serious about wanting to stay in the Nrl or if he is just after more money. If it's more about playing the game and playing for the sharks, then I would sign him. If it's other reasons then let him go to France and let's put all our faith in the young halves we have got, Melbourne showed faith in cam smith, slater and Cooper Cronk when they were in there 20's and look where they are now. Not in anyway suggesting Ak and Chad will be that good, just suggesting that maybe we should open our eyes to the players within the club sometimes.maybe that would make them less likely to leave. Seems this year we have a crop coming through like we did in 1994 or what ever year we won the presidents cup... We had 1 of our most successful stretches in the clubs history in the 6-7 years following that win, But couldnt utilize the talent at our disposal that time, made some big mistakes(going to superleague,chris anderson and letting rogers,dykes,triester,graham and presto leave)and in the end it got us nought. I say we spend all our money on extending the deals on our 20's side, not unlike Canberra did and see which ones rise to the top.I'm willing to wait. We have waited this long already... If we win 1premiership in my lifetime. I think it's been worth supporting the Sharks.

Snoop Shark

I think Braith Anasta has been working against Todd Carney the whole time at the Roosters.. Hence so many crisis meetings by the leadership group, no doubt called by Braith, to impose drinking bans. He knew eventually Todd would slip up and the board would sack him and he would get his beloved 5/8 spot back because he be farked if he's playing lock.

Anyway, Carney is no longer with the Roosters and he should be signed immediately.. He is the best NSW 5/8 or half back, take your pick ... Play Chad at 7, Carney at 6 and get AK to work with a sprint coach for speed and push him to the centres..

Sorry mate thats where your wrong.

I know for a fact Braith had tried taken todd under his wing with no luck. They use to hang out together away from footy(after the watts debacle).

Watts played(obviously stillinjured) in a local Grand final on Sunday where his team lost in extra time. Watts is a good source for what really went on at the Roosters. Why dont the Sharks talk to him?

Eion

I can see it now:
- Sharks sign Carney
- Gallop intervenes and deregisters Carney

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...ling-todd-carney/story-e6frexnr-1226135159977

CRONULLA Sharks may be the final hope in Australian rugby league for troubled soul Todd Carney.
The Daily Telegraph understands the Sharks have shown preliminary interest in securing Todd Carney, released last week from his Sydney Roosters contract a year from completion.

It is understood Sharks coach Shane Flanagan will meet with Carney's manager, David Riolo, sometime later this week. The pair will discuss several players, including Carney's future.

Cronulla chairman Damian Irvine does harbour concerns though whether his club's fans would accept Carney, now discarded by the Roosters and Canberra Raiders for on-going alcohol issues.

The Sharks have a host of halves - Albert Kelly, John Morris, Chad Townsend, Jeff Robson and Wade Graham - but privately feel Carney would give the club an immediate injection of high quality. Asked last night whether his club would be interested in Carney, Flanagan only said: "No comment."

Flanagan and Irvine have already held internal discussions about whether the Sharks could somehow rehabilitate Carney.

Another strong option for Carney is playing with French Super League club Catalans or European rugby union.

NRL chief executive David Gallop said he would demand to meet with Carney before registering any contract for the 2010 Dally M Medal winner.

Irvine was in meetings yesterday afternoon and unavailable for comment but it appears Toyota Stadium is the only possible home left for Carney.The Daily Telegraph was yesterday told South Sydney and North Queensland were also interested in the star five-eighth - but both clubs rejected the speculation.

Souths do have a halfback vacancy after Chris Sandow signed with Parramatta.

Asked were Souths interested in Carney, chief executive Shane Richardson said: "No, definitely not.

"We haven't spoken to David Riolo and we haven't spoken to Todd Carney. And we don't intend to.

"We have (rising halfback) Adam Reynolds next year - that is where we are going. We also have John Sutton. We don't need another halfback.

"I'm not down on Todd Carney. I wish him all the best. We just aren't interested in him," Richardson said.

Cowboys coach Neil Henry was another to rule out signing Carney. "He's not on our radar at all," Henry said. "I haven't spoken to Todd or David Riolo."

One player manager was unsure whether Carney would in fact secure a club.

"Todd Carney is damaged goods," he said. "Who would want to sign him?"

Craigshark

Sign him.. Put him at 6 and Townsend at 7.. Put Graham in the centres and try to turn him into a Chris McKenna type player.. Put Kelly on the bench to play a roving role and with the addition of Ross, we aren't shaping up too badly on paper.

1. Gardner
2. Gordon/Stapleton/Mills
3. Graham
4. Best/Pickard
5. Williams
6. Carney
7. Townsend
8. Ross
9. Degois
10. Gibbs
11. Smith
12. Bakuya
13. Gallen

14. Tagatese
15. Toopou
16. Fifita
17. Kelly/Morris/Robson/Tony Williams?/Tyrone Peachey/Cordoba/Mannah?

Kokora

Rothfield (who wanted him in prison earlier this year) virtually got him the sack at the Chooks and now will get him signed to you guys...well done. I'd sign him up again if I had the choice.
He did no more wrong than alot of players do all year it's just that he gets stalked by the Tele journos.
If you sign him, enjoy the ride.....it was fun