Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

She's gooooorne...

Alex28 said:
Willow - I haven't compared this case to anyone elses.
I didn't say you did.
Alex28 said:
Maybe if her lawyers could find a precident she mightn't be where she is now.
I'm sure they wouldnt point to the Bali bombers then.
Do you know of a precedent?
I'm not aware of anyone who was in possession of drugs at customs, and was then let off.

Parra_Eels

the thing is there are 152 aussies in prisons around the world who aren't getting any govt letters and asking for pardons and having protests and papers supportin them. that pisses me off

balmainbenny

Pantherjim. said:
Sh*t, Compassion knows no f*cking bounds in contemporary Australian society does it??:rolleyes:

For sh*t sake you imbecile even if she was guilty,(which I sincerely doubt) It's only Pot for f*cksake! A drug which has been decriminalised in the A.C.T. and many countries internationally. 4.1kgs of Cannabis is hardly going to make anyones life a misery!

I wonder if you'd be so brazen about shooting your own self-righteous hypocritical gob off if you were caught in Denpasar or Jakarta with a couple of KG's of Heroin in your suitcase which you knew nothing about, and wasn't there when you packed before you left for Kingsford Smith?

I wonder if you'd have the same faith in Indonesia's justice system to do the right thing by you, considering you're so confident that they've done the right thing by Indonesian Justice and put a "dirty, filthy drug smuggler" behind bars for 20 years?

W*nker! :rolleyes:
Pantherjim.

I have no compassion at all for people who try to make a quick buck in an illegal way. At least, I earn my money in a LEGAL way. Sounds like you are into making an illegal buck too.

Second, Pot is ILLEGAL in Australia and Indonesia. She got caught in Indonesia, so she should have to deal with their laws. It sounds like you are a Harry Pothead.

I don't plan on going to Asia anytime soon. I think you should, as you'll be able to have a nice, drugged-up holiday.

I don't see you complaining about other Aussies in jails around the world. You sound concerned because she was in your wet dream.

Moffo

schapers is guilty, she is young and stupid though

Its simply a case of wrong person at the wrong time in the wrong situation

Pantherjim.

balmainbenny said:
I have no compassion at all for people who try to make a quick buck in an illegal way.

So you have proof that she actually did it??? How do you know it's not a case of another young Australian intent on spending time with her Sister on her holidays, and some pr*ck of a baggage handler decided to use her luggage to courier cannabis to his contact in Denpasar??? Don't tell me it doesn't happen because it does. N.S.W. Police have already arrested a baggage handler from Kingsford Smith for cocaine smuggling. Not to mention that there is not ONE SHRED of Evidence to suggest that the above scenario is unlikely. NOT ONE! Yet has the Indonesian judicial system, that you hold in such high esteem, done anything to investigate the above scenario?? No!

balmainbenny said:
At least, I earn my money in a LEGAL way. Sounds like you are into making an illegal buck too.

You're a f*cking moron. You've just proven yourself to be a f*cking moron as you can't debate anything intelligently. Instead you have to resort to making insinuations and false accusations to people whom you know nothing about. Not that I give a rat's a*sehole what you think about me, and I'm sorry to dissapoint you but I make my living legally as well.

balmainbenny said:
Second, Pot is ILLEGAL in Australia and Indonesia. She got caught in Indonesia, so she should have to deal with their laws.

Incorrect, Pot has been decriminilised in the A.C.T. and the Northern Territory. For all other states, you are right, it is Illegal. However pot is also legal internationally in Holland, Portugal, Spain, Belgium and India to name a few. The point I was trying to make is that it is a soft drug. i.e. You won't get 1/10th the death or addiction rate with Pot that you do with Heroin or Cocaine. More to the point, if she was guilty, and she was caught with that amount of Pot in Australia and many other countries she'd be unlucky to get over 6 months in Gaol!

balmainbenny said:
It sounds like you are a Harry Pothead.

Again, shows everyone what a complete f*ckwit you are, throwing false accusations around. Is it any wonder you can just shoot your mouth off about Corby without even thinking? :rolleyes: You'll be on a collision course with a liabel/defamation case one day pal!

balmainbenny said:
I don't plan on going to Asia anytime soon. I think you should, as you'll be able to have a nice, drugged-up holiday.

What a pity, because it sounds as if you could use a life! Oh well, your loss! Oops! I'm bringing myself down to your level!#-o I've already had a fantastic holiday in Asia pal, and I'm sorry to dissapoint you yet again but I didn't need drugs to have fun.

balmainbenny said:
I don't see you complaining about other Aussies in jails around the world. You sound concerned because she was in your wet dream.

F*ck off idiot! I don't even find her that attractive! Actually I'm concerned about Schapelle because I believe, based on the facts of the case and the Indonesian Prosecution's flimsy evidence that she is innocent. Even the Chief of The Indonesian Police Narcotic squad in Bali says the prosecutions case is "full of holes". But I wouldn't expect an imbecile like yourself to understand any of that. I don't have the facts behind the cases of the 120 other odd Australians who have been incarcerated. Surely if there was any hint that these Australians were wrongly convicted then D.F.A.T. and the Australian media would be breathing down the countries involved necks as well.

Pantherjim.

Jae

Incorrect, Pot has been decriminilised in the A.C.T. and the Northern Territory.

Who cares, it's the states that matter. You're acting asthough the prosecutions case was full of holes but the defenses case was water tight. If the defense could use anything other than "I didn't do it... some bloke in jail heard some other guy tell someone who heard from him that they set me up" then they might've got somewhere. According to the prosecution, she was very reluctant and nervous to open the large zipper of her boogie board, she admitted to the customs officer that the weed was hers... I mean they could've just said that and not needed to say another word for the whole trial and still won. It was more solid than anything her defense came up with in the entire case.

Pantherjim. said:
Again, shows everyone what a complete f*ckwit you are, throwing false accusations around. Is it any wonder you can just shoot your mouth off about Corby without even thinking? :rolleyes: You'll be on a collision course with a liabel/defamation case one day pal!

Pantherjim.

Libel and slander have been replaced by a unitary cause of action under defamation.
It is actionable per se, so no need to show that you or Michelle Crosby suffered any actual damage although BB could raise in his defense that these comments were 'honest opinion'.

In the context of other insults and accusations that get published on these forums his comments are unexceptionable.
I understand that you are a fervent man Brother Jim but you should spare the melodrama and abusive language from your rants. Stick to defending your matryr from Maroochydore.

Borat wrote:

I don't have a link. He did leave immediately but I do concede that whether guilty or not guilty, I would probably do the same. If they think Schappelle is guilty they might implicate me etc.

Your point about how come no evidence of her guilt has come to light is partially relevent. Firstly it has nothing to do with the Indonesian authorites. They can ask the AFP to investigate but thats where the responsibility lies. No one even knows if anyone has been investigated here in Australia in relation to this. Infact, now there has been a conviction I would say the heat will be turned on the relevent people here in Australia.

But the same can't be said about the baggage handlers, who have been under an intensive investigation for the last 9 months and no links to smuggling hash to Bali have been found. Infact it works against her because it has been thoroughly investigated.

Remember they were initially claiming that this was domestic smuggling between Brisbane and Sydney. Its far fetched to the extreme.

I'm not saying that the Indonesian police have done anything wrong here in terms of not
investigating her background.That's not their job.
Their job was probably to take a bit of video footage and perhaps the odd finger print.
Unorganised rabble couldn't even get that bit right.

Lets not be that naive to think that just because the AFP haven't released information that
some sort of leak wouldn't have come out.

Have a look at the publicity around her case.
When was the last time channel nine used "the worm"?
Probably during the last debate, where we were deciding who was going lead Australia.

This has had as much if not more intense public scrutiny than the Bali Bombings here
in Australia.
Once again not one skerrick of information connecting her to the pot.
Don't you think that's strange almost to the point of being unbelievable.

Even the president of the United States was found out to have smoked pot and got his knob sucked.

As for the baggage handlers what more do you want.
People are getting sacked....albeit very slowly.
It wasn't "hash" by the way.
My mother in law has worked for Qantas at Sydney airport for over 30 years and I asked her is it possible
that they used bags to smuggle drugs.
She laughed and said it was common knowledge that the handlers often opened bags .
She has personally taken dozens of official complaints regarding luggage that has been tampered with.
She also said that if Qantas started mass sacking's of the handlers they would go on strike delaying flights and in turn
Qantas loses a lot of money.
Think about the chaos they cause when they do go strike.

Do you think for a second that the bosses at Qantas give a flying f**k about what handlers do ?
As long as the customers pay there money, get to where they are going and no one gets hurt well
lets just pretend it doesn't happen.
Speak no evil.

My mother in law is ashamed and embarrassed.
She wants to quit but is so close to retirement that we've talked her out of it.

One more thing,
I have a close mate who was a baggage handler at Sydney airport from 2002 - 2004.
He believes her story and he is no angel.

Innocent people get locked up all the time.

I can't prove she is innocent ( I could be wrong she could of done it)
So far though she hasn't been proved unequivably guilty in my eye's.
Not the Indo legal system's eye's.

All they needed was one of her finger prints on that plastic bag.

Not really - anyone could just wear gloves when they handle their drugs.

I cant be bothered trawling through 21 pages of mostly emotional rants by amateur non-4C regulars but the most important point is this -

The idea that Corby is only getting media coverage because she is a pretty white woman is a joke. She is a hideous disgrace, the most scary looking woman I've ever seen.

I hope this is the end of the matter.

NPK

Do baggage handlers wear gloves normally?
If they don't, and the baggage handler who put the drugs in her case (assuming for a moment that that's what happened) was wearing gloves, it would have looked suspicious.

taxidriver

what sort of wanker are you K.O.T.H ???
emotional rants by amateur non-4C regulars

are you some sort of qualified or professional poster ???

give yourself a wrap you moron.

You criticise people for arguing that she gets media attention because of her looks yet your only argument to counter that is that she's ugly ???

quantity doesn't equate to quality - you have 12,000 plus posts to prove that.

NPK

King of the Hill said:
Not really - anyone could just wear gloves when they handle their drugs.

I cant be bothered trawling through 21 pages of mostly emotional rants by amateur non-4C regulars but the most important point is this -

The idea that Corby is only getting media coverage because she is a pretty white woman is a joke. She is a hideous disgrace, the most scary looking woman I've ever seen.

I hope this is the end of the matter.
The most scary looking woman you've ever seen?
I bet your mum looks scarier :lol:

Not really - anyone could just wear gloves when they handle their drugs

TRUE - but that's all I'd need to change my mind.

I also agree - I'm am frightened of her, and I often wonder why she doesn't just jump on her broomstick and fly out of there.

Non 4c member?

That's me alright , I have enough problems without getting addicted to possibly the most boring forum of all.

Hmmm
From The Australian

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/common/story_page/0,5744,15460691%5E601,00.html
Airport staff 'smuggling drugs'
Martin Chulov and Jonathan Porter
May 31, 2005
WORKERS at the nation's largest airport, including baggage handlers with high-level security clearances, have been involved in drug-smuggling and stealing from passengers, according to a classified Customs report that also suggests staff pose a terrorism threat.

A probe by investigators into airport workers from toilet cleaners to pilots has found evidence of alleged criminal conspiracies between groups of employees with access to the most secure areas of Sydney airport.

The report, obtained by The Australian, details serious security breaches and illegal activity by baggage handlers, air crew, ramp and trolley workers, security screeners and cleaners.

It says baggage handlers have diverted bags containing large amounts of narcotics from incoming international flights to domestic baggage carousels, sometimes changing baggage tags, to avoid Customs examination.

"Baggage handlers are suspected of large-scale pillage and may use the roof area to gain illegal entry to passenger baggage," the report says.

The roster system makes it easy for baggage handlers to get their "mates" working in the same gang, it says.

But the report, completed in September last year, provides no direct evidence to support convicted marijuana smuggler Schapelle Corby's defence that drugs were planted in her luggage by corrupt baggage handlers between Brisbane and Sydney.

The Customs investigation found no evidence of domestic drug-smuggling between Australian airports.

It found Customs checks on aircrew were relatively rare despite evidence showing that they were "an extremely high risk". "Intelligence from other law enforcement agencies suggests that some Asian-recruited Qantas crew may be involved in the importation of narcotics and are current subjects of alerts," it says.

The report says 39 security screeners out of 500 employed at the airport have a serious criminal conviction, with a further 39 having been convicted of minor matters. It says 14 had questionable immigration status and two were referred to the Department of Immigration as illegal immigrants.

A well-placed Customs source told The Australian yesterday that investigators continue to uncover numerous "black spots" in the maze of baggage tunnels beneath the airport, which cannot be captured by surveillance cameras.

The black spots were allegedly known to baggage handlers and other employees and used as dropping-off points for drug importations.

The two Customs operations, dubbed Tempest and Berlap, targeted two groups of baggage handlers, each working in a gang of six. Investigators dubbed one the "Anglo Saxons" and the other the "Swarthies" - a reference to their Mediterranean appearance.

The Customs source said executives had been sent a copy of the report last September, but did not appear to have acted on it.

The source claimed senior Customs staff were furious about the report's findings and suggested that commercial considerations within the airport may be a reason for a delayed response.

"We have people that don't want to rock the boat and nothing upsets the running of an airport more than the outing of staff who have very strong unions behind them. If we took one person out there is no way that could happen without disrupting the travel of 30,000 people."

One of the gangs is alleged by investigators to have been involved in the importation late last year of 10kg of cocaine, which was removed from the baggage processing system before it could be X-rayed.

The report claims that ramp workers and baggage handlers were linked to Eastern Suburbs drug smuggling syndicates.

Officials monitoring the gang became aware of the pending importation, which was due to arrive on Lan-Chile flight 801, on October 7. Only several of the alleged gang were rostered on. The remainder, according to officials, appeared noticeably excited.

However, the importation was delayed for 24 hours and eventually arrived on Aerolinas Argentinas flight 1881 on October 8, the same day Corby's baggage passed through Sydney airport en route to Bali.

One official said the scenario used during numerous earlier importations had been for the smuggler to check in last, meaning their bag was left outside the baggage crate stored in the plane's cargo hold.

The loose bag is typically removed first from the plane in Sydney and placed on a luggage trolley in between the secured crates carrying passenger luggage. It then begins a 600m journey through the airport basement corridors that lead to the baggage dispensing area.

The official, speaking on condition of anonimity, claimed the drugs are removed from the bag, in a process known as ratting, at one of three blind-spots along the way. They are hidden there before later being removed from the airport.

The official said hours of footage had been recorded by surveillance cameras of lower-level criminality within secure areas of the airport, ranging from stealing valuables from suitcases, to using passenger bags to smuggle goods stolen abroad.

Since 1995, the Australian Federal Police has also run its own investigation, known as Operation Bareena, into alleged criminality at the airport.

Customs said it could not comment on its operations. A spokeswoman for Sydney Airport Corporation said it co-operated closely with Customs and law enforcement agencies, but had not heard of operations Tempest or Berlap.

The report notes the difficulties experienced by Customs offers in tracking much of the activity in the airport or identifying staff on duty.

It says baggage handlers rosters allow shift swapping and the use of airport personnel to perform overtime away from their usual work station.

"The work practice of some airport employees to organise their own replacements has to be regarded as very dubious when seen under the guise of internal conspiracies," the report says.

"The rostering system, which groups work gangs together, facilitates the possibility of organised crime or internal conspiracies being operated."

Union activity often makes surveillance difficult, the report says.

"Very strong union presence on the tarmac area and the ever threatening intervention of union delegates ... is always fraught with controversy," it says.

bazza

Rumours I heard about this case last night:

1. Shappele's sister was well known as a supplier of recreational party substances when living on the Gold Coast - she now lives in Bali
2. An expert in body language said he thought her body language read guilty
3. There is a good market for Australian grown hydro in Bali
4. Media outlets who ran anything negative about the case were shut out from "team Corby"

Just rumours though

wasnt having a dig at you carc

there were some nutty pro-schapelle posts on the first 5 pages that i trawled through, with no basis in logic - just emotional rants

obviously you are the greatest poster i have ever seen, and i applaud you for it :clap:

borat

carcharias said:

An interesting read but no links whatsoever to the largest importation capture of hash in Bali's history. You say how come no leads to the Corby family have surfaced in Australia. Well surley with all of these investigations and reports you would think one baggage handler would let something slip or roll over on the operation to avoid prosecution. The Baggage handlers have been rightly investigated and they have found some criminal activity but nothing to do with Corby. Wait for a full investigation on the people associated with Corby in Australia and we will see how clean they come out. You don't even know if they have been looked at at all.

Not even the slightest link to domestic drug smuggling, which I am sure you would agree is simply unbeleivable. I have 40k worth of hash that I want to send to Sydney so rather than drive it down in one day I send it to an airport, through security, and risk a baggage handler having the opportunity to place it in one bag and have another baggage handler on the take to have the opportunity to remove it, and get past secuirty and CCTV. Its an unbeleiveable story because it just doesn't happen, but it makes a good defence when you here of some dodgy baggage handlers out there.

Did you know that so far only one baggage handler in Sydney has been fired and for running an SP servivce , nothing to do with the alleged coke scam.

One thing you can be 100% certain of, in this political climate if the AFP had any links they would have been given to the bali authorities as the have just shown their cooperation in working together on the bali 9. Who is being naive now?

Finger prints? Don't you think if you are smuggling 4.1kg of Pot you would think not to leave finger prints on the bag. Very convinient that she was asking them to finger print it from the very start. This was always going to be her story if she was caught, someone planted it on her, and she made sure her finger prints were not on the bag. She just didn't anticipate the Inodnesians wouldn't finger print it.

According to the Jakarta Post, the anti-Indonesian hysteria in Australia hasn't helped her cause.

[font=Helvetica, Arial]Corby's drug trial and Australian public opinion[/font]

[font=Arial, Helvetica]Endy M. Bayuni, The Jakarta Post, Jakarta

The 20-year prison term meted out by a court in Bali against Schapelle Corby on Friday for smuggling cannabis into the country is not the end of the road as far as her legal fight is concerned, but if there is one important lesson we can learn from the trial, it is that the massive public campaign in Australia, her home country, for her release has, at times, gone overboard and probably not helped her case at all.

We likely may never know for sure if the judges in the Denpasar District Court determined the sentence solely on the basis of evidence presented before them, or whether other factors, including undue outside pressure, influenced their decision. But we do know for sure that the sentence is rather severe even by Indonesian standards.

Corby was found guilty of attempting to smuggle 4.1 kilograms of marijuana through the Denpasar airport in October. Compare her verdict with what other foreigners have received in Bali, and one has to admit that she has had the harshest punishment of all when compared to other similar cases.

A Mexican woman who smuggled 15.22 kg of marijuana received only a seven-year prison term in December 2001. An Italian man was sentenced to 15 years in July last year for attempting to smuggle 5.3 kg of cocaine, a much more dangerous drug. Corby did not smuggle cocaine and the amount of marijuana she was accused of smuggling is far less than what the Mexican woman brought in. Yet, she got a harsher sentence.

One thing that was evident from the beginning is that Corby never faced the death sentence as was widely and wildly suggested by the Australian media. Not one person in Indonesia, foreigner or otherwise, has been sentenced to death for trafficking marijuana. All the death penalty cases have involved large amounts of cocaine, heroin or ecstasy.

Corby's relatives and friends, along with the Australian media, succeeded in whipping up massive public support and sympathy at home by playing the death penalty card. The prospect of the 27-year beautician facing an Indonesian firing squad certainly played on the emotions of most Australians. Such over-dramatization of her case in Australia is partly to blame for the death threats received by Indonesians in Australia as well as all the other forms of anti-Indonesia sentiment we have seen in recent weeks.

Australian newspaper polls, which found that 90 percent of Australians believe Corby is innocent, and a victim of a drug syndicate, of course had no relevance on the court hearing in Bali. A person is found guilty or innocent on the basis of evidence brought before the court and not by public opinion.

But the diatribes by the Australian public and media against the Indonesian legal system while the trial was still in progress have certainly been very unhelpful. The Indonesian courts have their flaws, probably more so than the Australian courts, but it was dead wrong for the Australian public and media to prejudge the court, even to the point of dismissing its ability to act fairly in dispensing justice, before it reached the verdict.

Australian politicians both in and outside the government -- whose intentions were clearly more political in nature, rather than the well-being of Corby -- jumped on the bandwagon to appeal to the Indonesian authorities on her behalf. They should know that such a move was premature, and could have been easily construed here as an unwelcome interference into the Indonesian legal system.

Looking back, one cannot help get the feeling that Australia's media hype in covering Corby's trial almost became a self-fulfilling prophecy on Friday. Even in finding her guilty, there was no reason for the judges to hand down such a harsh penalty, and even less so for the prosecutors to demand a life sentence in the first place. One can only conclude from here that both the judges and the prosecutors have been influenced by what was happening outside the court.

This becomes clearer if we look at the case of Clara Elena Umana, the Mexican who was sentenced by the same court in 2001 to seven years. She got just a third of the sentence that Corby received, for smuggling more than three times the marijuana. With sentence reductions through good behavior, the Mexican woman will likely only end up serving a little more than half the sentence.

In light of this, looking back now, we wonder, hypothetically, how many years Corby would have received if there had not been so much public pressure and publicity supposedly waged on her behalf in Australia during the trial. Going by the Mexican woman's case, Corby should have been given three or four years.

Ordinarily, this would have been just another drug trial involving a foreigner, and because of the type and amount of drug involved, Corby would probably have gotten off lightly. But, since the Australian media and public opinion decided from the beginning that this was going be a special case, and even turning it into a cause celebre, the Denpasar district court inevitably, though perhaps inadvertently, treated this as a special case too.

Fortunately, the district court is not the last dispenser of justice in Indonesia.

Corby still has the right to appeal to the High Court, and potentially, the Supreme Court. Judges in those higher courts have the ability to assess the case and the evidence presented in the lower courts more soberly, away from the media spotlight. Ideally, they should be allowed to work without any form of outside undue pressure.

The sympathy and support that Corby receives from her compatriots, who believe in her innocence, are laudable. But her family and friends, and the Australian public, in general, would be helping her cause far more by restraining themselves in their comments on the Indonesian legal system, and allowing the legal process to run its full course. If they still hope for justice for Corby to come from these higher courts, they have to believe in them, or at the very least, let them do their work uninterrupted. The writer is chief editor of The Jakarta Post.
[/font]

http://www.thejakartapost.com/detailheadlines.asp?fileid=20050530.A03&irec=2

Rumours I heard about this case last night:

1. Shappele's sister was well known as a supplier of recreational party substances when living on the Gold Coast - she now lives in Bali
2. An expert in body language said he thought her body language read guilty
3. There is a good market for Australian grown hydro in Bali
4. Media outlets who ran anything negative about the case were shut out from "team Corby"

Just rumours though

Hey no worries King I didn't think anything by it all.
I too think you are the greatest poster of all time.

for the rest of it
I'm over this now .

Now , from the rumours comments .
1: lives in QLD married to a Balinese bloke
2: The body language experts (2) I've seen
interviewed said innocent.
Chanel 9,Sunday and the worm program.
3:There is a market yes .
4: Probably true , but I'd do the same.

One thing you can be 100% certain of, in this political climate if the AFP had any links they would have been given to the bali authorities as the have just shown their cooperation in working together on the bali 9. Who is being naive now?

Why? the law in Indonesia is that if you have it in your bag it is yours.
You have to then supply the name of the person who put it in there if it isn't yours.

Nothing to do with the AFP.

Anyway it doesn't change a thing .
My point is there is not enough evidence in my mind to
rightfully convict her.

Had you heard of any drug smuggling among baggage handlers prior to her case???????

Funny how it's all coming out now don't you think.

Im not being naive.
I originally thought she was guilty until I spoke
with those two people I mentioned who worked there.

For the record I don't trust Bakir one bit , I do belive he is
is genuine to a degree but I think there is alteria motives.
Namely exposure.

My prediction:

No one will ever find out if she is guilty or innocent.

She will get some bogus presidents pardon in a couple of years.