Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Slightly more seriously...

westie

Please take this one seriously.

I've been saying this for a while and it just appears to be getting worse.

Campbelltown crowds are on the down turn in a massive way and have been probably even before the artifical spike of 2005.

I reckon it has a lot to do with the three game situation and the fact that the club doesn't identify with their community. Would I be right here?

Also, and I know a lot of you won't agree because you are hanging on to park football and raffle fundraising, but would it work repositioning the club in the area around Liverpool?

I believe the Dogs knew exactly what they were doing with their 35k stadium and the Oasis development.

Would the current ANZ fans get together with a re-tapped community in the South West/West assuming we essentially came up with our own Oasis?

westie

Oh come on... please. I'll beg. Just give us something here instead of whinging all the time.

crouching_tiger

So let me get this straight. Macarfur folk won't travel 10mins to go see "their team" but they will travel further to Liverpool to go see them.... :sarcasm:

P.S. Yes the Dogs did know what they were doing with the Oasis project, they were laundering money within the club, players and staff to rort the salary cap.

Highlander

How can you label them "their team" on 3 games a year?

Why is it that Group 6 clubs get more assistance from other NRL clubs than the Wests Tigers?

Promotion outside of just Campbelltown would be a start you have a massive nursey down here in the Wollondilly/Highlands area that wouldnt know when or where Wests are playing.

matty-ducati

Campbelltown crowds are on the down turn in a massive way and have been probably even before the artifical spike of 2005.

I reckon it has a lot to do with the three game situation and the fact that the club doesn't identify with their community. Would I be right here?

Also, and I know a lot of you won't agree because you are hanging on to park football and raffle fundraising, but would it work repositioning the club in the area around Liverpool?

I believe the Dogs knew exactly what they were doing with their 35k stadium and the Oasis development.

Would the current ANZ fans get together with a re-tapped community in the South West/West assuming we essentially came up with our own Oasis?

If you cant get the cambo people to the game, how would u get them to goto livo? doesnt make sense, the ground essentially is in perfect location in cambo, its right at the public transport for those who use it, there is decent parking, the club is right next door. The people of cambo and balmain are being starved of foooty yet csg games dont seem like it, LO shows it is, they get out in the numbers and making a stance to say we want the footy here. Its amazing even in commentry they always say in a LO game how good it looks, how the atmosphere is. Maybe the club need to invest more advertising in the area but i dont think this is the issue, the majority of people who attend a game no's when there team is playing in there area. Solution? Is there one? Relocatting to liverpool wont fix the problem it will create a larger problem with people of cambo saying its being taken away from them? loose loose situation because as soon as that decision is made, all of cambo will be out not too happy.

westie

Would they, along with the greater south west begin to identify with a successful club committed to the region.

Let's not start about LO and the amount of locals who attend.

Would they, along with the greater south west begin to identify with a successful club committed to the region.

Let's not start about LO and the amount of locals who attend.

Nah, I'll get the ball rolling. Lots.

Any other contributions?

SaveTheChildren

I am not from the Macarthur region, but could it be the stigma of the
Wests Magpies that is the problem? I'm 35 and I'll be bu$%#ggered if
I can remember the maggies ever having won a game. If memory serves
me correctly, they only had about 4 fans anyway.

Given the choice of Canterbury and Wests, who do you think the kiddies
would support? Only the Balmain side of the merger is associated with
recent success, with great players from the past such as Pearce, Siro,
Benny, Jimmy Jack, blocker with a profile .... All were outstanding
gentleman, high profile and an ornament to the game.

The only part of West's history that they hang onto now days is
with the 70s thugs, Newtown's Raudonikas and his Manly mate
Les Boyd. Their thuggery is no longer part of the game so why
even bother trading on their past profile. They frighten away the mums
from football so their kiddies go to AFL.

The real problem is that the people of the Macarthur just don't
want to be associated with mediocrity and past thuggery of the Maggies.

The solution is obvious. Change our colours back to black and
gold, and change the name to the Balmain Tigers. That way,
the people of the macarthur can follow the Balmain Tigers and one
day aspire to moving out of the gutter, into the more affluent regions
of sydney.

of sydney.

You're borderline geniused.

super_coach

It all gets down to the club being a bit smart

1--what games are played at what venure
2--what time slot--although their hands are often tied by the nrl
3--the promotion of the game and who it is directed at

Cambo with the right games and the right time slot will do well and once you have won over a supporter base than the not so good games and time slots will not be so much of a problem.

With the team we have at present their is never a dull game even when we get a touch up, imagine going out every week and seeing some of the teams that play the old 5 one outs and than kick

The Dogs expected to take over Wests and the South West, that's partly what Oasis was all about. If Oasis had gone ahead, the Dogs probably would have swallowed up Wests and Balmain would be in a JV (snicker, snicker) with Parramatta in all likelihood.

All areas with plenty of people moving there have people that already followed another team. It happened in the 1970's in Green Valley when I was there, people tended to continue following whoever they followed before they moved.

Over time their allegiances may change or their kids may follow the local team but at the moment, with only 3 sh*t games against either out of Sydney teams or f**king Cronulla, per year, we almost don't have a local team.

Raging Rabbit

juniors

of sydney.

You idiot.

Wests are the strength in the relationship and the day will come when they piss you Balmain merkins off.

It can't come quick enough.

It all gets down to the club being a bit smart

1--what games are played at what venure
2--what time slot--although their hands are often tied by the nrl
3--the promotion of the game and who it is directed at

Cambo with the right games and the right time slot will do well and once you have won over a supporter base than the not so good games and time slots will not be so much of a problem.

With the team we have at present their is never a dull game even when we get a touch up, imagine going out every week and seeing some of the teams that play the old 5 one outs and than kick

Good post.

The only though that seems to be in the heads of the people who decide which ground gets which Tigers home game is; How many will go to ANZ for that one?

Then, we get what's left over.

Mish

I'm only starting to learn about how News Ltd affects the game.

But I am starting to wonder if who we play is of any consideration by the powers that be at all. They don't seem to be scheduling them in a way that would draw crowds.

smeghead

ANZ picks the games they want as part of the contract.

What is left gets divided up between the two home grounds

This season our traditional home host

1. Titans
2. Panthers
3. Cowboys
4. Warriors
5. Cronulla
6. Storm

Thats is the worst part of it all 4 out of state/country teams and two clashes where no rivalry really exists and one of those plonked on a Monday night to boot.

Throw in that the two sides of the JV's biggest traditional rivals (debateable I know) were played at the SFS and SCG respectively

Thanks for that Wests Tigers

brooksy19

What I can't understand is that we're playing a team like Parramatta at Homebush this weekend when its our home game.. same when we play the dogs.

Wouldn't we be better off playing the out of town teams like NZ, Canberra, Gold Coast, Brisbane at ANZ (If we HAVE to play there)

This year a smart man would of done this.

Rnd 1: vs St George @ Cambelltown.
Rnd 4: vs Panthers @ Cambelltown.
Rnd 6: vs Souths @ Leichhardt.
Rnd 8: vs Brisbane @ ANZ.
Rnd 11: vs Gold Coast @ ANZ
Rnd 13: vs Cowboys @ ANZ
Rnd 14: vs Parramatta @ Leichhardt.
Rnd 16: vs Warriors @ ANZ
Rnd 18: vs Storm @ Cambelltown.
Rnd 21: vs Bulldogs @ Cambelltown
Rnd 24: vs Manly @ Leichhardt
Rnd 25: vs Sharks @ Leichhardt.

This would ensure sellouts @ the REAL home games, ensuring a good atmosphere @ 8 of 12 home games, as well as creating a genuine fortress and still being able to 'atleast' break even (if you believe Noyce & co).
The ANZ games we make money no matter how many turn out. Id rather sacrifice those 4 games to Whoredome.

matty-ducati

What I can't understand is that we're playing a team like Parramatta at Homebush this weekend when its our home game.. same when we play the dogs.

Wouldn't we be better off playing the out of town teams like NZ, Canberra, Gold Coast, Brisbane at ANZ (If we HAVE to play there)

This would ensure sellouts @ the REAL home games, ensuring a good atmosphere @ 8 of 12 home games, as well as creating a genuine fortress and still being able to 'atleast' break even (if you believe Noyce & co).
The ANZ games we make money no matter how many turn out. Id rather sacrifice those 4 games to Whoredome.

as smeg said if anz choose the games they want, with the money they pay the club they will choose the biggest crowd pulling games to make there money back. With the traditional games it shouldnt matter who u play, a crowd of 10-11k is unacceptable esp when a team is doing so well and is 2 points off the top of the table. The issue is getting the crowd to the heritage homes, esp when there is a big issue in fans "wests v balmain". It can be denied we are all over it, yet we get on here give each other sh*t and have rivalry chants

from 1992-99 Campbelltown managed over 10,000 in only 16 of 89 games.

From 2000-08, Campbelltown has managed over 10,000 in 23 of 39 games. 15 of the last 16 have all had crowds greater than 10,000.

The spike of 2005 wasn't artificial, 4 of the 5 games in 2004 also drew 10,000+ crowds and every game since 2005 has drawn crowds over 10,000.

possibly. The three game situation may have annoyed a lot of supporters, but ti can't be used as an excuse, as it hasn't deterred crowds in Leichhardt in any way.

I think the cause is the fact that traditional games for the Magpies have been taken away from Campbelltown, most notably the Manly match.

Also, and I know a lot of you won't agree because you are hanging on to park football and raffle fundraising,
You ask everyone to be serious and throw in a stupid jibe. And then get pissy when someone makes a not so serious post. You're a moron, but we'll continue being serious..
but would it work repositioning the club in the area around Liverpool?
No. Not only will you then be fighting to attract crowds that are more than likely supporting another team, but you'll be further alienating the ones you have. It'd be a deathknell.

Their accounts and auditors certainly didn't

No. The current ANZ fans would have been Wests Tigers and/or Balmain/Wests fans prior to the move to ANZ.

If Leichhardt can't get upgraded sometime within the next 5-10 years, the Tigers will more than likely look to move West permanently.

You cant understand that a ground that pays us in the vicinity of 100k per game to play there would get some say in the matter?

Like who our opponents are?

You cant understand that???

Quite possibly they want a few to turn up, hence why they hold the cards in deciding the opponents.

Its really not that difficult.