Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Smith blew it big time.

Redback71

and as good as wade has been all year he had a bit of a shocker in parts with his passing game costing us one try and good feild positon on a couple of other occasions.

Suitman said:
strider said:
The Panthers were getting on top of us in the latter stages of the 2nd half - yes we started very well, but then we gave them 2 tries and they were going better than us towards the end of the 1st half.

We stopped their roll when Thorman came off and Cayless went on.

Everyone's so frickin keen to blame the loss on one positional move (that in my opinion helped us).....what about the bloody dropped balls, bullsh*t passes, getting pushed in goal, totally bullsh*t refereeing and one completely crap video ref decision.....none of that played a part eh!

All those things played their part Strides but we also don't do a lot to help our own cause. Things have been working with Thorman and Witt.......why change it?

Why change it?......cos a team in the top 8 were about to roll over the top of us.....Thorman wasn't doing shit, the big Panthers pack was starting to run over our little guys.

Its not like our gameplan from the start of the game was completely different to previous weeks - we stuck with what had worked in recent times - there were no pre-game changes apart from Langi dropping out injured (and I'm sure that was settled since about Wednesday).....but if things aren't working out in a game, then why not try to fix it??? - why sit back and watch big guys run over our small backline? - thats what was happening when Thorman came off and Cayless went on....AND we infact took the lead back early in the 2nd half while Thorman was off.

You await the defence, it is simple.

Thorman was injured, went off on the wrong side of the field, walked around holding his Arm, and then went straight up the tunnel.

I give him full credit for coming back on the field, with what look from my vantage point to be a decent shoulder injury.

It is amazing what you see at these games. Some moves are meditated; others have to happen because of the course of the game. But I am sure it is Smiths Fault that Thorman coped a knock to the shoulder. :roll:

Misty Bee

On Telly, I didn't see Thorman's injury. Fair enough. But he came on later, and in fact was sole playmaker at one stage when Witt was hauled. So you defend Smith to the hilt: But given Thorman's shaky past as sole playmaker, why was he given the job again, while a fit and healthy Witt sat there on the bench?

At best, Thorman's injury kept him out of action for what, 15 mins? That should have been the only 15 mins that we didn't have a recognised half and 5/8. Excuses?

If you can cop Hindy at 5/8 just because Tallis does it sometimes, you must be kidding. The experiemnt didn't work. yes, I saw Wesser involved in those tackles, but you must know what I was referring to.

I know you lot absolve Smith of anything. I didn't expect any reason from the likes of MITS, Strider etc: They's support Ivan Milat if he was involved with the Club. Eels dude reckons I bagged the Hindy 5/8 decision last week as well by the sound of it. Shows how much he pays attention! Did you know we were not playing The Warriors last night, ED? :roll:

Nah I wouldn't support Ivan Milat Misty - keep talking your propaganda crap if u like - I am entitled to not blame smith for everything.....I choose not to blame the entire woes for the world on one person's shoulders.

I agree - Witt should not have come off when Thorman came back on....from where I sit Thorman played crap and injury or not he didn't help our cause while he was out there.

Misty Bee

Are you sure? You wouldn't blame ANYTHING on Smith, and defend him with the zeal of a Swiss Guard defending the Pope! As far as I can make out, according to you lot, no one is to blame for Parra's coninued underachievements. Must be the planets, or the will of Allah, or maybe Parra Stadium having the wrong Fen Shui.

So, rather than bag my thoughts, why not tell all YOUR philosophy as to why Parra ballsed up again last night? I know MITS will blame injuries - he always does. He, like you, sees a halo around Smith. I'm sure you, he and a few others gather around a shrine and chant, as Monty Python once did...

We worship you, oh Brian, lord God unto us all. We praise you, oh Brian.......

You really are full of shit mate......u love using all the fancy words and crap try to degrade others whilst putting yourself up there on your own little platform - thinking you are so funny and intelligent......u pretend YOU don't attack othere's thoughts, but you really are more degrading than anyone on this forum - u just try to hide it behind funny comments and big words.

I've stated plenty of reasons why we lost last night in various threads...want me to recap:
- Penrith are a top 4 side, defending premiers - they have a big mobile team - they were better than us
- we let in 3 very soft tries: 1) Ash letting himself get forced in goal - next set of 6, try; 2) Wade's shocking pass to Ash - try 3) Thorman's woeful attempt to tackle Campbell
- Clark and his other buddies were crap....that disallowed video ref try was appauling - benefit of the doubt is obviously a myth.

I disagree with the following things Brian did:
- replace Witt in the 2nd half
- play Ash on the wing (altho he has gone ok the last few games)
- persist with Hindy at 5/8 from the scrums when it wasn't working (mind you I don't see a substantially better option)
- not try harder to retain Ian Hindmarsh (hehehe - I'll never let that go)

But I don't believe these are the reasons we lost the game....maybe they played a role, but there are far bigger reasons why we lost.

Oh - and I don't believe Parra "ballsed it up" last night....we were very competative against a top 4 team who are the defending premiers.....yes we lost, but I am not going to call every loss a ballse up just for the sake of having a dig at the coach.

Misty Bee

Big words? Sorry, didn't mean I had to keep it basic for you to understand.

Although you DIDN'T understand - if you think having a 12-0 lead after 5 minutes and losing is not ballsing something up, that's your perogative. Maybe thats what you call perfect play - maybe that's what you like Parra to do. . I praised the forwards, I don't think I criticised any of the players, clearly, they did their best.

Spo what went wrong, Einstein? If it wasn't the players, it must have been...the coach???? Oh no, not Brian! That's blasphemy!

As for the pedestal crap, that's just you having a typical "Attack the non-believer - kill the heretic" spat. Just once in a while you might counter an post that's critical of Smith with some logic and fact - even if you ARE paranoid about the use of big words.

Utey

1 EYED EEL :clap: :clap: :clap: He said exaclty what happened. We cant bag smith for our efforts. Thorman needs some defensive work actually a lot. In a way he will be better for leaving. I just think smiths game plan was good until we got tired and Cayless was in no shape to return.

Another of your best Misty :clap: :clap: :clap: .....an insult laced, smart arse comment post from the master of sarcasm. \\:D/

And no I don't believe last night was a ballse up at all....all I ask is that our team competes hard in all their games....we have done that of late - we won't win em all.....its very disappointing that our season is over, but no need to start slashing wrists.

Misty Bee

And your posts are insult laden, smart arsed as well. So what's your problem? Apart from the paranoia about using big words? I know you have no defence about your beloved Brian, as you haven't offered any. Just the usual 'bag the poster' crap that is the common defence of those that can't conjure up much better.

Reading between the lines of your grasp of last night - you seem happy that the boys tried hard, as they did. If that's all you ask - if you are happy losing if the effort from the 17 is there, good. I'm happy for you.

I therefore ask, what the f**k is your problem with thoise of us that seek the same from the coach? What's your problem with the club winning? You are rapt that we got close to a top 4 team - don't you see that we could have beaten them???

I't not wrong for you to accept mediocrity. It IS wrong of you for bagging those that seek more than you do. That's why I can't understand you and other Smith lovers. Now, if he goes, and we become a better team, I reckon ALL OF US BENEFIT!!!! I even reckon you woiuld benefit. I am baffled as to why you fight so hard AGAINST that scenario! The only palusible explanation I can see is that you value the employment of Brian Smith above that of the sucess of the Eels.

I know you will come back with one of your abuse laden replies at that notion, but I know you won't solve the problem: that is, what are you so scared/paranoid/uptight about if the coach leaves???????

MystikEel

Can I put forward a, what seems, highly unlikely but possible hypothetical situation?
(without being crucified for suggesting it...)

What if Brian Smith stays as the coach, doesn't leave/is not sacked and the team manage to do well* next season? Would you still be as highly critical of BS. even with a winning team?

* - well = better than the past two years

Misty Bee

No one gets crucified for suggesting anything around here, except in criticism of SMith.

As I have stated many times, Brian Smith, IMHO, needs to win a premiership before I will believe that he deserves to coach the following year. I take that stand because he has had 8 seasons to do it. However, if we were running in the top 4 for most of the season, and made the penultimate weekend of the premiership, it would be hard to argue against that.

However, even if he achieved that, one should wonder why he should be given so many chances.

There are 2 good examples of long term coaches that compare to Smiths: Wayne Bennet and Kevin Sheedy. Bennet and Sheedy have had troubled times, but there is always a smattering of premierships in there to suggest that they will do it again given fortunate years. Bennet, this year is a huge threat to coach the premiers.

Unlike them, Brian Smith has always fallen short of delivering what this club is capable of delivering in any given year that he has been in charge, except probably 2000. Even 2001, he fell short in the end.

I'm sick of seeing us underachieve, while the coaching blunders get more and more obvious.

I couldn't be bothered any more Misty.....where is my "abuse" - yeah I am sick of your unfounded attempts to blame everything on Smith....but I dead set couldn't be bothered with the crap on this forum anymore.....I only bite back these days if I think someone goes too far...but thats it from me - I believe me and anyone else who does not bash Smithy cops a truckload more than you - yet you keep harping on the same shit about us....there are FAR more BS bashers than defenders these days....to even suggest you are so badly treated like you are doing is a joke.

You do talk up all this colourful garbage to try to put people down - maybe u don't see it but its a fact.

Abuse me all you like.....I don't give a shit.....I'll probably hang around the forum cos its a good place to hear whats happening at the club....but I am sick of the shit and constant suggestions that I "enjoy losing" and "like mediocrity" and whatever other bullshit you can pad with a dozen words from your thesaurus.....bye

Look I think that the majority think that Fitzy screwed up for signing him to a a long term deal before the 2001 grand final. Smith is a little stale and he is notorious for not playing players in their correct positions. This is half the problem. Let the majority of us here pick the side and let Smith coach them however he wants and I would bet that we are more successful then the previous 3 seasons. Hopefully Sharp as his assistant can have some influence in relation to team selections. Which is so obvious. 1. NEVER play Wagon at 6. 2. NEVER play Burt in the centres. 3. Pick a halfback and stick with him for at least 2 months. 4. NEVER play Graham in first garde until 2006.

GAME FIRST

Brian is not a flexible coach and he will not win any premiership with anyone until he realises his own shortsightedness in overplanning attack and targeting one player for 80 minutes until he suceeds- he stops players from using their natural footy instinct eventually and we are left with nothing in attack when the pressure is on- we look pedestrian when we need a try-always have and always will- look at the panthers how they used natural attack when it mattered under pressure-they know what to do themselves and dont get their coach screaming out and lecturing them to run at preston for 80 minutes instead of looking for gaps and space!

Poor Smithy- i feel sorry for him but still want him sacked now!